cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help to boot up os with my ssd

lipsofmadangel
Level 7
Im really new to this so sorry if i didnt give me much detail but please do help me, so heres my story.
Im using the notebook Asus rog g551jm the one with gtx geforce 860m with 4gb, it also has 16gb ram and 1 tb hdd. So here i wanted to do, i wanted my windows 8.1 to boot in my ssd so i bought a 120gb ssd called galax gamer. Since my laptop has only 1 drive slot i took off my optical drive and used a caddy with the ssd in it. At first i went to tutorials on how to migrate os from hdd to sdd so i did that with the use of EASEUS Todo Backup by cloning the file, the ssd is also now healthy because i have changed it in the computer manager. so i know now that my ssd is now working because i even put a game inside and it was surprisingly fast, so i decided to put my os in the ssd. Here is the thing when i went to my bios i can see from sata menu that it can be read and it is in ahci but when i go in my booting menu there is only 1 boot prioritize which is my hdd where my windows 8.1 is still in it. Ive read that to have more booting list i have to disable my security and enable csm and legacy, so i have done that and i can now see 2 booting priority which is the hdd and the other one is realtek which is obviouly not my ssd. nothing works and i still cant boot windows 8.1 in my ssd, so i have tried to swap my hdd and ssd slot so the hdd now is in where the optical drive is and ssd is in the main slot. I also reformat my ssd and cloned it again but i still cant see my ssd from the booting list. I have tried another solution by making windows 8.1 ahci by going to cmd and type a code which still did not work.

can anyone help me please i am running out of ideas and this thing already took me 2 days going to different tutorials which i dont know if it already messed up my laptop( i hope not)

again thank you
1 REPLY 1

Clintlgm
Level 14