Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: m.2 question

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    m.2 question

    Hi, I have the x99 R5E, 5960X,
    I've been wanting to get an ssd forever, still using mechanical drives.

    So I read some reviews and pre ordered the Intel 750 2.5 SSD.
    So, I'm guessing the drive won't have everything I need to connect it to the m.2 plug?
    I saw on you tube JJ from asus says it can connect to the m.2 using the hyper drive adapter?

    Where can I get this adapter? Did the R5E come with it?
    Should I cancel and wait for the tech to mature abit?

  2. #2

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I would have preferred to keep the pcie slots empty for a cleaner look, I hate clutter, but the m.2 method seems like a dead end without the adapter piece. .
    Why would there not be an SFF to m.2 cable without the need for an extra adapter???

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X11 Hero (Wi-Fi)
    Processori9 10900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X53

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    132

    Could you be more specific about the drive model you are thinking about?

    The M.2 PCIe version, not the SATA version, will go in the M.2 slot or perhaps on a adapter card to go into a PCIe slot.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    Quote Originally Posted by kamon211 View Post
    I would have preferred to keep the pcie slots empty for a cleaner look, I hate clutter, but the m.2 method seems like a dead end without the adapter piece. .
    Why would there not be an SFF to m.2 cable without the need for an extra adapter???
    Due to the placement of the M.2 socket on the R5E, using the ASUS Hyper Kit might obstruct the GPU in the first PCIe lane. You should take a look into that first if you're planning to get the 2.5" model.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    It may block the first pcie slot?
    I have an asus 290x with water cooling block, it's a long card and I don't want it blocks.
    I think I'm going to cancel it, it would have been nice, but I can do without it I guess.

    Shame, the 750 ssd had some beastly specs, fastest ssd I've seen going by reviews

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    Depending on how wide your 290X with its cooling block, the adapter may or may not obstruct your GPU. Generally we recommend users to grab the PCIe model.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    342

    Hi, Chino.

    I have a pair of Titan X with their blocks and backplates on the RVE.

    Tomorrow is coming a sm951 256 GB to install on the m.2 socket.

    Any clearance problems???

    Thanks in advance.
    Omega, 10980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 970 PRO, 860 EVO
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14, 207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    Quote Originally Posted by vmanuelgm View Post
    Hi, Chino.

    I have a pair of Titan X with their blocks and backplates on the RVE.

    Tomorrow is coming a sm951 256 GB to install on the m.2 socket.

    Any clearance problems???

    Thanks in advance.
    None whatsoever.

    M.2 PCIe SSDs will work just fine. The space problem only arises when you want to use the ASUS Hyper Kit like the one below.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3D-3.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	807.7 KB 
ID:	48380

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    96

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    None whatsoever.

    M.2 PCIe SSDs will work just fine. The space problem only arises when you want to use the ASUS Hyper Kit like the one below.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3D-3.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	807.7 KB 
ID:	48380
    Excuse my ignorance but what would you use the Hyper Kit for exactly?
    5930K @4.5
    ASUS Rampage 5 Extreme X99
    16 Gbs Corsair Dominator 2666Mhz RAM
    Two, EVGA Nvidia Titan X's in SLI
    Samsung XP941 M2 512 Gb M2 boot drive
    EVGA SuperNOVA P1200 PSU
    Case Labs Merlin Full Tower
    NZXT Kraken X61 AiO CPU cooler with four 140mm Noctura Industrial fans
    Overlord Tempest O27X Monitor @ 118 Hz

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •