Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    installing SSD to my G751 JT , need help

    hi guys

    I just bought my new G751JT few days ago , best laptop i have ever had !

    i wanna install my SSD 250 Gb , i have few questions :

    do i need to replace my SSD with HDD ? to get better performance ?

    do i need to change setting in BIOS ? AHCI or something?

    can a beginner like me do it himself ? or should i go to some expert?


    anything else i need to know before doing it ? im kinda scared i miss up my device , so i ask alot )


    thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    btw i have g751 CH71

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,146

    Download Macrium Reflect, Pull you hard drive out, install your SSD, hook up your hard drive VIA USB and clone your hard drive to your SSD. Macrium has all the direction on there web site.

    Perhaps before you do this, download Asus Backtracker and create a restore to factory USB thumb drive.

    You can also use this USB to restore to your newly installed SSD

    The main differences are backtracker will always put your computer back to factory shipped state.
    Macrium Reflect will bring you back to where you were when you made the Image or Clone
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    38

    All I did was put the hdd into secondary lot, rebooted the lappy to show it where primary boot drive is, then simply plopped ssd in the main slot and used macrium to create a 1:1 copy of partitions (shrinking the empty space) then take out the hdd while leaving the ssd in there and voila. Then reformat hdd and there you have your storage drive.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    thank u guys for helping


    Download Macrium Reflect, Pull you hard drive out, install your SSD, hook up your hard drive VIA USB and clone your hard drive to your SSD. Macrium has all the direction on there web site.

    Perhaps before you do this, download Asus Backtracker and create a restore to factory USB thumb drive.

    You can also use this USB to restore to your newly installed SSD

    The main differences are backtracker will always put your computer back to factory shipped state.
    Macrium Reflect will bring you back to where you were when you made the Image or Clone
    All I did was put the hdd into secondary lot, rebooted the lappy to show it where primary boot drive is, then simply plopped ssd in the main slot and used macrium to create a 1:1 copy of partitions (shrinking the empty space) then take out the hdd while leaving the ssd in there and voila. Then reformat hdd and there you have your storage drive.

    hi guys thanks for helping

    I can use Samsung migration tool to clone my HDD content to SSD , without using Macrium Reflect ?

    correct me if im wrong , i will clone my HDD to SSD using Samsung migration tool , then take out the HDD from the primary slot , install my SSD into the primary slot , finally install HDD to secondary slot .

    if yes , will the windows boot from HDD or SSD ? should i change BIOS settings to force him to boot from SSD , at least until I format the HDD .



    and do i need to set SATA configuration to AHCI in BIOS settings?


    thank u again for helping
    Last edited by katim2004; 03-08-2015 at 12:02 PM.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by Swarmy View Post
    All I did was put the hdd into secondary lot, rebooted the lappy to show it where primary boot drive is, then simply plopped ssd in the main slot and used macrium to create a 1:1 copy of partitions (shrinking the empty space) then take out the hdd while leaving the ssd in there and voila. Then reformat hdd and there you have your storage drive.
    Will the free version of Macrium do the trick or do you have to buy Home Edition? I'm basically planning to do the same thing as katim2004, replace the main drive with a Samsung 850 SSD and move the 1tb drive to the second slot. I also appreciate the info about using Backtracker to backup the restore partition. I assume the OS is on there since the system didn't come with any media backup.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    38

    I used the free version of Macrium.

    And what I did was leave a single drive in the laptop, bios autodetects and sets it as the boot drive after first boot. So once I had everything copied over I pulled the 1tb out and rebooted to teach bios that SSD is the boot drive now, and then put the 1TB back in and wiped it.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Cygnus_X1 View Post
    Will the free version of Macrium do the trick or do you have to buy Home Edition? I'm basically planning to do the same thing as katim2004, replace the main drive with a Samsung 850 SSD and move the 1tb drive to the second slot. I also appreciate the info about using Backtracker to backup the restore partition. I assume the OS is on there since the system didn't come with any media backup.
    yes , Asus backtracker will copy everything in the hidden recovery partition in your HDD , so u will have a clean copy of windows .

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Very little help

    Quote Originally Posted by katim2004 View Post
    correct me if im wrong , i will clone my HDD to SSD using Samsung migration tool , then take out the HDD from the primary slot , install my SSD into the primary slot , finally install HDD to secondary slot .
    I am planning to do something similar, but I was going to use the secondary slot for the SSD since that slot is SATA III-capable, whereas the primary slot is not (as far as I know ). I have the Crucial MX100 512G SATA 3 SSD. I was planning to modify the BIOS to attempt to boot from the secondary drive bay first, then the drive bay which originally contained the HDD, then a USB port (if you can specify any USB port)...

    I'm going to check out that Macrium thing...

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    38

    The primary slot is the one with m.2 connector AND sata 3 connection. That is where they put in the drive if you didnt get the ssd version. The secondary slot is only sata 2, so you do not want ssd in there.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •