cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

4930k on a RIVBE, need cooling and OC advice

Madmaxneo
Level 8
I am relatively new to OCing but this is my second rig for that. My first attempt was with a Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66ghz with a max OC of 3.52 ghz and a stable OC of 3.4ghz all on air.
For my CPU cooler I am using a Swiftech H240x.
I am currently in the process of OCing and am going to get the XSPC Rampage 4 Black Waterblock Set but I am not sure what exactly I need when it comes to the fittings and what size tubing I need, or for that matter what size is the best for my set up.
Thanks ahead.
My system is in my profile and once I figure out how to I will put it in my sig.

Bruce
23 REPLIES 23

Nate152
Thank you for making a new thread.

The first thing you need to decide is what size of tubing you want to use. I was looking at the swiftech page and it says if you want to upgrade to larger tubing you will need this adapter for the outlet port then you screw a barb into it. I suppose the inlet port is just a standard G1/4" barb, you'll want to check that.

http://www.swiftech.com/G1/4-ADAPTER.aspx

1/2" x 3/4" is the largest tubing available and makes your system look beefier, they also say the larger tubing helps increase flow but how much I'm not sure. The fittings and water blocks is what restricts flow.

So you'll want to use barbs and clamps on the swiftech h240x and if you want you can use compression fittings on the water blocks for a nicer look.

You can also use uv tubing and uv coolant in the color of your choice and add some uv lights if you want or just use plain old distilled water, the choice is yours.

Tubing choices can be 3/8" x 5/8" or the largest 1/2" x 3/4" this will determine what size fittings you'll need.

Madmaxneo
Level 8