cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G74Sx Overclocking button help

k2roo
Level 7
Hi all, i am new to the ROG scene and i need a little help without sounding like a noob. I just purchased a G74Sx and i am more than happy, however, i didnt get a manual or anything to tell me how to use the O/C button next to the power on/off button. I have pressed the button a few times and nothing happens, no light comes on and nothing changes on my CPU gadget monitor. How do i use this? I am pretty sure i have updated the laptop's drivers but maybe i am missing something. Are there drivers or a program needed to use this feature/button? And how do i use it?
Also another really annoying thing is that when i type, i frequently rest my palm on the mouse pad and it stuffs my text up (quite frustrating), can this pad be turned on and off?
20 REPLIES 20

fostert
Level 12
That button is not an OC button at all: it is linked to cycle through the power4gear profiles, which are various power saving modes (performance, quiet, entertainment, battery-save). It does nothing else, and I think if you don't have ATK and power4gear installed on your notebook, it does nothing period.

Yes, i get the hand-touching-the-touchpad problem messing up my typing all the time. You can turn the touchpad off in the BIOS on bootup, or if you use Windows, the ASUS key bindings in ATK allow you to turn it on/off with fn+F9. Since I use linux I can only turn the darn thing off via BIOS upon bootup. Annoying.
--
G74SX-CST1-CBIL, i7 2630QM 2GHz
32GB DDR3 RAM @1333MHz
GTX560M 3GB DDR5 (192 bit)
17.3" LED 1920x1080
Sentelic TP, BIOS 203
Debian Linux Wheezy (Testing) Kernel 3.2, NVIDIA 295.40

fostert wrote: