Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array TSportM PC Specs
    TSportM PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G751JY
    MotherboardRampage Vi extreme Encore X299
    Processor10980XE@5.1ghz-1.360v
    Memory (part number)gskill ddr4 Royal gold 3600@3800
    Graphics Card #1Geforce RTX 3090@2100mhz
    Sound Cardonboard
    Monitor32:9 samsung C49H/ 2X asus 27 / 1X LG34
    Storage #1Samsung 970EvoPlus 1TB
    Storage #24xraid0 1tb wd black / 2Xsamsung SSD 850evo 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom LOOP
    CaseCorsair 1000D
    Power SupplyCorsair 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS full Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset AStro A50
    Mouse Pad ASUS SHEATH
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z5500 digital
    OS windows 10 pro 64bit
    Network Routerasus GT - AX11000
    TSportM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    153

    rampage V extreme X99 dedicated physx

    hello, could some one share same light i have 2 Dcii 780ti in sli and i have a 750ti here that i want to put as a dedicated physx card

    i have a 28 lane cpu the 5820k


    could i use the red pci E in the middle of the sli ? or the bottom one ?

    here is the setup

    [Imgur](http://i.imgur.com/opWdO5n.jpg)

    regards

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array TSportM PC Specs
    TSportM PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G751JY
    MotherboardRampage Vi extreme Encore X299
    Processor10980XE@5.1ghz-1.360v
    Memory (part number)gskill ddr4 Royal gold 3600@3800
    Graphics Card #1Geforce RTX 3090@2100mhz
    Sound Cardonboard
    Monitor32:9 samsung C49H/ 2X asus 27 / 1X LG34
    Storage #1Samsung 970EvoPlus 1TB
    Storage #24xraid0 1tb wd black / 2Xsamsung SSD 850evo 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom LOOP
    CaseCorsair 1000D
    Power SupplyCorsair 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS full Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset AStro A50
    Mouse Pad ASUS SHEATH
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z5500 digital
    OS windows 10 pro 64bit
    Network Routerasus GT - AX11000
    TSportM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    153

    any help please ? any one

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    The 5820 does not have enough pcie lanes to run 3 Nvidia cards at the same time, I don't believe the configuration you are looking to run is an option for you. You could try the bottom slot but I don't thin it will work

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    Quote Originally Posted by TSportM View Post
    could i use the red pci E in the middle of the sli ? or the bottom one ?
    You can use the middle red PCIe lane. 5820K users do not have access to the last PCIe lane.

    As a sidenote, if you populate the second PCIe lane, your GPUs will drop from x16/x8 to x8/x8.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array TSportM PC Specs
    TSportM PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G751JY
    MotherboardRampage Vi extreme Encore X299
    Processor10980XE@5.1ghz-1.360v
    Memory (part number)gskill ddr4 Royal gold 3600@3800
    Graphics Card #1Geforce RTX 3090@2100mhz
    Sound Cardonboard
    Monitor32:9 samsung C49H/ 2X asus 27 / 1X LG34
    Storage #1Samsung 970EvoPlus 1TB
    Storage #24xraid0 1tb wd black / 2Xsamsung SSD 850evo 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom LOOP
    CaseCorsair 1000D
    Power SupplyCorsair 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS full Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset AStro A50
    Mouse Pad ASUS SHEATH
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z5500 digital
    OS windows 10 pro 64bit
    Network Routerasus GT - AX11000
    TSportM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    153

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    The 5820 does not have enough pcie lanes to run 3 Nvidia cards at the same time, I don't believe the configuration you are looking to run is an option for you. You could try the bottom slot but I don't thin it will work
    the 5820K is a 28 lane CPU there four is capable of 3 way SLI

    right now i have on the config 16X on the first GPU and 8X on the second one

    on pci express gen 3 8X to 16X is irrelevant on todays gpu´s

    cheers

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,718

    The 5820K has enough lanes to run x8/x8/x8, yes? Configure your slots as x8 (not x16) in the EUFI/BIOS.

    Although I think your x16/x8 780Ti cards might give more fps overall without the 750Ti PhysX onboard. Their specs are too mismatched, that wimpy old 750Ti would hold you down more than it would help out. Unless you play the few game titles which lean very heavily on PhysX.
    Last edited by Korth; 05-26-2015 at 02:52 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,690

    I investigated using an old card (570) with SLI 680s and SLI Titans once....found it no help or an actual decrease in performance since the old card did not run PhysX as well as the new cards and in SLI it was rarely the case that the second card was so loaded it needed help running PhysX.

    Guess It will depend on how close to the limit you are pushing the 780tis

    As has been said last slot is not an option so slot between SLI would be needed and then the airflow compromise etc might make this a fairly useless enterprise.

    Sell the card and put the money towards watercooling for the GPUs would be the best performance increase

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array avsquare PC Specs
    avsquare PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage V Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-5930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (4x4GB) DDR4 2666MHz
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 980 Ti G1 Gaming
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster E5
    MonitorDell U2713HM x 1 | Dell U2340L x 2
    Storage #1Samsung 840 EVO SSD 250GB
    Storage #2WD Green 2TB x 2 in RAID 1
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H100i GTX
    CaseCorsair Carbide Series Air 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Edition
    Mouse Logitech G600
    Headset Audio Technica ATH-A900X LTD | Razer Tiamat 7.1
    OS Windows 8.1 64bit

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    The 5820K has enough lanes to run x8/x8/x8, yes? Configure your slots as x8 (not x16) in the EUFI/BIOS.

    Although I think your x16/x8 780Ti cards might give more fps overall without the 750Ti PhysX onboard. Their specs are too mismatched, that wimpy old 750Ti would hold you down more than it would help out. Unless you play the few game titles which lean very heavily on PhysX.
    iirc if you plug the cards as per manual it will auto configure.

    2 cards: goes to to 1st and 3rd red slot for x16/x8 config
    3 cards: goes to first 3 red slots for x8/x8/x8 automatically

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •