Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Should I Use Y Splitter Cable on Corsair H110 Cooling

    I just bought 2 new Noctua NF A14 PWM 140mm fans and after looking at my rig a year later from store bought and store built, I see that the Corsair H110 pump is running on the CPU-Fan header with the BIOS setting set to turbo and one of the PWM fans are on the CPU-OPT and the other PWM fan is on the OPT-Fan 3 but when I installed the new fans I got an error message at post about "CPU fan error!" Press F1 to run setup, in the BIOS the OPT Fan 3 was disabled then I enabled it and my rig is nice and quiet I probably didn't need to buy new fans after all, I have not changed any wiring as I did what was done from the shop with the new fans and I cant think why I did not get an error message before... anyway (sorry for the long story) should I put the H110 direct to the power supply and the two PWM fans on: CPU - Fan header and CPU - OPT? Or should I use a Y splitter and use the CPU Fan header? Will two fans on the CPU header cause any power/amps problems that will slow down the max fan rpm? I have also with my new fans installed a ROG front base gaming panel so I will use it to control the fan speeds for the PWM fans and case fans.

    Lastly, in the BIOS there is a fan control for "CPU Q-fan" with a profile (set to turbo) I guess this is for both the CPU header and the CPU OPT as I cant find a setting for CPU OPT, is this correct?

    Im using:

    Rampage 4 Black edition Motherboard
    Noctua NF-A14 PWM 1500rpm

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array sectionate PC Specs
    sectionate PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair V Formula
    Processor8350 - 1090T
    Memory (part number)G Skill Sniper F3-14900CL9-4GBSR
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX660-DC2O-2GD5
    MonitorAcer GD235HZ - ViewSonic VX2439wm - SyncMaster P2350
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseHAF 932
    Power SupplyCorsair Professional HX850
    Mouse Zowie EC1 eVo
    OS Microsoft Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
    sectionate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    57
    Posts
    878

    Your "y" cables should be plugged directly into cooler

    http://www.corsair.com/~/media/Corsa...A_H110_QSG.pdf
    Crosshair IV 1090T 4093.7 - Crosshair V FX - 8350 Batch # 1243PGT 4.422MHz - 4816.08 MHz 1.5v - GSKILL F3-14900CL9D-8GBSR(x2)1087.6 11-12-10 1.5volts - ViewSonic VX2439wm - Acer GD235HZ - SyncMaster P2350 - PowerColor Red Devil RX 480 8GBD5-3DH/OC - Current Mode: 5760 x 1080 - (retired) ASUS GTX660DC2O2GD5 - Nvidia 3D Vision Wired - HAF 932 - Corsair HX850 - Corsair H100i - latest quakelive.com - Day thirteen 60fps - as always I'm powered by Futurelooks.com

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array sectionate PC Specs
    sectionate PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair V Formula
    Processor8350 - 1090T
    Memory (part number)G Skill Sniper F3-14900CL9-4GBSR
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX660-DC2O-2GD5
    MonitorAcer GD235HZ - ViewSonic VX2439wm - SyncMaster P2350
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i
    CaseHAF 932
    Power SupplyCorsair Professional HX850
    Mouse Zowie EC1 eVo
    OS Microsoft Windows 7 Enterprise 64bit
    sectionate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    57
    Posts
    878

    Crosshair IV 1090T 4093.7 - Crosshair V FX - 8350 Batch # 1243PGT 4.422MHz - 4816.08 MHz 1.5v - GSKILL F3-14900CL9D-8GBSR(x2)1087.6 11-12-10 1.5volts - ViewSonic VX2439wm - Acer GD235HZ - SyncMaster P2350 - PowerColor Red Devil RX 480 8GBD5-3DH/OC - Current Mode: 5760 x 1080 - (retired) ASUS GTX660DC2O2GD5 - Nvidia 3D Vision Wired - HAF 932 - Corsair HX850 - Corsair H100i - latest quakelive.com - Day thirteen 60fps - as always I'm powered by Futurelooks.com

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Quote Originally Posted by sectionate View Post
    Your "y" cables should be plugged directly into cooler

    http://www.corsair.com/~/media/Corsa...A_H110_QSG.pdf
    I would but there is no way to plug the fans into the cooler the H110 only has a cable for power to the pump. In the manual it says to plug the cooler into the motherboard I was thinking of using an OPT Fan header and then use the radiator fans with the CPU and CPU_OPT. I originaly asked if I should use the power supply for the H110 but it did not come with an adapter for molex so this is why I might use an OPT Fan option. I am having problems with the ROG front base gaming panel rather I should say it is slowing down my pc when rendering in Blender 3D probably because I have to setup Ai suite 3 as I don't know how so I am in the process to learn from its manual to see if it will stop the CPU at idle going to 1.2 GHz and never reaching its turbo speed of 3.9GHz. Other people have had nothing but trouble getting their front base panel to work luckily mine works after installing a driver and Ai suite 3 though I don't like Ai suite 3 much.

  5. #5
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    as long as the fans is not over 1A total you can use a fan splitter on them. but you may only have 100% fan speed when you connect them to the mobo fan headers from what i know.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Quote Originally Posted by kkn View Post
    as long as the fans is not over 1A total you can use a fan splitter on them. but you may only have 100% fan speed when you connect them to the mobo fan headers from what i know.
    Is that max input power or input current sorry I don't know much about amps/current I bought them here: http://www.scorptec.com.au/product/C...225-NF-A14-PWM

    it has a specs page and at the bottom is the max input power and current, going by the page above would I be safe to use two fans on the CPU header?

  7. #7
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,112

    max input current on those 2 fans is around 0.26Amps totaly on a Y splitter.
    so you can use those.
    max output on each header on the mobo is 1amp.
    so remember to get a 4 pin splitter if so. ( since you have 4 pin fans )

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •