Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    RAM Drive gaming files location after shut down

    Hi all, I was playing Assassins Creed 4 Black Flag for some time on an SSD but I now have it running on a Ram rive using the software that came with my Rampage 4 Black edition motherboard, the game is amazing with no stutters from the Ram Drive unlike the SSD I was using but my question is where does the game files and data go when I shut down my PC? I have the original copy on the SSD but this is a ram drive of 28 Gig so doesn't that mean when I shut it down everything gets copied somewhere?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,108

    Yep no way to keep them in RAM with out power to the MB
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Quote Originally Posted by Clintlgm View Post
    Yep no way to keep them in RAM with out power to the MB
    Yeah ram is finicky in that way but I don't really want to suspend or hibernate my pc to fix keeping the game in ram, when a pc is shut down does the ram disk files get copied to somewhere (where does this go to? and how do I change the place it is copied to?) or is it just wiped out of existence?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    The contents of the RAM Disk are saved to SDD/HDD as what Asus calls a "junction point", then restored to volatile memory the next time the RAM Disk software becomes active. You can specify drives and locations and can configure options for specific "junction point" behaviours through the software. Sudden power loss (failure to shut down properly) will lose the contents of volatile memory before they can be written/updated to the nonvolatile "junction point".

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •