Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Arrow G53SX repaste / A.C wifi + >16GB RAM upgrade

    My 3 year old g53sx recently max temp recently reached 88c while compiling stuff on linux and while gaming on windows my fan sounded even louder leading me to think i should redo the thermal paste.

    I have a tube of artic mx4 and i am practicing myself redoing my p5ld2 servers heatsinks but i would still like some advices on how to do it since i have trouble getting the right amount of paste. (Sucessfully repaired an old radeon graphic card fan and redid the paste too, but i still consider myself a noob with paste since i still have awfull temps on the old towers)

    I dont fear opening my laptop or any computer since i am pretty much bulletproof in static prevention...(or paranoid) here is my setup :
    * 3 layer antistatic mat on a drawing table with borco rubber of which the metal frame is the common ground point
    * add to that antistatic gloves with fingertip grip over my wrist strap
    * blue antistatic lab coat and crocs(barefoot)

    Using this setup i sucessfully opened twice my laptop with no problems
    1- removed my original disk and replaced it with a samsung 850 pro for my gentoo
    2- added another 256GB ssd for windows recently.

    But since the procedure for thermal paste is pretty much a complete dissasembly i wonder if i should get esd safe tools?

    While i open the laptop to redo the paste i think i should upgrade the wifi card too to benefit of my asus AC router but my google-fuu has not suceeded yet in telling me if this can be done on the g53sx.

    EDIT: so far this card looks interesting but i wonder if there is a better one that will use full ac bandwith.
    http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16833106240

    Can the g53sx run 32gb ram depsite the board info specifiying 16gbmax? and if so which ram would you recommend?
    Last edited by !llusionist; 04-02-2015 at 06:44 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Here is some info to help with AC wifi card compatibility (redacted for security purposes)

    lshw (detailed hardware info) http://pastebin.com/2fQyWA9w

    dmidecode (more info) http://pastebin.com/ZqLa7bLe

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array C4RN1 PC Specs
    C4RN1 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G51VX, G71G, G73, G74SX, G53SX, G53JW, G46VW, X501A, X401A
    MotherboardASUS M5A88-V EVO
    ProcessorAMD FX-4350 Vishera Quad 4.2GHz
    Memory (part number)16GB 4x4gb Mushkin Black Line
    Graphics Card #1HD Radeon 5970
    Graphics Card #2HD Radeon 5970
    Graphics Card #3HD Radeon 5970
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA450 x2 (Provided by HP)
    Storage #1Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD
    Storage #2Western Digital 1.5 TB HDD
    CaseAntec 900
    Power SupplyKingwin Lazer 1000W
    Keyboard HP OEM
    Mouse Logitech Anywhere MX
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 7, Windows 8.1
    Network RouterLinksys E-1000 (DDWRT)
    C4RN1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    262

    I'd recommend IC Diamond, it's what the community uses for rog laptops.

    When using a thick paste such as ICD I usually get some hot water and soak the sealed tube in it before applying the paste. The trick is to get it nice and warm so it softens up a bit.

    Here's a link to ICD and the application process.

    http://www.innovationcooling.com/application.html

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    164

    Your setup is more than fine for disassembly. It's not exactly hyper-sensitive hardware we're talking about here. IC Diamond is good and so is the Noctua NT-H1 I use at home. But if you already have mx4 I'd just use that honestly.

    That Intel 7260 card should work nicely in your laptop.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14


  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    164

    Afaik your laptop have 2 antennas. So that 3 antenna card is not optimal.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •