Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    how to enable widi and optimus on G751JY?

    Hello
    I have purchased a G751JY it have WIFI Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7260 but it have only GTX 980M without Optimus. i need the HD4600 to be installed to be able to use widi , beacause I have a Tv support miracast + wifi direct. I want G751JY can cast to my tv. Is there button to switch between intel HD 4600 and nvidia GTX 980M?

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array BVr77 PC Specs
    BVr77 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G750
    MotherboardZ170 Pro Gaming
    ProcessorI7 4700HQ , I5 6600K
    Graphics Card #1GTX880M
    Graphics Card #27970 Ghz edition
    Storage #1Samsung 840
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro Nvme
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB MX Silent
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Headset Focal Spirit
    Mouse Pad Razer Examat X
    Headset/Speakers Sony A/V STR-DN 850 7.2
    BVr77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    why do you want to use Intel Widi ?
    use directly Miracast.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by BVr77 View Post
    why do you want to use Intel Widi ?
    use directly Miracast.
    How to use miracast on laptop? Can you show me step by step please

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array BVr77 PC Specs
    BVr77 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G750
    MotherboardZ170 Pro Gaming
    ProcessorI7 4700HQ , I5 6600K
    Graphics Card #1GTX880M
    Graphics Card #27970 Ghz edition
    Storage #1Samsung 840
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro Nvme
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB MX Silent
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Headset Focal Spirit
    Mouse Pad Razer Examat X
    Headset/Speakers Sony A/V STR-DN 850 7.2
    BVr77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    Miracast is built -in Windows 8.1, be sure you have Nvidia driver ver 340.43 minimum.
    activate Miracast on your TV and on your laptop use the charm bar go to devices then project select "add a wireless display" and select your Tv.
    that's it.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    310

    You can't enable optimus on G751JY. The display is connected directly to the GTX980m, and the intel 4600 hd is disabled.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Prostar Computer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    462

    Quote Originally Posted by lazzy View Post
    Hello
    I have purchased a G751JY it have WIFI Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 7260 but it have only GTX 980M without Optimus. i need the HD4600 to be installed to be able to use widi , beacause I have a Tv support miracast + wifi direct. I want G751JY can cast to my tv. Is there button to switch between intel HD 4600 and nvidia GTX 980M?
    These wireless display standards are really convoluted. Intel WiDi is basically folded into Miracast from what I understand.

    Your NVidia GPU will support Miracast (see this document), but your WLAN card will not.

    Your WLAN card will support Intel WiDi, but your NVidia GPU will not (and there is no way to utilize the Intel graphics on your laptop).

    The most practical option would be to remove the Intel WLAN card and its drivers, and install a compatible, Miracast capable card and its drivers.
    Last edited by Prostar Computer; 04-01-2015 at 05:29 PM.
    We customize Asus, MSI, and Clevo laptops!

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array BVr77 PC Specs
    BVr77 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G750
    MotherboardZ170 Pro Gaming
    ProcessorI7 4700HQ , I5 6600K
    Graphics Card #1GTX880M
    Graphics Card #27970 Ghz edition
    Storage #1Samsung 840
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro Nvme
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB MX Silent
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Headset Focal Spirit
    Mouse Pad Razer Examat X
    Headset/Speakers Sony A/V STR-DN 850 7.2
    BVr77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    TSSSSSS

    the Intel AC7260 is a Miracast certified source product.
    it's certification number : WFA51001

    Intel WiDi is the Intel solution for Wireless display as Apple is AirPlay, twice are proprietary software.
    Miracast is an open Platform Wireless Display.

    So if you have an Intel 7260 wifi card, a Nvidia GTX 980m GC and Windows 8.1 you've got all you need to duplicate your laptop screen towards Miracast Dislay.

    Don't post if it's just to talk nonsense.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    @Bvr77: are you try to connect TV by Miracast? I spent 4h but it can't connect to my tv. i think Prostar Computer is right

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array BVr77 PC Specs
    BVr77 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G750
    MotherboardZ170 Pro Gaming
    ProcessorI7 4700HQ , I5 6600K
    Graphics Card #1GTX880M
    Graphics Card #27970 Ghz edition
    Storage #1Samsung 840
    Storage #2Samsung 950 Pro Nvme
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB MX Silent
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Headset Focal Spirit
    Mouse Pad Razer Examat X
    Headset/Speakers Sony A/V STR-DN 850 7.2
    BVr77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    i'm not in front of your laptop, so i can't see what's wrong .
    have a look of your driver version.
    i don't know your TV model, is there a firmware update available ?
    be sure wifi is active on both side .
    Miracast Wireless display use 802.11n and 5Ghz so be sure it's active.

    all i can say is that it's working fine in my house when i select project my Panasonic TV directly appears in the charm bar.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by BVr77 View Post
    TSSSSSS

    the Intel AC7260 is a Miracast certified source product.
    it's certification number : WFA51001

    Intel WiDi is the Intel solution for Wireless display as Apple is AirPlay, twice are proprietary software.
    Miracast is an open Platform Wireless Display.

    So if you have an Intel 7260 wifi card, a Nvidia GTX 980m GC and Windows 8.1 you've got all you need to duplicate your laptop screen towards Miracast Dislay.
    Quote Originally Posted by BVr77 View Post
    i'm not in front of your laptop, so i can't see what's wrong .
    have a look of your driver version.
    i don't know your TV model, is there a firmware update available ?
    be sure wifi is active on both side .
    Miracast Wireless display use 802.11n and 5Ghz so be sure it's active.

    all i can say is that it's working fine in my house when i select project my Panasonic TV directly appears in the charm bar.
    BVr77, would you please post screen shots and a quick walk through on how you set it up as a new Thread? If there are options to enable on the Panasonic maybe photo's and description there too? This question comes up often enough it would be helpful to have a sticky on how to set it up for the G751.

    Thanks BVr77!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •