Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    G771jm slow wifi problem, Mediatek MT7630E connects only at 72mbps with Asus RT-AC66U

    Hi, I've search this forum and could not find any solution for my wifi problem. Wifi connection is very slow and could not connect more than 72mbps. I can't even see my 5ghz network. On my other Laptop I have no problem connecting to the 2.4ghz network at 144mbps or on the 5ghz network at 300mbps.

    Here's my hardware :
    Laptop : Asus G771JM
    Network adapter : Mediatek MT7630E 802.11 b/g/n
    Network adapter drivers date & version : 5.0.53.0 (2014-12-19)
    OS : Windows 8.1
    Router : Asus RT-AC66U
    Router Firmware : Asuswrt-Merlin 378.51 (based on 3.0.0.4.376_3677)
    *It does the exact same thing with the latest official ASUS RT-AC66U Firmware version 3.0.0.4.376.3861

    And here is some screenshots to see if I'm missing something. I can

    The 72mbps connection :
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	72mbps.jpg 
Views:	126 
Size:	39.1 KB 
ID:	47541
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	tm-wifi.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	113.5 KB 
ID:	47542

    My Mediatek driver :
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	driver.jpg 
Views:	127 
Size:	55.9 KB 
ID:	47544

    My router config for the 2.4ghz network:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rout_2.4_gen.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	65.0 KB 
ID:	47543
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rout_2.4_pro.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	90.3 KB 
ID:	47545

    And finally my router config for the 5ghz network:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rout_5_gen.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	68.8 KB 
ID:	47546
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rout_5_pro.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	93.6 KB 
ID:	47547

    I've also tried to Enable / Disable WMM with no improvements.

    Can someone help me with this one.

    Thanks!


    EDIT : Solution 1 (150mbps on 2.4ghz)
    - Use N only on the router or setup your router to use the 40mhz channel bandwidth
    Last edited by pboissonneault; 03-21-2015 at 12:27 PM. Reason: add a solution for better speed, but still no 5ghz

  2. #2
    Helium Chilled Array _ PC Specs
    _ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G46VW
    MotherboardRampage IV Gene
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-3930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX3M4A2133C9)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 780 Ti
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX III
    MonitorASUS VG248QE with GSync mod
    Storage #1Plextor PX-M2 SSD 120GB
    Storage #2G.Skill Phoenix Blade 480GB PCIe SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 240M
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-750
    Keyboard Corsair K90
    Mouse ROG Gladius
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 8.1 Update 1
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U
    _'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    119
    Posts
    5,750

    If you have anything else connected to the same wireless network the whole network will slow to the speed of the slowest device.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Thanks, the only other thing that connects to that router is my Tablet. I've disconnect it (it connects at 72mbps) and restarted my router.

    My laptop is still at 72mbps and I still can't see my 5ghz network.
    Last edited by pboissonneault; 03-17-2015 at 04:25 PM. Reason: add details

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Any solution to this yet? I also seem to have this exact same mediatek adapter and also can only connect at 72mbps no matter my proximity to the router. It is aggrivating, I also cannot see 5ghz channels either. I have tried reinstalling, I have tried every driver under the G771Jm profile. (qualcom, ralink and intel) No dice yet, but it sucks to have all this horsepower and it be slower moving stuff across my network than my old POS laptop. The mediatek website doesnt even list this adapter. I have had no luck finding anything else out yet.

    *edit* I am also using an Asus router, the N66u.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I still haven't found the solution to this one. I don't know what to try next..

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Hey I at least figured it out partially. I feel half retarded. Asus really cheaped out on this network adapter which is very disappointing. It only supports 150mbps when using 40mhz channel width. My router was set to 20mhz channel width for stability on my old laptop. I switched it to 20/40 (or auto) and now it is connected at 150mbps.

    I did some digging on the adapter and found some info here https://wikidevi.com/wiki/MediaTek

    I tried multiple different drivers from the mediatek site and the asus site but I still can not get the 5ghz channels working, i can see them fine on my phone. As far as I have read we cant even replace this adapter either.

    So to fix your slower speeds, log on your router, go to the wirless tab, and under wireless general tab you should see a channel bandwidth option. Set it to mixed, auto, or 20/40 however it is labeled and we should at least be able to use 150mbps speeds now. A hell of a lot better than 72.

    Rob

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    I am really losing it tonight. You posted a screenshot of your setup and you have the bandwidth set to mixed already. However try enabling Wireless WMM APSD, that might do the trick.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Thanks!

    I've set my 2.4ghz network to "N Only" and now I'm connected ad 150mbps, it's better, but I still can't get my 5ghz channel to work either..

    WMM APSD was already enabled from previous attempts.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Guys, why do you think this MT7630 adapter works at 5ghz? I know the wiki entry says it has 5ghz, but that doesn't mean it does

    I can't find any product specs, but I did find a certification document pdf at the same wiki for the MT7630, and it only lists 2.4ghz...
    http://certifications.prod.wi-fi.org...d?cid=WFA17941

    The Mediatek site didn't have any specs, and the downloadable drivers are old Version V5.0.46.0
    http://www.mediatek.com/en/downloads...xrt3290mt7630/

    The Asus site has newer drivers Version V5.0.53.0
    http://support.asus.com/Download.asp...en&m=WLAN&os=3

    Sometimes the low-end Wifi cards from Asus are only 2.4ghz 150mb max... odd but true
    Last edited by hmscott; 03-22-2015 at 01:58 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by hmscott View Post
    Guys, why do you think this MT7630 adapter works at 5ghz. I know the wiki entry says it has 5ghz, but that doesn't mean it does

    I can't find any product specs, but I did find a certification document pdf is the same wiki for the MT7630, and it only lists 2.4ghz...
    http://certifications.prod.wi-fi.org...d?cid=WFA17941

    The Mediatek site didn't have any specs, and the downloadable drivers are old Version V5.0.46.0
    http://www.mediatek.com/en/downloads...xrt3290mt7630/

    The Asus site has newer drivers Version V5.0.53.0
    http://support.asus.com/Download.asp...en&m=WLAN&os=3

    Sometimes the low-end Wifi cards from Asus are only 2.4ghz 150mb max... odd but true
    You may very well be right, it sure looks this way. I just can't fathom why? A premium gaming laptop with a ghetto WiFi adapter. I was shocked it didn't have ac. I knew what I was buying but it's still disappointing. From what I have gathered I can't swap the adapter either? So my only option for reasonable wireless is using a USB adapter?

    Anyone know if the card can be replaced? I assume it would void warranty if I did.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •