Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Question G20AJ new user has some questions

    Hi everyone,

    got my G20AJ yesterday, a version with 12 GB Ram, GTX970, 64GB SSD and several questions came up. I thought i d list them here on the forums and see what more experienced users can come up with. Maybe this is even helpful for other inexperienced users:

    1) Cant find the SD card reader, neither on the device nor in the manual. Overlooking something obvious or - there is none?
    2) Same for buildt in speaker, there s none?
    3) 1st bootup i had graphical issues (small colored squares all over the screen), could only install by setting "force internal gaphics" in the bios. Later i did set that to "force GPU" and it seems to work. Dont dare to set it "auto" again, the graphical errors might return. Is my GTX970 faulty?
    4) The device came set up with a HDD partition C holding windows, a partition D for data, and an empty SSD named E. Shouldnt windows be on the SSD? Whats your advice to be put there and if its the OS how shall i do that starting off my current config?
    5) It seems i dont own any games that will take the system to its limits - any free game demo you know of that will give the GTX970 a hard time? I didnt hear the fan yet (Civ5, hearthstone, Cities Skylines) other than for 2 secs on bootup.

    Any help / comments appreciated, thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Ravenholme PC Specs
    Ravenholme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G20AJ-US009S
    MotherboardAsus H97
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 4790
    Memory (part number)16GB - Kingston DDR3 1600MHz CL11 1.35v SODIMM - KVR16LS11/8
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 - Founders Edition (ASUS)
    MonitorBenQ BL3201PH (4K/UHD IPS LED)
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo 500GB SSD
    Storage #2Seagate SSHD 1TB
    CaseAsus G20AJ
    Power SupplyAsus 180W PSU AC Adapter + Dell Y90RR 330W PSU AC Adapter
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Headset Turtlebeach
    Headset/Speakers (The BenQ)
    OS Windows 10
    Accessory #1 ASUS (SBC-06D2X-U) Slim External 6x Blu-ray Combo Drive
    Accessory #2 Asus GPU Tweak II - OC: 2050 Mhz, 90°C max, 120% Power, vsync off
    Accessory #3 http://rog.asus.com/realbench/show_comment.php?id=8796
    Ravenholme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    169

    did someone else upgrade it or was it some 3rd party that set up the system? I know samsung SSDs can clone the drive and you just unplug the sata from the primary drive and it'll boot from the cloned drive, but you'd have to wipe the original partition OS and then merge the Data & original OS partitions. after formatting them (after making sure the cloned SSD OS works) however, your SSD is small. i don't recommend putting the OS on a 64GB drive. you may want to keep it as is. It took 2 days for me to figure out how to put my SSD in and figure out how to get it to be the primary boot drive.

    as for your video card, it doesn't hurt for the Nvidia card to be primary, but i left it as auto i think in bios, i just disabled the intel graphics in device manager in windows as to not mess around with that stuff.

    my system runs fine, i uninstalled the bloatware except the AEGIS & ROG software, i may have kept the intel software... not sure. anyway everything else i uninstalled because there was something that was causing it to slow down.

    now everything runs smoothly.

    SD card port = none
    Speakers = none

    As for games to push the card's limits i can't give that feedback as i'm still running the GTX 760.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    I have almost the same setup as you. Try running 3D Mark Fire Strike and report your scores here. Im getting 10.5k

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Ravenholme PC Specs
    Ravenholme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G20AJ-US009S
    MotherboardAsus H97
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 4790
    Memory (part number)16GB - Kingston DDR3 1600MHz CL11 1.35v SODIMM - KVR16LS11/8
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 - Founders Edition (ASUS)
    MonitorBenQ BL3201PH (4K/UHD IPS LED)
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo 500GB SSD
    Storage #2Seagate SSHD 1TB
    CaseAsus G20AJ
    Power SupplyAsus 180W PSU AC Adapter + Dell Y90RR 330W PSU AC Adapter
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Headset Turtlebeach
    Headset/Speakers (The BenQ)
    OS Windows 10
    Accessory #1 ASUS (SBC-06D2X-U) Slim External 6x Blu-ray Combo Drive
    Accessory #2 Asus GPU Tweak II - OC: 2050 Mhz, 90°C max, 120% Power, vsync off
    Accessory #3 http://rog.asus.com/realbench/show_comment.php?id=8796
    Ravenholme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    169

    with a GTX 760 i'm getting 5355 for fire strike (i have to check again but thats what i remember) i'm thinking of replacing it next year with whatever is out by then. (no rush on my end)

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by Ravenholme View Post
    did someone else upgrade it or was it some 3rd party that set up the system? I know samsung SSDs can clone the drive and you just unplug the sata from the primary drive and it'll boot from the cloned drive, but you'd have to wipe the original partition OS and then merge the Data & original OS partitions. after formatting them (after making sure the cloned SSD OS works) however, your SSD is small. i don't recommend putting the OS on a 64GB drive. you may want to keep it as is. It took 2 days for me to figure out how to put my SSD in and figure out how to get it to be the primary boot drive.

    as for your video card, it doesn't hurt for the Nvidia card to be primary, but i left it as auto i think in bios, i just disabled the intel graphics in device manager in windows as to not mess around with that stuff.

    my system runs fine, i uninstalled the bloatware except the AEGIS & ROG software, i may have kept the intel software... not sure. anyway everything else i uninstalled because there was something that was causing it to slow down.

    now everything runs smoothly.

    SD card port = none
    Speakers = none

    As for games to push the card's limits i can't give that feedback as i'm still running the GTX 760.
    First off thanks for your reply! This is quite strange for me and to be honest i am not sure if someone else has tempered with this system before me, since there seem to be several issues. The package itself looked a bit odd when i got it, i thought this was only due to transport since the was a transparent adhesive tape labeled "asus" covering the package.

    At my 1st boot it looked like Win8 was run for the very first time. I also asked Asus support in chat about this, and they advised i should set back the system to factory settings, which would mean i loose all data and settings though. I dont think i m gonna do that as it might well be my SSD is too small for Win8 OS and it is actually intended to be set up this way. However the guy from Asus support claimed it wouldnt be.

    I would also like to uninstall all the bloatware or even do a clean new install of Win8 (keeping my data on HDD drive d: though). You have any advice on how to do that, because i read there would be several issues with McAffee and whatnot. Any guide for a clean install on a G20 you can point me to ir sumsuch? Thanks!

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Hello guys,

    This topic is an interesting one. I recently bought a european version of the Asus ROG G20 (G20AJ-FR033S) with the dual graphic GPU (motherboard one and GTX 970). No problem with the PC so far, it was already in Windows 8.1 so no problem with the updates. I however need somes advices, as follow :

    1) Can we safely remove Mc Afee ? Windows 8 comes with Windows Defender Pre-installed and I believe it's more than enough for a gaming oriented computer (no downloading or Internet browsing for me).
    I heard that some people faced some troubles while trying to removing it.

    2) Which programs do you consider as "bloatwares" and can be safely uninstalled / removed ?

    3) Do you understand anything about the "eco energy mode" ? How does it work ? Is it compulsary to activate it in the BIOS first (through F2) each time you want to use this mode ? Do you need to unplug the GTX 970 power brick ? Do you really need to install VirtuWatt or Intel Management to use it ? Is it "safe" to let the two HDMIs cables (motherboard one and GTX 970) plugged in the monitor at the same time (no risk of conflict) ?

    Sorry for all those questions, but the user manual is quite short and does not really address the G20's specificities.
    Thanks for your support !

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    21

    I got G20AJ-NR040S with GTX980, i7-4790, 16GB, 256GB SSD, 2TB HDD and also Win 8.1

    First thing I did was to uninstall McAfee and other "bloatwares". No problems whatsoever, just remove the programs you dont use

    Do not quite know about the "eco energy mode".

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array Anarchia99 PC Specs
    Anarchia99 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus G20AJ Intel H97
    Processori7-4790
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Gtx 970 4GB Reference
    Graphics Card #2Evga Gtx 980 Ti Sc 6GB Reference
    MonitorSamsung S34790C 3440x1440 UWQHD
    Storage #1Toshiba 1Tb
    Storage #2Kingston 128 Gb SSD
    CaseAsus G20
    Power SupplyAc Adapter 180W + 230W
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Razer Kraken 7.1 Chroma
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300
    Headset/Speakers 5.1 Dolby System Creative
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterTP-LINK
    Anarchia99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Hey guys which temps do u have with gtx 970 in game and which speed fan ?
    Thx

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    How exactly do I install the SSD to the front above the Disk-drive? I have looked and tried multiple times per day that I have (which is about 3 so far) and I still cannot figure it out. I would really appreciate the help.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    116

    It's in the various tear down and overhaul threads, that's how I found the instructions, it's a bit long and complicated but be careful, take notes as needed, and go for it.

    Summary is take off the side, take out the graphics card, start pulling off trim and GENTLY wobble the heatsink and you can remove the DVD/SSD tray out to install the drive.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •