cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Possible to Remove G501 case badge/rog logo?

nah2015
Level 7
Hello everybody, I hope I am not posting this thread where it shouldn't be. I'm seriously considering purchasing a G501 from newegg and one of the tiniest things is bothering me about making the purchase.

I am a creative professional and need a powerful mobile station that is also thin and mobile that will allow me to run photoshop, illustrator, premier and a number of other programs simultaneously, as well as be able to handle audio engineering with many VSTs running at one time and 4k video editing. The G501 would be a perfect fit for my needs and right within my price range.

Unfortunately, even though I will probably be doing a little gaming here and there, I dont want to be walking into my meetings with a laptop that says anything but "business" when people see it.

So I am wondering if it is at all possible to remove the badge on the top of the laptop that says "Republic of Gamers". It looks like its just a highly adhesive badge and could be removed, but I also fear this would immediately void any warranty.

Anybody have any insight into this? I would greatly appreciate it!
7 REPLIES 7

leognam
Level 7
This is verbatim the only thing stopping me from buying it. I have an older G53J at the moment which has a similar logo on the back, but it's etched into the lid itself, not backlit, and much harder to see, but the obnoxious bright red on the G501 is way too gaudy for what I'm willing to drop that kind of money on. It may sound silly, but at this price range a major selling point is the build quality and aesthetic presentation - and this is a huge point against it in the latter category.

It is otherwise the perfect laptop for my needs.

cajun_azn
Level 7
For those of you who dislike the ROG logo, there is a very similar model: UX501 but I do not know its availability.

nah2015
Level 7