Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 122
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    i5 4670k help overclocking

    hello guys i'm new to this forum and not sure if suppose to be posting here?

    Anyway I just bought a new Custom build computer not to long ago and I would like to get into overclocking my cpu &
    memory if possible.. I have a really good cooling setup and my cpu is delidded... I have to ask I try to overclock myself but i failed
    and was very worried cause I set to manual oc so set to manual cpu vcore set to 1.230vcore to test out 4.6ghz see if it was stable
    it was pushing 1.280vcore for some reason is that safe?? that a Major spike of vcore when i set to 1.23vcore

    here my system setup
    CPU i5 4670k 3.8ghz stock
    Mobo Asus Maximus Formula VI
    Memory Corsair Dominator GT 16gb 2000mhz
    GPU R9 280x crossfire
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos image (2).jpg  

    967648_226309300901437_955145758_n.jpg  

    1098112_221090744756626_762056840_n.jpg  

    1461054_185088881690146_2049776808_n.jpg  


  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    here is my temps when I have it at 4.7ghz 1.37vcore it reads 1.41vcore on Hwinfo.... I would like to push the cpu more to 4.8 or 4.9ghz but idk
    if going over 1.40vcore will kill my chip?? i have really good idle temps and max temps I see is 64c... but i hope someone can come across my
    post and ask me why the vcore jumps from 1.230vcore to 1.280vcore when i set it at 1.23v

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled.jpg 
Views:	10 
Size:	738.8 KB 
ID:	49120

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    bump can anyone help me please?

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,358

    Hello Raildawg06

    4.7GHz with the 4670k is a nice overclock, to hit 4.8GHz it looks like you will need roughly 1.45v. Is 63c stress testing temps or gaming temps? Either way your temps say you can try for it. If you can get 4.8GHz stable play a game and check the cpu temp, if it's at 75c or below you will be fine. If you can't get 4.8GHz stable with reasonable temps be happy with 4.7GHz.

    It's normal for the cpu to fluctuate some in voltage and yours seems to fluctuate a good bit. Are you by chance using high LLC? (Load Line Calibration)

    1.40v is a good voltage to stop at if you want your cpu to last a long time, anything over that and you're risking cpu degredation but if you can keep temps under control it will be ok. I have my 3770k at 5.0GHz with 1.45v.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	5.0GHz.jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	174.2 KB 
ID:	49132

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Hello Nate152 thanks for getting back to me ya 4.7ghz is a alright overclock for me Edit 4.7ghz at 1.360vcore is stress
    temps of 64c highest max temps I got when stress testing... I try to push it to 4.8ghz with
    vcore of 1.44vcore and it was reading on hwinfo and hwmonitor that vcore was pushing 1.476vcore... so I got afraid back it down to 4.7ghz
    with vcore of 1.370vcore and LLC set at level 5... should I try pushing my 4.8ghz with 1.45vcore cause i couldnt get stable running Realbench
    stress test program and Cinebench + Firestrike extreme... And Wow a I7 3770k at 5ghz O_o crazy lol

    I try to use the per core method but all my cores was reading the lowest which was 4.8 4.7 4.6 4.5 when I set it up and it was only reading
    4.5ghz not in order way i had it setup as
    Last edited by Raildawg06; 05-12-2015 at 05:55 PM.

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,358

    All right

    Try disabling LLC or setting it to 1 and see if that helps your cpu from over volting too much.

    Set the AI overclock to manual and sync all cores, this should get all cores at the same speed and try the cpu core ratio 48 and cpu core voltage 1.45v. If it crashes give it a little more voltage your temps say you can but over 1.50v in my opinion you are entering dangerous territory.

    it looks like 4.8GHz will be it for you but I think you can do it.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    ok I set LLC to level 1 and set cpu ratio at 4.8ghz sync all cores and tested with 1.45vcore & 1.46v 1.47v & 1.48v was not Stable :/ it was reading
    almost 1.5vcore on Hwmonitor and Hwinfo64 programs... think I reached my limit with 4.7ghz... do you know how to overclock memory? I would
    like to push my memory as well if I can

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    is there anyway I could use the Per core Method?? would like to push 2 cores at 4.8ghz and last 2 cores 4.7ghz if i can??

  9. #9
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,358

    Yes just unsync the cores and you should be able to enter each cores speed you want.

    Sure we can try to over clock your ram, but first list me the specs including the voltage.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    I have the Corsair Dominator GT 2000mhz 1.65vcore voltage when I setup XMP in bios... hey nate152 can I overclock my cpu per core method??
    I would like to push 2 cores 4.8ghz if I can?

Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •