cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G750JW Laptop Temperature Increasing - Ways to fix?

Torpedo499
Level 7
My G750JW's temperature has been increasing recently, I've reinstalled Windows 8.1 and confirmed that it was my hardware causing the heat ups, not any software using the CPU.

I've had my laptop for about 16 months now and I was wondering anything I can do to cool it down, I'm not good at taking technology apart and I really don't want to break anything.

Can I send it in to Asus for a repaste/dusting?
How much would that cost me?
How long would it take to return to me?

Thanks for your help, taking any recommendations!
7 REPLIES 7

Maxter
Level 9
maybe dirt in the heat sinks?

hmscott
Level 12
Torpedo499 wrote:
My G750JW's temperature has been increasing recently, I've reinstalled Windows 8.1 and confirmed that it was my hardware causing the heat ups, not any software using the CPU.

I've had my laptop for about 16 months now and I was wondering anything I can do to cool it down, I'm not good at taking technology apart and I really don't want to break anything.

Can I send it in to Asus for a repaste/dusting?
How much would that cost me?
How long would it take to return to me?

Thanks for your help, taking any recommendations!

Torpedo499, you could ask Asus 🙂

https://vip.asus.com <== create a login, register your laptop, file a Technical Inquiry asking nicely to get your laptop dust cleaned out and re-pasted if needed. I wouldn't say anything about the price, let Asus respond first.

If you have any computer service centers around, you could ask the manager at one if they would open it up and clean out the dust, and check the paste job to see if it has dried out and needs re-doing.

Cleaning out the dust bunnies might be enough 🙂

hmscott wrote:
Torpedo499, you could ask Asus 🙂