Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array RamGuy PC Specs
    RamGuy PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MacBook Pro 13-inch retina with touch bar 2016
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X Apex @ 1003
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K @ 4.9GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 4266MHz 2x 8GiB (F4-4266C19D-16GTZR)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid
    Sound CardHegel HD12 External DAC
    MonitorAsus RoG PG348Q + Asus RoG PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro NVMe 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Evo NVMe 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX Tempered Glass Black
    Power SupplySeasonic Platinum 1200W (SS-1200XP3)
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB RapidFire Cherry MX Speed
    Mouse Logitech G Pro
    Headset Sennheiser HD 800
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK Extended
    OS Windows 10 Pro (1709 Fall Creators Update)
    Network RouterGoogle WiFi with 3x nodes (Previously Asus RT-AC5300)
    Accessory #1 Xbox One Elite Controller + Wireless Adapter
    Accessory #2 Zowie Mouse Bungie
    Accessory #3 TPM-Module (Trusted Platform Module)
    RamGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    Asus Rampage IV Extreme, only the upper PCI-Express 16x is working?

    I'm having huge issues with my Asus Rampage IV Extreme motherboard. My GTX Titan died on me a few weeks back so I have gotten 2x GeForce GTX 980 as replacement and was going to run them in SLI.

    Due to me having a Creative Titanium HD audio card installed as well, and these Zotac AMPED! Extreme Edition housing 2,5-slot coolers I had to be somewhat creative in terms of alignment so I did end up with one occupying the top PCI-Express 16x slot (PCIE_16X_1), and the second one at the bottom (PCIE_8X_4) in order to get sufficient spacing between the cards and in order to insert the audio card into the PCIE_X1_1 slot).

    I know this isn't ideal, you'd want to use PCI-Express X16-lanes but I didn't really notice anything wrong with the performance so I kept using it like this for a few days. All of a sudden the second graphics card (the one in slot PCIE_X8_4) vanished from NIVIDA Control Panel, Windows Device Manager etc..


    So I had to start troubleshooting.. I decided to change things around placing the second GTX 980 into the "correct" PCIE-X16/8_3 slot and placing the audio card into the PCIE_X8_2B slot but still wouldn't show in Windows.


    This forced me to troubleshoot further. I started of with taking all cards out of the system and trying to run the second graphics card in the PCIE_X16_1) just to make sure it's actually working to begin with. And it indeed does work perfectly fine in this slot. So then I tried to run it in PCIE_X8_2A and it didn't work, then I tried PCIE_X8_2B and it didn't work, then PCIE_X16/8_3 and it didn't work and the finally PCIE_X8_4 and it didn't work there either.. So then I switched the graphics card trying with the other one and I got the exact same results, it's only working in PCIE_X16_1 slot and none of the other ones.


    I tried to disable the lanes I did not use with the on-board lane switch but that did not have any effect. It's quite easy to verify it the card is actually mounted into the slot or not because these Zotac GTX 980 AMPED Extreme Edition got lights all over them which do not light up unless it gets powers from the PCI-Express lane. I did verify this by disabling the PCI-Express lane one was housed in using the on-board PCI-lane switch and then the lights didn't light up at all.


    I tried some various things I managed to Google, like setting from PCI-Express GEN3 to GEN2 in the BIOS, load the default BIOS settings, switching from BIOS1 to BIOS2 but nothing seems to have any effect. It seems like graphics card will only work in the PCIE_X16_1 slot and nowhere else.




    Do you have any idea or clue why this is? Having a faulty PCI-Express slot is one thing, having four out of five not working seems silly? Especially considering it actually worked for a few days in the PCIE_X8_4 slot for a few days until it simply quit on me. There has been no overclocking on the graphics card, and my system is far from pushing the PSU to it's limits so it shouldn't have anything to do with the PSU either. And considering I'm not able to get a single card working in any of the other slots there is no lack of power causing it.


    I have always had a 6-pin power connector connected to the EZ_Plug_1 on the motherbard, as well power connected to the EZ_Plug_2 as well. What might be the reason for this not working at all? I have tried to check the slots and they seem to be perfectly clean without any dust or anything else that might cause some kind of interference.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    where are the onboard lane switches on this board anyway?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Deon017 PC Specs
    Deon017 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Extreme Black Motherboard
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 4960X Extreme Edition
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A2133C11 32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Poseidon GTX 980Ti
    MonitorAsus Rog Swift 27" 3D Monitor
    Storage #1ASUS RAIDR Express 240GB PCI-E SSD
    Storage #2HDD: Intel 520S 240GB SSD
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Elite CPU Waterblock for Intel 2011
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D Super Tower Case
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i Digital ATX Modular Power Supply
    Keyboard Logitech G19s Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius
    OS WIN 10
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3200
    Deon017's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    147

    Quote Originally Posted by DanMan3395 View Post
    where are the onboard lane switches on this board anyway?
    top right hand side - just above the 24pin power connector

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    RamGuy...could be mother board but could be CPU too since controller is on CPU...if you have another CPU to hand or can borrow to test...just to rule out one or the other.

    I had a Titan die on me (overclocking in my case) and in the process it took out the controller on the CPU and effectively killed the slot it was in....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •