Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Fan Speed - Watercooling

    Just installed a Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate. I have the 3 fans plugged in with the supplied 3>1 cable into the CPU_OPT port and the pump plugged into the CPU fan port. For some reason the RPM does not register properly in AI Suite 3. CPU fan registers as 1875 RPM and CPU_OPT registers as 1012 RPM. I cannot adjust fan curves at all. If I select Full Speed I can hear the fans ramp up but the rpm listed does not change at all. Any thoughts?
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Update: I have the fan RPM registering properly as I am no longer using the B fan control ports. However I do have a new problem. The 3 fans I have plugged into the cpu fan port do not adjust to my profile on boot. I have them set for 600 rpm, on boot they run at 1000. The only way to get them to fit my profile is if I switch to full power then reload my custom profile. What would be the best fix for this? Thanks for the responses!
    Last edited by snaps11; 04-19-2015 at 12:52 AM. Reason: New problem

  2. #2
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,037

    Hello

    CPU_OPT is controlled by the settings of CPU_FAN.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Switch them around. Put the fans on the CPU_FAN header and the pump on the CPU_OPT header or CHA_FAN header.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array frickinoob PC Specs
    frickinoob PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus N56V
    MotherboardAsus X99 Deluxe
    Processor5930K
    Memory (part number)Geil 3000
    Graphics Card #1Asus 970
    MonitorDell 30"
    Storage #12 x 1gb 8540Evo Raid0
    Storage #24 gb SSHD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110
    CaseCorsair Carbide
    Power SupplySeasonic 1200
    OS Win10 Preview
    Network RouterAsus

    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    whoa, you want your pump variable? Be careful. Usually use an adapter to hook the pump into always on power, use the fan ports for variable airflow.
    If you want the pump variable, use a separate port other than cpu or cpu_opt.
    I use an adapter to give constant power to my pump, and a lead for rpm to an available port to monitor rpm.

  5. #5
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    multi fans on 1 port will never give you the right rpm.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Deon017 PC Specs
    Deon017 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage IV Extreme Black Motherboard
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 4960X Extreme Edition
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance Pro CMY32GX3M4A2133C11 32GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Poseidon GTX 980Ti
    MonitorAsus Rog Swift 27" 3D Monitor
    Storage #1ASUS RAIDR Express 240GB PCI-E SSD
    Storage #2HDD: Intel 520S 240GB SSD
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Elite CPU Waterblock for Intel 2011
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D Super Tower Case
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i Digital ATX Modular Power Supply
    Keyboard Logitech G19s Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius
    OS WIN 10
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC3200
    Deon017's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    147

    Quote Originally Posted by kkn View Post
    multi fans on 1 port will never give you the right rpm.
    I agree with this and with frickinoob - don't need to control your pump, just connect it directly to power - just the fans if you want

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array skypine27 PC Specs
    skypine27 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5960x
    Graphics Card #1Titan X
    Graphics Card #2Titan X
    skypine27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    174

    I use an AIO too, though not your model. I agree with others here, never let the pump RPM be variable. However, on a lot of AIOs, they aren't variable. The pump "plug" is often a 3 pin plug for RPM monitoring only, not RPM control. I don't even bother to plug in my 3 pin for the pump, as I don't care to monitor what RPM its running at (it runs max RPM 24/7)
    *CPU: Intel 7980XE @ 4.4ghz (by Core usage) w/ EK monoblock
    *Mobo: Asus Rampage VIE
    *RAM: 64GB DDR4 3000 G.Skill TridentZ
    *Graphics: Titan Xp w/EK block+backplate
    *Monitor: Dell Alienware AW3418DW @ 120hz
    *Storage OS: Samsung SM961 Pro (1TB) Windows 10
    *Storage Games Internal: 4TB 850 EVO RAID0
    *Storage Extermal: 32TB Raid0 (External USB 3.1 Box)
    *Case/PSU: Thermaltake V71 TG/RGB + 3 Rads (120mm, 360mm, 420mm) + Corsair AX1200i PSU

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array GoNz0- PC Specs
    GoNz0- PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell XPS 9530
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5930
    Memory (part number)[Ripjaws 4] F4-2666C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX980
    CPU CoolerEk Evo Supremacy
    CaseCorsair 800D
    Power SupplyEnermax 1250w revolution 85
    Keyboard Logitech 710+
    Mouse Razer Mamba 2012
    Headset Sennheiser PC350
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterAsus AC68u

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    568

    I use PWM fans and pumps, a 3 into 1 should not feed the tach signal to the other fans to allow one to be monitored, if it feeds a tach signal to the other 2 then those wires need removing. as for pumps, they need to be PWM as well to take full advantage of the fan headers. Asus do not allow good control over DC voltage, infact shockingly poor as it starts at 60% for some reason.

    I run 3 pwm fans off the cpu header and the pump off the cpu_opt with no issues at all due to them being pwm.

    I run the same off the GTX980 Strix using a 5 pin to 2x pwm cable as well.

    not monitoring a pump RPM signal is silly imo as a failure should be easily spotted.

    Also not all of us want a pump running flat out, my PC is virtually silent at idle, the pump running flat out is quite loud in a quiet room.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Bump, see original post.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •