Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    G750jz Does replacement screen stop display flickering?

    Can anyone confirm whether replacing the screen (and which one was used) solves the flickering / rolling of the screen due to power supply or refresh rate or whichever it is?

    Ironically, the screen flicker also goes away when the Intel drivers are uninstalled, and the moment they are reinstalled, and the screen refreshes, the flicker returns. To the best of my knowledge, I didn't used to have a problem with the flicker, but about 6 weeks ago, it suddenly appeared, along with that subtle moire pattern, like little pyramids that show up when displaying some darker colors. I thought I had gotten of that pattern

    I know the current workarounds are brightness up and lower refresh rate to 40, but I am hoping for a longer term solution.

    Also, I rolled my display drivers back to the official Asus ones for the G750jz, in the hopes that would help, but not. Is there any reason not to use the latest Nvidia and Intel drivers, or are there some that we definitely know work?

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Why would you wnat Windows 10 in the first place. IMHO Windows 10 Sucks! It would be a cold day in hell before I put 10 on any Desktop Or Laptop!

    As far as the Flickering Make sure you are running your display @ 60hz or higher if possible.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,644

    No no no. You don't lower your refresh down to 40. That kind of makes it worse.

    You kept your brightness up, that's good. Keeping it up at max will minimise the flickering.

    To completely remove it, if you have a Chi Mei or AUO panel it depends.. however both safely can take a refresh overclock up to 75Hz. (That's what I'm running right now, some like to go up to 90 or 100.)

    Go to NVidia panel, make a custom resolution and just edit the refresh rate while leaving all the other settings alone.

    Once you've done this, remember to change your settings in Asus' GPU Tweak to reflect on it. 75Hz
    Gosh Blue Lady.. ❤

    JOIN THE ASUS T-SHOOT DISCORD <-- Clicky!

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Quote Originally Posted by hozer View Post
    Why would you wnat Windows 10 in the first place. IMHO Windows 10 Sucks! It would be a cold day in hell before I put 10 on any Desktop Or Laptop!

    As far as the Flickering Make sure you are running your display @ 60hz or higher if possible.
    No, not suggesting or trying to use Windows 10, just wondering whether changing out the screen hardware would help with the flickering. Can't go above 60Hz with Optimus.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Quote Originally Posted by Darnassus View Post
    No no no. You don't lower your refresh down to 40. That kind of makes it worse.

    You kept your brightness up, that's good. Keeping it up at max will minimise the flickering.

    To completely remove it, if you have a Chi Mei or AUO panel it depends.. however both safely can take a refresh overclock up to 75Hz. (That's what I'm running right now, some like to go up to 90 or 100.)

    Go to NVidia panel, make a custom resolution and just edit the refresh rate while leaving all the other settings alone.

    Once you've done this, remember to change your settings in Asus' GPU Tweak to reflect on it. 75Hz
    To the best of my understanding, your machine (JX) doesn't use Optimus, while mine (JZ) does. That limits the screen refresh rate to 40Hz or 60Hz max. I did try the custommodeapp.exe in windows/system32, but it won't let me set anything else, always gives a 'bandwidth' error. I really just want to know if there is a screen that would work better with the Optimus refresh rate since it appears that I can't change that.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,644

    Quote Originally Posted by Sean72 View Post
    To the best of my understanding, your machine (JX) doesn't use Optimus, while mine (JZ) does. That limits the screen refresh rate to 40Hz or 60Hz max. I did try the custommodeapp.exe in windows/system32, but it won't let me set anything else, always gives a 'bandwidth' error. I really just want to know if there is a screen that would work better with the Optimus refresh rate since it appears that I can't change that.
    OH WHOOPS! Sorry about that. I've been away for a while and forgot that the second generation G750's had Gaytimus on them. I forgot the fix for it.. sorry I couldn't be anymore help, Sean.
    Gosh Blue Lady.. ❤

    JOIN THE ASUS T-SHOOT DISCORD <-- Clicky!

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    25

    Hey, no sweat. I just hoped for a second that there was a solution. My first G750 was a model without Optimus, but it had a fault and I had to return it. I thought replacing it with the JZ for the Nvidia 880 was a smart move, but regret ending up with Optimus. I'm still a fan of Asus, but a model with Optimus, never again...

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Darnassus PC Specs
    Darnassus PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VS -=-=- G750JX
    MotherboardASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G752VS (U3E1) -=-=- ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. G750JX (SOCKET 0)
    Processori7 6700HQ @ 2.60GHz -=-=- i7-4700HQ CPU @ 2.40GHz - 3.40GHz
    Memory (part number)2x16gb (M471A2K43BB1-CRC) -=-=- 2x8gb (HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB)
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1070 (8GB) -=-=- GTX 770M (3GB)
    Sound CardRealtek High Definition Audio / NVIDIA High Definition Audio
    MonitorGSync IPS 75HZ -=-=- Chi Mei 60Hz (Overclocked to 85Hz)
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB x2 -=-=- LITEONIT LCS-256M6S
    Storage #2HGST HTS721010A9E630 -=-=- ST1000LM024 HN-M101MBB
    CPU CoolerStock -=-=- Stock
    CaseStock -=-=- Stock
    Power SupplyStock -=-=- Stock
    Keyboard Stock -=-=- Stock
    Mouse Razer Naga Epic 1st Generation
    Headset SPH 2500
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    OS Winblows 10 Pro -=-=- Winblows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterCG3000v2
    Darnassus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    61
    Posts
    1,644

    Luckily it's better in the 751 series.. somewhat.
    Gosh Blue Lady.. ❤

    JOIN THE ASUS T-SHOOT DISCORD <-- Clicky!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •