Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Gridsquare PC Specs
    Gridsquare PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 16gb
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC
    CPU CoolerEK waterblock
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 540
    Power SupplyThermaltake 850
    Keyboard Steelseries 6v2
    Headset/Speakers Plantronics 780
    OS Windows 8.1 x64

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Internet Throttling?

    Alright, I am now completely stumped. I have Brighthouse internet, 150DL,/10UL, and have been having some bad lag. I get 100ms on any game that I play, no matter where the servers are.
    Been running several speed tests and I have never been past 60-80mb/s download speed. My neighbor is the Brighthouse tech for the area, just came over a few minutes ago with his little handheld
    computer, ran the same speed tests, and instantly got 150+ speeds. Ran these tests for 20 minutes, then ran them on mine and I'm still getting half of what I am supposed to get.

    I figured out that my ping is due to the hops in my ISP's traffic, cant fix that. But I think something to do with my motherboard is throttling my download speeds.
    I uninstalled AISuite 3, used the cleaner I found here on forums, but still the same thing.

    What do I do from here?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Karlo666 PC Specs
    Karlo666 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero VII Z97
    Processori7-4790K @Stock
    Memory (part number)CMY32GX3M4A2400C11R
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX nVidia 980 STRIX
    Graphics Card #2Asus GTX nVidia 980 STRIX
    MonitorAsus Rog Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 PRO 256GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB NAS HDD 7200rpm
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCoolerMaster 850W 850V
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech MX Performace
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterASUS DSL-AC68U
    Karlo666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    154

    Uninstall any Asus LAN priority thing.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Gridsquare PC Specs
    Gridsquare PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 16gb
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC
    CPU CoolerEK waterblock
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 540
    Power SupplyThermaltake 850
    Keyboard Steelseries 6v2
    Headset/Speakers Plantronics 780
    OS Windows 8.1 x64

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Done and done. Did the whole, safe mode-disable amd thing, all asus stuff removed. Still ****.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Karlo666 PC Specs
    Karlo666 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero VII Z97
    Processori7-4790K @Stock
    Memory (part number)CMY32GX3M4A2400C11R
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX nVidia 980 STRIX
    Graphics Card #2Asus GTX nVidia 980 STRIX
    MonitorAsus Rog Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 PRO 256GB
    Storage #2Seagate 2TB NAS HDD 7200rpm
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCoolerMaster 850W 850V
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech MX Performace
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterASUS DSL-AC68U
    Karlo666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    154

    Is this fresh Windows installation or?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Gridsquare PC Specs
    Gridsquare PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 16gb
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC
    CPU CoolerEK waterblock
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 540
    Power SupplyThermaltake 850
    Keyboard Steelseries 6v2
    Headset/Speakers Plantronics 780
    OS Windows 8.1 x64

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    No, I've been running it for awhile. I just dont understand how my 3000 dollar gaming PC cant get the same speeds that some handheld work laptop gets.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array koroziv PC Specs
    koroziv PC Specs
    Motherboardmaximus VII hero
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Memory (part number)2X4 gb ddr3 at 1866
    Graphics Card #1gigabyte g1 gtx970
    CPU CoolerCM 212 hyper evo
    OS win 8.1 x64

    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    89

    Re-install network drivers (remove-reboot-install-reboot); check if you are connected 10/100/1000 (usually auto does this with no issues)

  7. #7
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,129

    is this cabled or on wifi?
    if wifi it can be the limitation on the wifi on the mobo.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array Gridsquare PC Specs
    Gridsquare PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 16gb
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC
    CPU CoolerEK waterblock
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 540
    Power SupplyThermaltake 850
    Keyboard Steelseries 6v2
    Headset/Speakers Plantronics 780
    OS Windows 8.1 x64

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Good lord, no. All cable. Cat 6.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array Gridsquare PC Specs
    Gridsquare PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 16gb
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC
    CPU CoolerEK waterblock
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 540
    Power SupplyThermaltake 850
    Keyboard Steelseries 6v2
    Headset/Speakers Plantronics 780
    OS Windows 8.1 x64

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    I am on the drivers download page on ASUS, is it under the LAN portion?

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array Gridsquare PC Specs
    Gridsquare PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII Hero
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance 16gb
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC
    CPU CoolerEK waterblock
    CaseCorsair Carbide Air 540
    Power SupplyThermaltake 850
    Keyboard Steelseries 6v2
    Headset/Speakers Plantronics 780
    OS Windows 8.1 x64

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Ok! Did the network driver uninstall/reinstall, nothing. Put a network card in the computer, still same speeds. Is it my CPU or something else that is causing my computer to just NOT ramp up these speeds? Every freaking speedtest I do slowly ramps up to 50's and then the file is done. I just dont see how the Brighthouse tech's little crappy handheld could pull 150 right out of the gate, and I've never seen triple digits yet...

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •