Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Cold Boot Q-Code Ad

    Hi,

    I use an Asus Rampage V Extreme and a Samsung SM951 512 GB M.2 SSD as well as a Crucial Ballistix Sport DIMM Kit 32GB, DDR4-2400 RAM.

    Every time I boot the PC with it having been cut off from power, I get the Q-Code "Ad" and Windows 8.1 does not load. Pressing the reset-button results in a normal boot with a Q-Code of "AA" and Windows loads regularly.

    If I just turn the PC off without cutting it off from the power and reboot, then the PC boots with a Q-code of "40" or "AA".

    I just installed the new BIOS 1402 and even disabled fast-boot but I still have the problem that Windows does not start after the PC has been cut off from power with the mainboard showing the Q-code "Ad".

    I would really appreciate it if someone could help me.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,247

    Please list your complete system specifications and indicate if your system is overclocked.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus M13EG Bios 0902
    Processori9 11900K @ 5.2 1.50 VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3600C16D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1Asus 3090 Strix OC/EKWB Quantum Vector Nickel/Plexi
    Sound CardCreative SB X3
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro
    CPU CoolerQuantum Kinetic TBE 300 D5 with Quantum VTX 160
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore 2
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius III
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    57
    Posts
    2,305

    Do you have any USB devices connected?

  4. #4
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Here are my system specifications:

    MOBO: ASUS Rampage V Extreme
    CPU: Intel i7-5820K
    RAM: Crucial Ballistix Sport DIMM Kit 32GB, DDR4-2400 RAM
    Video Card: 2X EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SuperClocked ACX 2.0
    Boot Drive: Samsung SM951 512 GB
    Blu-ray drive: LG BH16NS40
    Power Supply: CoolerMaster V850
    CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D15
    Case: Thermaltake Urban T81
    OS: Windows 8.1 64 bit
    Monitors: Acer XB280HK connected via DisplayPort
    Asus VG236H connected via DVI

    Right now the system is not overclocked. I used the XMP-settings in the BIOS.

    Conneted to USB are:
    Mouse Razer Abyssus
    Keyboard Logitech K290
    Printer Samsung SXC-4500

    There are not other drives connected via USB or SATA.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus M13EG Bios 0902
    Processori9 11900K @ 5.2 1.50 VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3600C16D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1Asus 3090 Strix OC/EKWB Quantum Vector Nickel/Plexi
    Sound CardCreative SB X3
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro
    CPU CoolerQuantum Kinetic TBE 300 D5 with Quantum VTX 160
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore 2
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius III
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    57
    Posts
    2,305

    I was plagued with Ad and 61 Q codes for weeks and thought it was my overclock. I unplugged my older USB devices and haven't had a problem since. You might try that first.

  6. #6

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus M13EG Bios 0902
    Processori9 11900K @ 5.2 1.50 VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-3600C16D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1Asus 3090 Strix OC/EKWB Quantum Vector Nickel/Plexi
    Sound CardCreative SB X3
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro
    CPU CoolerQuantum Kinetic TBE 300 D5 with Quantum VTX 160
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore 2
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius III
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    57
    Posts
    2,305


  8. #8
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    It seems that problem was the USB-hub on the monitor - although there hasn't been anything connected to those USB-ports. I disabled the hub in the menu of the monitor and since then the PC boots regularly even after having been cut off from power.
    Thanks for your help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •