Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    asus z97-a and 4790k

    hi all
    i know its rog forum but i really need the help i wasted countless hours on google to find anything with no luck whatsoever
    ok so i have z97-a and 4790k got them a week ago
    so far i didnt pay any attention to my voltages so everything is was default on bios i only enabled xmp
    while running a streess test in aida 64 i see my vcore is bit hig for 4.4ghz its standing at 1.303 while cinebench running at 1.268
    i tried manual voltage and i can get 4.6ghz at 1.2v.
    now the problem is it stay 1.2 so i changed it to adaptive - offset on auto aditional turbo v on 1.225 just incase it need the extra kick
    so i ran cinebench / games and monitor my max VId and its still going to 1.268-1.296,
    i dont know what to do more since its really stupid to run cores at 70C while i can get 60c max at 1.22
    besides imo its too much voltage for 4.4 ghz
    iim srry for the long story but id like a precise answer
    my info from bios when i boot are vcore 1.079
    memory voltage 1.365 and cache is 1.200
    is ai suite 3 who overriding the bios?
    i really need help with that:P
    ty in advance guys

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3883MHz 16-17- 17-37-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,648

    Hello leahd4

    Try setting offset to manual then (negative) - .040v or there about.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    wow ty for quick reply.
    though if i'd put offset to negetive -0.0.4 itll b around 1.26 on aidai stress test and 1.226 on cinebench
    now what aboutt idle volt? wont it bump down from 0.7 roughly to 0.66?
    wont it crash on idle?
    if it wont crash then why not taking it like that=
    additional turbo = 1.2 and offset to -0.8 that way in stresstest itll b 1.22 and in cinebench gaming itll b 1.2 no? or the offset will take gaming to 1.268-0.8 to under 1.2 roughly 1.8 wich will cause instability?
    srry for bad grammer english isn't my native lengueage

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Ok so idid something like this plz tell me if its wrong
    adaptive offset at negetive -0.068 and aditional turbo at 1.2
    @4.4 i get 1.201 at cinebench and 1.24 at aida64 full load max temp 69 on core 2
    @4.6 i get 1.201 cinebench and 1.24 at aida64 full load max temp 71 on core 1
    full idle mode its on 0.68v
    is that settings ok ?
    can i keep it like that?

  5. #5
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3883MHz 16-17- 17-37-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,648

    If you are stable when at idle yes you can keep it like that.

    1.201v for 4.6GHz seems pretty good.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    ty well i thought i had bad cpu or mobo then i saw lots ppl gettin overvolt from z97 boards
    i ran aida 64 for 5 min only tho so i dont know rlly if its stable but on max load its on 1.24 while gaming its at 1.201
    so by setting negetive voltage ill b able to have better lifespan on my cpu since its more logical to have 1.2 then 1.3
    temps coller too
    gaming never get me over 49 :P
    ok then ill keep those settings ty so much for ur help
    might try 4.7 @1.275 i think it should work but im happy and dont see any need to oc that cpu so far no bottleneck whatsoever

    anyway so far stable on idle/ games/ bench/ stress on aida64
    ill keep those settings
    tho i rlly dont understand why the overvolt is so high on thse boards...

  7. #7
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3883MHz 16-17- 17-37-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,648

    I suppose it's over volted a little just to ensure stability for all cpu's at stock settings as all cpu's are not created equal.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    hi again
    a friend of mine told me i can put manual voltage and enable eist and all c states
    and vcore will drop on idle tho when i did it cpu z shows 1.2 always
    temps are low tho so is it possible that c[u-z read bios settings and wont show a drop in vcore that way?

  9. #9
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 3883MHz 16-17- 17-37-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,648

    No, you have to use adaptive or offset mode to get the voltage to drop, only the speed will drop in manual mode.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    hi again i have annother question
    my pch temps are very very durin idle/load
    at idle i get 43
    at full load while gamin for few hours it go up to 56
    is it normal?
    my mobo temps r lower 29 on idle and max 33 on full load

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •