Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Angry crossfire problem

    Hello
    I want to ask something
    I bought two graphics cards (ATI Radeon 280 x gigabytes)
    I linked the one card with my computer
    and its working perfect
    But when I linked the second card in my computer I have problem
    First of all the computer reveals black screen
    Second the computer suddently is doing Restart
    Thirdly when I open the box(central unit) of my computer ,up to motherboard (when it's working it shows to me the code (15)
    I can't understand what to do
    I can't understand where is the problem. Please I want to help me
    I need the solution
    Thanks
    Please analytical tell to me what to do
    Last edited by clood; 11-22-2014 at 12:49 AM.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    need help

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array carlcox PC Specs
    carlcox PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII HERO (BIOS 2601N)
    Processori7-4790K
    Memory (part number)16 GB Corsair Vengeance 2133MHz CMY8GX3M2A2133C11R
    Graphics Card #1IceQ X Turbo GHz Edition (H787QNT2G2M)
    Graphics Card #2IceQ X Turbo GHz Edition (H787QNT2G2M)
    Sound CardSupreme FX
    MonitorGB2488HSU-B1
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerH60i
    CaseCorsair 300R
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    OS Windows 7 SP1 x64

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    I have the exact same problem. I own a crossfire of HIS 7870 GHz Edition coupled with the Maximus VII Hero rev 1.01 (BIOS 2201).

    Pluging 1 card by itself works fine (in both 16x slots). But as soon as I add up the second card (wether linked with the crossfire bridge or not), the motherboard does two things:

    Q Code 15 + normal power + black screen (screen is powered off, no DVI signal at all)
    OR
    Q Code 15 + constant power on (approx 5s) / power off loop (approx 5s) + black screen (screen is powered off, no DVI signal at all)

    CFG:
    i7-4790K
    Maximus VII Hero
    16 GB Crosair Vengence 2133Mhz
    Samsung 840 Pro 128Go
    2 x HIS 7870 IceQ X Turbo (GHz Edition)
    Corsair RM1000 PSU

    Very important thing to know, my crossfire was working perfectly fine with both card in my previous setup couple with a Rampage Extreme.

    Has anyone any idea ?

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array carlcox PC Specs
    carlcox PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII HERO (BIOS 2601N)
    Processori7-4790K
    Memory (part number)16 GB Corsair Vengeance 2133MHz CMY8GX3M2A2133C11R
    Graphics Card #1IceQ X Turbo GHz Edition (H787QNT2G2M)
    Graphics Card #2IceQ X Turbo GHz Edition (H787QNT2G2M)
    Sound CardSupreme FX
    MonitorGB2488HSU-B1
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerH60i
    CaseCorsair 300R
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    OS Windows 7 SP1 x64

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    UPDATE: I have just tried downgrading to version 1104 of the BIOS without any success.
    However, using v1104, none of my graphic card would work with Q Code 15 again (both cards in any slot).
    So I guess waiting for a BIOS update is the only thing to do rather than opening a RMA ticket ?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array carlcox PC Specs
    carlcox PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII HERO (BIOS 2601N)
    Processori7-4790K
    Memory (part number)16 GB Corsair Vengeance 2133MHz CMY8GX3M2A2133C11R
    Graphics Card #1IceQ X Turbo GHz Edition (H787QNT2G2M)
    Graphics Card #2IceQ X Turbo GHz Edition (H787QNT2G2M)
    Sound CardSupreme FX
    MonitorGB2488HSU-B1
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerH60i
    CaseCorsair 300R
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    OS Windows 7 SP1 x64

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Update: I've recently been in touch with the Asus Support team and my conclusion right now is: they are a joke. I received replies every 48h hours asking me to run tests that I had already done and told them about... I have also pointed the technician towards this topic to let him know that I was not the only one experiencing this problem.

    After asking me to run some unreasonable tests, the technician finally answered in a very short email that I should send my motherboard back to Amazon...

    I suspect there is a compatibility problem between some graphic cards and the M7H but that technician in particular missed the point of my email. I usually play by the rules, and I have spent 4 to 5 full days runing tests trying to have this crossfire running on my mobo before contacting them. What a waste of time...

    For the 1st time, I am very disapointed in Asus!

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array carlcox PC Specs
    carlcox PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII HERO (BIOS 2601N)
    Processori7-4790K
    Memory (part number)16 GB Corsair Vengeance 2133MHz CMY8GX3M2A2133C11R
    Graphics Card #1IceQ X Turbo GHz Edition (H787QNT2G2M)
    Graphics Card #2IceQ X Turbo GHz Edition (H787QNT2G2M)
    Sound CardSupreme FX
    MonitorGB2488HSU-B1
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerH60i
    CaseCorsair 300R
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    OS Windows 7 SP1 x64

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    UPDATE: Bringing more info. Here are two videos to expose the exact problem I'm experiencing:



    On the other end, I have tried pluging a second video card (HD5450 very simple fnaless card) in the 2nd red PCIe slot. The MB passed thru POST successfully without even glancing at Q Code 15. The 2nd video card was recognized and working under windows 7 x64 without any problem.

    Asus ? Please ? Do something ????

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array carlcox PC Specs
    carlcox PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII HERO (BIOS 2601N)
    Processori7-4790K
    Memory (part number)16 GB Corsair Vengeance 2133MHz CMY8GX3M2A2133C11R
    Graphics Card #1IceQ X Turbo GHz Edition (H787QNT2G2M)
    Graphics Card #2IceQ X Turbo GHz Edition (H787QNT2G2M)
    Sound CardSupreme FX
    MonitorGB2488HSU-B1
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerH60i
    CaseCorsair 300R
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    OS Windows 7 SP1 x64

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    2nd video runing both HD7870 and facing Q Code 15:


  8. #8
    ROG Member Array carlcox PC Specs
    carlcox PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII HERO (BIOS 2601N)
    Processori7-4790K
    Memory (part number)16 GB Corsair Vengeance 2133MHz CMY8GX3M2A2133C11R
    Graphics Card #1IceQ X Turbo GHz Edition (H787QNT2G2M)
    Graphics Card #2IceQ X Turbo GHz Edition (H787QNT2G2M)
    Sound CardSupreme FX
    MonitorGB2488HSU-B1
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerH60i
    CaseCorsair 300R
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    OS Windows 7 SP1 x64

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Update: upgrading to BIOS 2304 didn't solve the problem... I'm desperate...

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array carlcox PC Specs
    carlcox PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII HERO (BIOS 2601N)
    Processori7-4790K
    Memory (part number)16 GB Corsair Vengeance 2133MHz CMY8GX3M2A2133C11R
    Graphics Card #1IceQ X Turbo GHz Edition (H787QNT2G2M)
    Graphics Card #2IceQ X Turbo GHz Edition (H787QNT2G2M)
    Sound CardSupreme FX
    MonitorGB2488HSU-B1
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerH60i
    CaseCorsair 300R
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    OS Windows 7 SP1 x64

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Hello all,

    a little update that could be helpful to everyone. Today I have managed to get the crossfire runing (finally... 6 month after receiving my VII Hero)...

    However, with all good stories come a "but" at some point. Both of my graphic cards are PCI 3.0 16x. As prescribed by Asus, running two card will downgrade the PCI lanes to 8x/8x which is not surprising.

    "But", trying to run the cards in GEN 3 mode won't give any result but the loop shown in the previous video. Setting the PCIE to AUTO in the BIOS will also give the same result.

    The "solution" is to run the cards in GEN 2 mode and the crossfire firedup without any problem. However, as an XPLANE user, I have better performances with 1 card running in GEN 3 than 2 running in GEN 2.

    Eventhough I already know XPLANE is not Crossfire/SLI optimized due to its non necessity for that kind of sim. If any member / Asus tech has a clue about how to get them running in GEN 3, please let me know.

    Peace out!

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array carlcox PC Specs
    carlcox PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VII HERO (BIOS 2601N)
    Processori7-4790K
    Memory (part number)16 GB Corsair Vengeance 2133MHz CMY8GX3M2A2133C11R
    Graphics Card #1IceQ X Turbo GHz Edition (H787QNT2G2M)
    Graphics Card #2IceQ X Turbo GHz Edition (H787QNT2G2M)
    Sound CardSupreme FX
    MonitorGB2488HSU-B1
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerH60i
    CaseCorsair 300R
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei
    OS Windows 7 SP1 x64

    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Update:

    The first card is running in GEN3 and the second card is running in GEN2. The mobo still fires up.

    Running the first card in GEN2 and the second card in GEN3 will however result in a Q Code 15.

    Who knows...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •