cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G74SX keeps crashing when I play games on it

Retired
Not applicable
Hello,

I am a new forum member and I was wondering if anyone has had this problem and how they resolved the issue:

When I was playing Skyrim, the laptop keeps crashing and I can't do anything except restart the computer. By crashing, I mean, a line appears on the screen and then the entire screen turns green or all these squares come up. After this happens, I cannot do anything. I can't do alt+ctrl+del or alt+tab. I am forced to hold the power button to restart the computer.

What is causing this issue? Please help. I am also a newbie with computers so please keep that in mind.
36 REPLIES 36

JRd1st
Level 12
Install HWinfo64 and set it to LOG temperatures, because your PC is crashing and you'd lose that data otherwise.

Also, read the sticky up above about the Atheros Wifi card. Your problem may fall into that category, so uninstall your Atheros Wifi driver and install the one linked in the thread.

Good luck, and come back if you still need us. 😄
Read the User's Manual for more info. 😄

G74SX-A1 BIOS 203
Intel 6230 WiFi/BT
LG E2350 LED LCD Monitor
Intel Series 510 120 GB SSD

Drivers, Apps and How To's
Latest nVidia Drivers

JRd1st on DeviantArt.com

Retired
Not applicable
JRd1st wrote:
Install HWinfo64 and set it to LOG temperatures, because your PC is crashing and you'd lose that data otherwise.

Also, read the sticky up above about the Atheros Wifi card. Your problem may fall into that category, so uninstall your Atheros Wifi driver and install the one linked in the thread.

Good luck, and come back if you still need us. 😄

Thanks for the reply. I downloaded HWinfo64 and I started logging. I am about to play the game now and after it crashes, I will check the temperature logs.

On a sidenote, I don't have Atheros Wifi Card on my computer. I have Intel Centrino Wireless N 6150 under Device Manager.

JRd1st
Level 12