Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: New Graphiccard

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    New Graphiccard

    Hi together

    I want to change my ROG's graphic's card from a gtx 750, to a gtx 970 or 980.
    So I've researched a lot, about changing the graphiccard, but for me as a newbie in technic, it's quite hard. So I've the bigger model of the ROG (my prduct https://www.digitec.ch/en/s1/product...-81-pc-2762748),
    so which GTX 970/980 models would work for my system? Can you guys give me examples of cards?


    Kind regards


    Lukas

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    Kamelox,
    Welcome to the ROG forums, this may be a tough one to answer, looking at the specs on that site it says you have a 230 watt power supply.
    Looking on ASUS site http://www.asus.com/us/Desktops/ROG_...pecifications/ this model is available with up to a GTX 780, so a 970 or 980 may fit in the chassis, but looking at the available power supplies, it says a 180 + 230 watt, so just by reading the specs I would say you are limited by your power supply and may not be able to upgrade, or if you are I would only go to the GTX 970, not knowing the layout of your chassis you may also be limited to the size of the graphics card and may need one of the smaller size cards. It would be worth investigating obtaining the optional power supply'

    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2470952,00.asp

    Another unusual innovation is the two external power supply units that the G20 needs run. Asus did this to shrink the chassis, but the inconvenience of finding a free power plug is multiplied twice over as a result. Asus says it's more efficient to dedicate one of the power supplies to the discrete graphics card, but that also means that the system will take up at least three power plugs: one for the display and two for the PC.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    I just opened the ROG, so by the measures, the gtx 970 would fit into the pc. As I said, I am a newbie in technic, so would this card also contains the necessary display ports?


    So here is a reference model which would probably work:

    http://www.conrad.ch/ce/de/product/1...f=searchDetail

    Here is the other one: https://www.digitec.ch/en/s1/product...-cards-2759452

    http://www.conrad.ch/ce/en/product/1...f=searchDetail
    Last edited by Kamelox; 05-08-2015 at 11:10 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •