Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Hi arrtaas,

    Yes it is. I wonder why havent Asus put much bigger grills on the underside of the notebook. That would have surely improved the ventilation.

    I'll probably go for the cooler pad. Tell me how well it works the 751 series..since the design is different.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Sagnik87 View Post
    Hi hmscott,
    Thanks for replying My next step would have been to directly ping you and ask for solution :P Anyways
    So I have been trying to get my head around this problem of overheating. Just to let you know that Cinema 4d only uses the processor when rendering the final image..there is no GPU involved. I also checked the GPU temps and it was around 56C. However the the GPU was a bit warm as it was being used when working with the viewport before hitting render. Could that be a reason ??
    When I render in my 3d software I usually keep an eye on the hardware monitor to check the temps. Till now before it hit 98C yesterday...my G751Jm reached a maxium of 95C on one render but there was no case of thermal throttling. The pattern I observed is..it is only core#1 that hits maxium temp above 90s when under load. Rest of the cores usually remain below 90C. It was the same case yesterday and as it reached beyond 95C, I saw that Core#1 was throttling on the hardware monitor.
    I can understand hitting 93C on occassions bt 98C...thats really high for this series of laptop that boasts about dual cooling dont you think ?
    I'll check the logsheet as you suggested.
    Also since I use my laptop for 3d works, the more threads I get to use the better. For example, it is better if I get to use 4 cores running at 3.3 Ghz rather than using two cores running at 3.5 Ghz.
    However, I'll post my results tweaking the XTU as you suggested.
    Sagnik87, that's the nice thing about XTU, you can make Profiles for each load you need to tune.

    If you have a load like 4D that favors 1 Core over the others, and it is overheating, then make a Profile that de-tunes Core 1, but keeps the other 3 cores and Cache up high.

    Then you can select that 4D Profile before starting those jobs, and swap it back to Max Multiplier Profile for general use.

    Have fun!

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Hi hmscott,

    I did as you suggested to check the log file from the HWinfo monitor during a render in Cinema 4d. The colored portion is the render session and the red ones are the temps.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture CPU render temps.PNG 
Views:	20 
Size:	96.3 KB 
ID:	49144

    Tell me if it looks normal to you.

    The method you suggested using the XTU, detuning the core#1 for keeping all others high, i tried that yesterday and I got a lower result in the cinema 4d benchmark. It was much lower.

    Update: These are my XTU settings. They are default settings.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	XTU settings.JPG 
Views:	20 
Size:	160.0 KB 
ID:	49145


    Thanks for all the help
    Last edited by Sagnik87; 05-12-2015 at 08:27 PM.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Quote Originally Posted by Sagnik87 View Post
    Hi hmscott,

    I did as you suggested to check the log file from the HWinfo monitor during a render in Cinema 4d. The colored portion is the render session and the red ones are the temps.
    ...
    Tell me if it looks normal to you.

    The method you suggested using the XTU, detuning the core#1 for keeping all others high, i tried that yesterday and I got a lower result in the cinema 4d benchmark. It was much lower.

    Update: These are my XTU settings. They are default settings.

    Thanks for all the help
    Sagnik87, hmmm... you are sustaining >93c for a while during the run, but the Thermal Throttling columns all have a "No" in them, so you aren't Thermal Throttling.

    Your 4710 will clock higher, as you can see you are losing 2x in all 4 Cores right now - the slider will go up more.

    From your text you indicate this data is from a normal speed run, using the XTU settings you are showing? And, when you ran again with Core 1 detuned - how much 1x, 2x? What were the temps then? Can you please log those results and post them?

    The idea is to use the most performance that the CPU will sustain without Thermal Throttling. So you want to put all 4 Cores up to maximum 37x, 36x, 35x, 35x and log temps during a run there, looking for Thermal Throttling - temps 93c and above - see what you score is there.

    You can also undervolt the processor to reduce temperatures. My G750JW did -125mv CPU/Cache and my G750JX did -75mV, but my G750JH would only do -20mV out of the box new but does -50mV now.

    You can also set the Power Plan to Balanced which has the CPU performance set to Min/Max 0%/100% which will downclock and upclock as needed which can allow the processor to cool down in between load spikes. That will reduce temps a bit, but may shave a couple of % off performance.

    If the temp's are kept below Thermal Throttling your overall performance should be better - time your actual render runs - not just scores from a benchmark.

    After thinking about it some more, the stock speeds might be your maximum, you aren't Thermal Throttling, but all 4 cores are getting close to that point. It will be interesting to see how full multipliers run, and if you Thermal Throttle.

    BTW, is your GPU set to Intel? Even if you aren't rendering on the Nvidia GPU try setting the App to prefer the Nvidia GPU, it might reduce the heat generated by the Intel GPU - reducing your CPU temps.

    That is the problem with enabling the Intel GPU - it adds heat to the CPU die - reducing head room on the CPU temps.

    If you really need high CPU performance, I would return the G751JM and get a G751JT - it doesn't have the Intel GPU enabled, meaning your CPU temps when doing pure CPU work will be lower. On the G750 series the Optimus models run about 10c hotter CPU temps than the non-Optimus models under 100% CPU load like you need.
    Last edited by hmscott; 05-13-2015 at 09:56 AM.

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Hi hmscott,

    Thanks again for all the possible solutions

    I am really doubtful about the undervolt process since I have no knowledge about the way it is done. Like the logic behind it.
    I have my power plan set to 'Balanced' all the time. Also, I have my 3d programs set to run on my nvidia GPU in the settings as you will see in the following test results.

    I ran three test based on different XTU settings. 1. Detuned 2. With highest multiplier 3. Default setting. And i got some pretty random results. Here they are

    Test 1 with Core #1 detuned by 1x in the XTU.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	test 1_XTU detun.JPG 
Views:	3 
Size:	164.8 KB 
ID:	49283

    Ran Cinebench. The bright orange is the current result. With previous results marked with faded orange mark. Also note the GPU temp in the HWmonitor
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	test 1_c4d.JPG 
Views:	5 
Size:	349.7 KB 
ID:	49284
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	test 1_log detune.JPG 
Views:	2 
Size:	264.0 KB 
ID:	49285

    Test 2 with high multiplier setting in the XTU.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	test 2_XTU hi.JPG 
Views:	2 
Size:	165.8 KB 
ID:	49286

    In Cinebench, I expected better result with this setting but it was almost similar to previous results done with default setting in the XTU. Also a surprising factor was the temp. Didnt go beyond 92. But have a look at the last pic in the post. It will show some differnt results with the same settings.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	test 2_c4d.JPG 
Views:	6 
Size:	351.6 KB 
ID:	49287
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	test 2_log hi.JPG 
Views:	2 
Size:	269.0 KB 
ID:	49288


    Test 3 with default XTU settings.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	test 3_XTU default.JPG 
Views:	0 
Size:	160.5 KB 
ID:	49289
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	test 3_c4d.JPG 
Views:	2 
Size:	349.2 KB 
ID:	49290
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	test 3_log normal.JPG 
Views:	2 
Size:	262.5 KB 
ID:	49291

    Now here is the random result I found running hi multiplier setting with the XTU.

    The score dropped from 633 to 619 in Cinebench.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	test 4_c4d xtu hi.JPG 
Views:	2 
Size:	357.2 KB 
ID:	49292

    While doing the benchmark test in XTU, there was thermal throttling with a temp of 96C
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	xtu benchmar_throtling.JPG 
Views:	2 
Size:	259.2 KB 
ID:	49293


    So there it is...I am not able to lock on a particular solution. Any thoughts regarding the results :/

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Sagnik8k, before getting into it, the undervolting has a simple justification.

    Less power used / expended means less heat introduced into the system. Less heat generated, lower temperatures overall.

    Same for lower speeds, lower multipliers, less heat generated - less heat dissipated - lower temperatures.

    Whether or not it shows in a particular benchmark(s), lower voltage, less current draw with lower speeds, all reduce the heat generated and dissipated - lower temps.

    Every little bit helps.

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array hmscott PC Specs
    hmscott PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G750JH-DB71 (legacy)
    MotherboardAsus G750JH Intel HM87
    ProcessorIntel i7-4700HQ XTU Cores 36x/35x/34x/34x Cache 36x -50mV undervolt
    Memory (part number)Hyundai Electronics HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB 1.35v DDR3L-1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 780m Asus GPU Tweak OC 932mhz/6300mhz
    Sound CardRealtek v6.0.1.7469 driver
    MonitorAUO B173HW02 V1 Custom Refresh 85hz
    Storage #1RAID0 2x M.2 SATA Crucial MX200 512GB CT500MX200SSD6
    Storage #2Crucial 512GB 2.5" MX200 CT500MX200SSD1
    Power Supply230w AC Power Adapter 19.5v
    Keyboard Logitech k400 Wireless KB/Trackpad
    Headset Sony MDR-XB500 Wired and Sennheiser RS-220 Wireless TOSLINK
    OS Windows 8.1 + 8 Linux VM's + Windows 10 Technical Preview
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U DLINK DIR-655

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    5,357

    Sagnik8k, for the first run with the multipliers decreased by 1x - relative to your previous non-maximum setting, you see slightly less temperature with slightly less performance, as expected.

    For the next run with maximum multipliers, the reason you didn't get much more of an improvement is that you didn't increase the Turbo Boost Power Time Window - run again after increasing to 28 seconds from default of 8 seconds to start - you can try higher numbers later. The default for the 4710 is 8 seconds, the 4700 is 28 seconds but not adjustable.

    Also make sure you are using the High Performance Power plan with Processor speed set to 100%/100% Min/Max.

    You can also try increasing the Turbo Boost Short Power Max by 10w, same for Turbo Boost Power Max, doesn't affect my results, but coupled with a longer Turbo Boost Power Time Window, it might help - might take a lot of playing / tuning - only to find it doesn't help.

    As far as random runs showing low numbers, that happens because there are other things running in the background on the laptop - lots of background processes can go off at random times and affect benchmarks and screw up games - lag / glitches / etc

    Make sure you have disabled all OS/app/anti-virus background updates, background OS/media indexing updates, disk optimizer idle time optimizations - idle keyboard registers as idle system to a lot of background programs.

    It takes some time to get a handle on all of this, but once you do, you will be in control of your laptop, that is until you update or install something else

    Have fun!
    Last edited by hmscott; 05-15-2015 at 11:16 PM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •