Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    G751 JT Black Screen on Start Up

    Often I get a black screen on boot. I have to hold down start button and restart several times before the laptop will fully boot up properly.

    I have done the CMD /scan thing, I have done the f9 OS refresh, updated BIOS to 2.06 or whatever the latest one is.

    I always have Windows updates turned off. I don't know what is going on here.

    The things I've tried to fix the laptop will work for a while, where it will boot normally for a time but it slowly revert back to the point where I've illustrated above.

    Can anyone have any ideas on how to fix this?

    It is very frustrating to have problems with a brand new laptop.

    G751 JT is the model number

    I am otherwise very happy with the laptop.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by Hebrew View Post
    Often I get a black screen on boot. I have to hold down start button and restart several times before the laptop will fully boot up properly.

    I have done the CMD /scan thing, I have done the f9 OS refresh, updated BIOS to 2.06 or whatever the latest one is.

    I always have Windows updates turned off. I don't know what is going on here.

    The things I've tried to fix the laptop will work for a while, where it will boot normally for a time but it slowly revert back to the point where I've illustrated above.

    Can anyone have any ideas on how to fix this?

    It is very frustrating to have problems with a brand new laptop.

    G751 JT is the model number

    I am otherwise very happy with the laptop.

    I have had 8 pieces from this laptop.Two of them has been the same problem.Only way to fix it replaced the laptop,where you bought it or send to RMA.The other 6pieces never had this kind of problem.They had other)That is Asus fault.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Ok, well now I went into the bios and disabled "Fast Boot" and I have been able to shut down and boot up 5 times at least without issue. By no means does this mean fixed as it's mnot a big enough sample but it means fixed until further notice. I will post back if it happens again and I will also post here if I do need to return it. I'd rather keep this one as everything else is very good on this one.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Prostar Computer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    462

    Fast Boot has been known to produce some nuances like this. If you run into this again, let us know.
    We customize Asus, MSI, and Clevo laptops!

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Prostar Computer View Post
    Fast Boot has been known to produce some nuances like this. If you run into this again, let us know.
    Yes. I will.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Quote Originally Posted by Hebrew View Post
    Ok, well now I went into the bios and disabled "Fast Boot" and I have been able to shut down and boot up 5 times at least without issue. By no means does this mean fixed as it's mnot a big enough sample but it means fixed until further notice. I will post back if it happens again and I will also post here if I do need to return it. I'd rather keep this one as everything else is very good on this one.
    i am 100% sure, you made disabled "Fast Boot" but it doesn't fixed your problem....

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array HazGra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Same problem here The strangest thing is that it's no actualy dead, the screen is workinkg but there is no image on it. I even had this problem after the laptop went to sleep mode so i started it and it was black screened, but when i pressed "space" the movie i was wathhing started and i could hear it but not see it. So actualy the laptop is working - there isn't any image on the screen like the video cable is unplugged from a monitor...
    Last edited by HazGra; 03-24-2015 at 01:17 AM.

  8. #8
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    178

    Anyone tried by replacing the ram? Internal ram, try disassemble carefully and replace the ram and test. I've got mine replaced the day after i purchased, so i don't face any issues here.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I run my laptop with 2 external monitors, if this issue happens to me then both monitors power up normally and everything is usable. The only way I know its happened is that the ROG logo doesn't come up at the start on the laptop screen.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    310

    I've had this issue a couple of times. The "solution" is to put it in sleep mode and resume. Takes only a few seconds. I never shut down windows completely, so it hasn't bothered me much.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •