Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: R4be nvme

  1. #1
    Watercooled OC'er Array M11C PC Specs
    M11C PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage IV Black Edition
    Processor4820K
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill RipjawsZ 2400MHz CL10
    Graphics Card #1GTX 780 STRIX 6GB
    Storage #1Samsung SM951
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerEK-FB RIVBE Monoblock
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Steelseries APEX
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei Raw
    Headset Steelseries Siberia V2 Heat Orange
    Mouse Pad Steelseries 9HD
    Accessory #1 Corsair Commander Mini
    Accessory #2 Nzxt IU01
    M11C's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    90

    R4be nvme

    Hi, i would like to know if the R4BE will be able to support NVME through bios updates, in the future?

    more specificly through PCI-e M.2 SSD's

    thanks
    Last edited by M11C; 04-19-2015 at 04:19 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array topnotch PC Specs
    topnotch PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE V EDITION 10
    Processori7-6850K
    Memory (part number)G Skill F4-3600C17-8GTZ X 4
    Graphics Card #1GV-N98TG1 GAMING-6GD
    MonitorBL3201PH
    Storage #1SSD DC P3700
    Storage #2WD2000FYYZ-01UL1B2 X 2
    CPU CoolerNH-D15
    CaseHAF X
    Power SupplyHCP-1000 Platinum
    Keyboard HP Wireless Elite Keyboard
    Mouse MX Master Wireless Mouse
    OS WIN8
    Network RouterFVS318N

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    I'm not sure about PCI-e M.2 SSD's, but it supports NVMe without Bios updates. I'm running an Intel® SSD DC P3700, and it works like a charm.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Deon017 PC Specs
    Deon017 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Extreme Black Motherboard
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 4960X Extreme Edition
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A2133C11 32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Poseidon GTX 980Ti
    MonitorAsus Rog Swift 27" 3D Monitor
    Storage #1ASUS RAIDR Express 240GB PCI-E SSD
    Storage #2HDD: Intel 520S 240GB SSD
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Elite CPU Waterblock for Intel 2011
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D Super Tower Case
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i Digital ATX Modular Power Supply
    Keyboard Logitech G19s Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius
    OS WIN 10
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3200
    Deon017's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    147

    What about using something like this

    http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Hyper_Express/

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array mflemming PC Specs
    mflemming PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel 3820
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMT16GX3M4X2133C9
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce GTX 670
    Power SupplyCorsair AX850

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I'm wondering whether there is any chance of my RIV Formula using an Intel 750 PCI-e as the boot drive.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Deon017 PC Specs
    Deon017 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Extreme Black Motherboard
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 4960X Extreme Edition
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A2133C11 32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Poseidon GTX 980Ti
    MonitorAsus Rog Swift 27" 3D Monitor
    Storage #1ASUS RAIDR Express 240GB PCI-E SSD
    Storage #2HDD: Intel 520S 240GB SSD
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Elite CPU Waterblock for Intel 2011
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D Super Tower Case
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i Digital ATX Modular Power Supply
    Keyboard Logitech G19s Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius
    OS WIN 10
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3200
    Deon017's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    147

    I can not see why it would not - all it needs is a PCIe 3.0 x4 slot

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array mflemming PC Specs
    mflemming PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel 3820
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMT16GX3M4X2133C9
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce GTX 670
    Power SupplyCorsair AX850

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    http://www.forbes.com/sites/davealta...rtner=yahootix

    In this article (the paragraph below the specs graphic) I found this:

    "The only caveat is that the product will only function as a boot device in newer X99 and Z97 motherboards with a UEFI BIOS that’s NVMe compatible. It’s up to motherboard manufactures to release updates for this, although I was able to install the SSD 750 I tested in an older X79 board as a secondary drive and hit full throughput speeds."

    So it seems like at a minimum a bios update will be needed for it to be used as a boot drive in an X79 board.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array mflemming PC Specs
    mflemming PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel 3820
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMT16GX3M4X2133C9
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce GTX 670
    Power SupplyCorsair AX850

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    A question for topnotch: are you using the P3700 as your boot device?

  8. #8
    imMortal Kombatant Array Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    Myk SilentShadow PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 3930K
    Memory (part number)8GB Corsair XMS3 1600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Radeon 7970 3GD5
    Sound CardROG Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA300
    Storage #1Corsair Neutron 128GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair A50 Pro Air Cooler
    CaseBitFenix Merc Alpha
    Power SupplyThermaltake Litepower 700W
    Keyboard Alienware TactX Keyboard
    Mouse Tesoro Gandiva H1L
    OS Win7 Ultimate x64
    Myk SilentShadow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    266
    Posts
    5,241

    Quote Originally Posted by Melantrophy View Post
    Hi, i would like to know if the R4BE will be able to support NVME through bios updates, in the future?

    more specificly through PCI-e M.2 SSD's

    thanks
    You won't be able to use an M.2 drive, because the RIVBE doesn't have an M.2 slot. Only a PCIe card you will be able to use.

    Quote Originally Posted by Deon017 View Post
    What about using something like this

    http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Hyper_Express/
    That cannot be used as the RIVBE does not have a SATA Express port on it.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array mflemming PC Specs
    mflemming PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage IV Formula
    ProcessorIntel 3820
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMT16GX3M4X2133C9
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce GTX 670
    Power SupplyCorsair AX850

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    There is some good (but not optimistic) info here:

    http://hothardware.com/reviews/intel...-review?page=3

    under the sub-head "A Note on Motherboard Compatibility."

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array topnotch PC Specs
    topnotch PC Specs
    MotherboardRAMPAGE V EDITION 10
    Processori7-6850K
    Memory (part number)G Skill F4-3600C17-8GTZ X 4
    Graphics Card #1GV-N98TG1 GAMING-6GD
    MonitorBL3201PH
    Storage #1SSD DC P3700
    Storage #2WD2000FYYZ-01UL1B2 X 2
    CPU CoolerNH-D15
    CaseHAF X
    Power SupplyHCP-1000 Platinum
    Keyboard HP Wireless Elite Keyboard
    Mouse MX Master Wireless Mouse
    OS WIN8
    Network RouterFVS318N

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Quote Originally Posted by mflemming View Post
    A question for topnotch: are you using the P3700 as your boot device?
    Yes, I am using the DC P3700 as a boot device. I don't see any reason why the SSD 750 wouldn't work. It should work much better on a X79 board than a Z97 since there is much more PCIe bandwidth.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •