Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Fan Xpert Not Saving User Profile

    Hello. I recently changed my CPU cooler to a Corsair H105, but the fans are a bit noisy. I set the fan curve in user profile in AI Suite 2/Fan Xpert, so it doesn't spin up as high when idle, but it won't save the curve. Every time I turn my PC back in, it's reverted to the default curve, and I have to change it each time.
    I have the latest version of AI Suite 2 (1.01.04).

    What can I do?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    432

    Hi OneSullenBrit,

    This could be the Corsair fans, please note that Corsair fans don't follow the normal Intel Fan Specifications so that's the reason why their fans have a lot of compatibility issues with 3rd party fan control software.

    I had similar issues for my Corsair H110i but if you use their own software it doesn't have any problems saving the settings and controlling the fan speed.

    Cheers.
    Last edited by InfernoStorm; 06-13-2015 at 01:41 AM.

  3. #3
    iron man Array kkn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    243
    Posts
    6,131

    the 105 does not have a link like the H110i and H100i have.
    so you cant use it features.
    best is to set it up inside bios if so.
    it all comes down to if it is 3 or 4 fins fans.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    It took me a week of searching to figure out how to deal with fan profiles with this POS software. As long as you don't mind having one profile, here's what I learned:

    1. Find where the fan profiles are stored on your PC for your version of AIS. For AIS 3, it was
    c:\ProgramData\ASUS\DIP\FaxXpert\Profiles

    OR, you can just search for a file called "Silent (ASUS).xml" (or one of the default profile names).

    2. In AIS, create the profile you want and save it as yours, say "My Fan".

    3. In the same folder, you should now see a new file called "My Fan.xml". If you do, you've got the right folder. If not, keep on searching

    4. Create a sub-folder with a name of your choice and copy the 3 stock profiles there as a backup. I keep copies on a separate disk as well just in case.

    5. Exit AIS and delete the 3 stock profile files. I have Silent (ASUS).xml, Standard (ASUS).xml, and Turbo(ASUS).xml.

    6. Copy your file "My Fan.xml" 3 times and rename each one to the same file names as the stock.

    No matter what fan profile AIS decides to pick, you now know it will effectively use your profile all the time.

    Note: can't hurt to say that if you change your "My Fan" profile, you have to repeat the delete/copy process.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    432

    Quote Originally Posted by JimBob_SF View Post
    It took me a week of searching to figure out how to deal with fan profiles with this POS software. As long as you don't mind having one profile, here's what I learned:

    1. Find where the fan profiles are stored on your PC for your version of AIS. For AIS 3, it was
    c:\ProgramData\ASUS\DIP\FaxXpert\Profiles

    OR, you can just search for a file called "Silent (ASUS).xml" (or one of the default profile names).

    2. In AIS, create the profile you want and save it as yours, say "My Fan".

    3. In the same folder, you should now see a new file called "My Fan.xml". If you do, you've got the right folder. If not, keep on searching

    4. Create a sub-folder with a name of your choice and copy the 3 stock profiles there as a backup. I keep copies on a separate disk as well just in case.

    5. Exit AIS and delete the 3 stock profile files. I have Silent (ASUS).xml, Standard (ASUS).xml, and Turbo(ASUS).xml.

    6. Copy your file "My Fan.xml" 3 times and rename each one to the same file names as the stock.

    No matter what fan profile AIS decides to pick, you now know it will effectively use your profile all the time.

    Note: can't hurt to say that if you change your "My Fan" profile, you have to repeat the delete/copy process.
    Thanks for the walk-through on how to fix this problem, very informative.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by InfernoStorm View Post
    Thanks for the walk-through on how to fix this problem, very informative.
    I'm not sure this works anymore....seems like it doesn't matter what you overwrite for the standard, silent and turbo presets, it still manages to change the fan profiles regardless. I even confirmed that the file size on those three 'fake' presets are the the same as my settings, but AI Suite still uses its own values. I just wish the damn interface would at least confirm what profile is currently selected, and allow my preset to be one of the ones that is available on the little corner clogger pop up shortcut thingy...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •