Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array KingJ PC Specs
    KingJ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS G75VW-RS72
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair V Formula
    ProcessorFX 6300 @4.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)12GB Kingston Hyper X 1600
    Graphics Card #1Asus Mars 760
    Graphics Card #2Asus mars 760
    Sound CardX-FI 2 Supreme FX
    Monitor55Inch Samsung H7150
    Storage #13 x 1 TB Barracuda 7200RPM
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Spinq VT
    CaseCM Storm Trooper
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1500w
    Keyboard Razer Lycosa
    Mouse Diablo 3 Steel Series Mouse
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro
    Mouse Pad Diablo 3 Mouse pad
    Headset/Speakers Samsung HW-C770BS 7.1
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
    Network RouterAsus AC2400 RT-AC87R

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quad SLi On Crosshair V Formula

    Hey guys, this is my first post And i just had a few questions on running quad sli on my Asus Crosshair V Formula it is not the Z
    I have 2 Asus mars 760 cards. And before any one says sell them and get 780ti's or 970's, I would rather not. I also have a rampage 3 formula and a i7 920 if that would be a better mobo and cpu to use with thses cards. my issue im running in to is that i can only 3way sli in the nvidia control panel. it only gives me the option to Maximize 3D proformance. im getting sick of AMD and wont be able to jump to a x99 intel chipset till august. so for the time being i would like to get this rig set up proberly. any input would help thanks.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Dr. Zchivago PC Specs
    Dr. Zchivago PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovo Thinkpad T410
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair V Formula - Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 9590
    Memory (part number)BLE2KIT8G3D1869DE1TX0 (8-8-8-24, 1866 MHz)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS R9 390 STRIX (OC, GAMING)
    Storage #1SG Constellation 6 TB (6x1 TB) RAID 0
    Storage #2SG Constellation 2 TB (2x2 TB) RAID 1
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCaseLabs STH-10
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
    Mouse Microsoft Sidewinder X5
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Perixx 900x440x3 mm + Steelseries 320x270x3 mm + ALLSOP hard pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G930/Altec Lansing 5.1
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro (64 bit)
    Dr. Zchivago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    66
    Posts
    609

    I thought the Crosshair V Formula (Z or not Z) only supports three cards?
    Resistance is futile (at <1 Ohm).

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array KingJ PC Specs
    KingJ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS G75VW-RS72
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair V Formula
    ProcessorFX 6300 @4.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)12GB Kingston Hyper X 1600
    Graphics Card #1Asus Mars 760
    Graphics Card #2Asus mars 760
    Sound CardX-FI 2 Supreme FX
    Monitor55Inch Samsung H7150
    Storage #13 x 1 TB Barracuda 7200RPM
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Spinq VT
    CaseCM Storm Trooper
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1500w
    Keyboard Razer Lycosa
    Mouse Diablo 3 Steel Series Mouse
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro
    Mouse Pad Diablo 3 Mouse pad
    Headset/Speakers Samsung HW-C770BS 7.1
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
    Network RouterAsus AC2400 RT-AC87R

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quad SLI is 2 dual gpus. 4 way sli is 4 single gpus on a mobo. and thats my question is can i do quad sli. this mobo has 2 x16 lanes and i currently have each one filled with a mars 760. so thats 4 gpus at the moment it reads as 3 gpus in sli and one as the deticated PhysX card.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,639

    Hello KingJ

    Yes you can do quad sli (2 dual gpus) on the crosshair v formula.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array KingJ PC Specs
    KingJ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS G75VW-RS72
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair V Formula
    ProcessorFX 6300 @4.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)12GB Kingston Hyper X 1600
    Graphics Card #1Asus Mars 760
    Graphics Card #2Asus mars 760
    Sound CardX-FI 2 Supreme FX
    Monitor55Inch Samsung H7150
    Storage #13 x 1 TB Barracuda 7200RPM
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Spinq VT
    CaseCM Storm Trooper
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1500w
    Keyboard Razer Lycosa
    Mouse Diablo 3 Steel Series Mouse
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro
    Mouse Pad Diablo 3 Mouse pad
    Headset/Speakers Samsung HW-C770BS 7.1
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
    Network RouterAsus AC2400 RT-AC87R

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    thanks. what driver should i use. because right now its not reading it as quad sli

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,639

    Do you have the gpu's in the correct slots?

    Use the latest Nvidia driver 347.88

    Have you gone to the NVidia control panel configure sli,surround, PhysX and tick maximize 3d performance and click apply?

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array KingJ PC Specs
    KingJ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS G75VW-RS72
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair V Formula
    ProcessorFX 6300 @4.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)12GB Kingston Hyper X 1600
    Graphics Card #1Asus Mars 760
    Graphics Card #2Asus mars 760
    Sound CardX-FI 2 Supreme FX
    Monitor55Inch Samsung H7150
    Storage #13 x 1 TB Barracuda 7200RPM
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Spinq VT
    CaseCM Storm Trooper
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1500w
    Keyboard Razer Lycosa
    Mouse Diablo 3 Steel Series Mouse
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro
    Mouse Pad Diablo 3 Mouse pad
    Headset/Speakers Samsung HW-C770BS 7.1
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
    Network RouterAsus AC2400 RT-AC87R

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Yess ive done all that it still only lets me sli 3 cards

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,639

    If it's only recognizing 3 gpu's then try each gpu one at a time.

    Does each gpu show two gpu's?

  9. #9
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,639

    I think I might have told you wrong KingJ take a look here at the formula and formula -z

    crosshair v Formula

    http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/CROSSHAIR_V_FORMULA/

    Crosshair v formula - z

    http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/CROSSHAIR_V_FORMULAZ/

    Scroll down to where it says multi gpu technology. The formula - z mentions quad sli but the formula does not.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array KingJ PC Specs
    KingJ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS G75VW-RS72
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair V Formula
    ProcessorFX 6300 @4.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)12GB Kingston Hyper X 1600
    Graphics Card #1Asus Mars 760
    Graphics Card #2Asus mars 760
    Sound CardX-FI 2 Supreme FX
    Monitor55Inch Samsung H7150
    Storage #13 x 1 TB Barracuda 7200RPM
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Spinq VT
    CaseCM Storm Trooper
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1500w
    Keyboard Razer Lycosa
    Mouse Diablo 3 Steel Series Mouse
    Headset Razer Kraken Pro
    Mouse Pad Diablo 3 Mouse pad
    Headset/Speakers Samsung HW-C770BS 7.1
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
    Network RouterAsus AC2400 RT-AC87R

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Thanks that kinda sucks looks like ill have to wait till august to get the x99 chipset. would my i7 920 and rampage III formula be just as good a my FX 6300 and my CVF mobo

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •