Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Double boot on Maximus VI Formula

    Since a couple of weeks, I have been getting double boots (cold and warm).

    The system starts up, boots for a couple of seconds, shuts down and successfully boots to windows.

    A quick rundown on my setup (that, mind you, has been working for about 10months)

    Maximus VI Formula
    Intel 4770K
    16GB Corsair Dominator Platinum 1600Mhz
    Corsair a860i PSU
    2x WD RED 3TB (raid0)
    2x Samsung 840 SSD 240GB (raid0)
    MSI GTX780Ti Gaming

    I've tried updating the BIOS to 1603, downgrading it to back to 1402, unplugging all USB devices to see if double boot happens (it does)
    re-seated all hardware components, even re-installed the system.. still having this issue.

    Can anyone shed some light here?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Are you by chance turning off power to the board or using a UPS?
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    My apologies, I should have mentioned this before. But no, I'm not switching the power to the board off nor am I using a UPS.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array jab383 PC Specs
    jab383 PC Specs
    Motherboard24/7 rig : Maximus VI Extreme
    Processori7 4790K
    Memory (part number)16GB Mushkin Redline 2400 10-12-12-28 + 16GB Corsair Vengeance 2400 10-12-12-31
    Graphics Card #1AMD Firepro W5000
    Sound CardM6E Supreme FX
    MonitorDell U2413
    Storage #1Kingston SH103S3240G SSD
    Storage #2Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
    CPU CoolerCustom water loop, Delidded, Liquid Metal TIM
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF XM
    Power SupplyCorsair HX-750
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Logitech M705
    OS Windows 7 64 Pro
    jab383's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    107
    Posts
    855

    Hi vonpewdzz, and welcome.

    The stutter of a boot is normal and intentional when booting from complete power-off, hence NemesisChild's question. BIOS checks out hardware components, mostly memory, then applies the startup conditions needed on the second boot.

    If standby power is maintained, it should take one try to boot as long as the CPU, DRAM, etc. overclock is stable. Unstable overclock can cause repeated booting even after standby power has been on.

    Jeff

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Thanks for the feedback. I haven't overclocked the machine. The only thing out of the standard configuration is the memory profile (xmp) since the RAM is 1600mhz. Also, this has worked for over 10months with no problems. But i can try and set it back to default and swe if that solves it.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Ok, so I've tried going for the default settings on the BIOS with no xmp profile this time and the machine still keeps double booting. I'm not sure what else I can try

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    What version of the BIOS are you using? I have the same motherboard as you do and also the double booting problem before. I just the BIOS to a later version and it solved the issue completely. Since the update, my system is running smoothly without the double boot.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Version 1603. I think it's a BIOS related issue. I've checked on a friend's machine (same motherboard, same bios vers. 1603) and he has some additional options which i can't see, like voltages being displayed in front of the options you can change, some info on the motherboard displayed on his BIOS but not on mine. I've reinstalled the BIOS (still version 1603) and now these options are also visible on my machine. I haven't checked for the double boot issue yet. but will report back later on today if it's still there.
    also, before the bios re-installation, I always had an issue in device manager with Intel MEI and after the BIOS re-install that was solved too.. so yeah.. I'll let you guys know!
    Last edited by vonpewdzz; 05-06-2015 at 10:26 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Ok did a couple of checks, all seems fine. I guess it was a BIOS flashing issue..

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •