Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 37
  1. #21
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quick FYI, I was speaking with one of the online EK retailers recently... and there's a reason he doesn't carry their product anymore. Just sayin'

    I have their product in my rig, and may be switching.

  2. #22
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Ominous but there a reason/story etc?

    Any proof or particular models?

    Not trying to harp but I can't take advice from someone not established here on this forum especially in a vague comment without verification or some type of proof.

    What online retailer?

    Etc
    Last edited by Fangren; 03-05-2015 at 03:23 AM.

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Antronman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    1,374

    You're making a mistake. You're wasting money on a platform that has nothing to offer you.

    RAM hasn't made any strides in real world applications. Not since DDR2.

    There's very few games taking advantage of multi-threading right now. Even new ones.

    There's no graphics card setups that will take advantage of the PCIe lanes right now.

    PCIe 4.0 will be out in a couple of years.

    Really, you're wasting money on a platform that has nothing to offer to you in particular. Sure, it's a great platform. But it is a step in the wrong direction. I mean, would you rather have a very good build, or a build that is very good at what you need it to do? And isn't the latter better?
    Say hi to the next generation.

    Peace is a lie, there is only Passion
    Through passion, I gain strength
    Through strength, I gain victory
    Through victory, my chains are broken
    The Republic of Gamers shall free me

  4. #24
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Whether or not it is a mistake it is done. Could I have saved money on x97 build? Yes. However I chose this generation because of what this particular motherboard offers. M.2 the wireless/wired LAN, keep in mind the prices listed on my build list are not what I paid. I paid under $400 for my R5E.

    While I appreciate the advice, I don't want flak about my choices.

  5. #25
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Whooo returning Motherboard for supposed defective CPU socket. Continuous red LEd for CPU. Asus support recommended reseating and checking for pins. everything else is "running" however no boot or video signal just the solid Red LED for CPU.

    Already ordered a new RVE to continue.

    Also new Monitor. Asus vg248qe

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    93
    Posts
    579

    If you do not like the Haswell E,Skylake E is scheduled out be out in Q1 2016 and it will be the same socket. Just a thought

  7. #27
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Something to consider, I've never really overclockef anything before so since I'm jumping from 775 core 2 quad to 2011 v3 i7 I don't think I will complain. I will enjoy that the potential for upgrades down the road. Thanks.

  8. #28
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Alright. I definitely could use some help. Plug everything in, bolt it down and no boot. Graphics slot one led not lit, 2 and 3 solid, 4 flashing. CPU led lit solid. No signal output on video card.

  9. #29
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    What QCODE do you see on the DEBUG LED? And look beside the 24 pin power connectors for me. See if any of the 4 QLEDs remain lit.

  10. #30
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    the Debug led stays at 00, CPU LED remains lit

    Asus support says bad processor, i did buy it through amazon warehouse deals and it came in mail sloppy packing.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •