Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Neon Lights!

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Question Neon Lights!

    Hey all, basically i have lying around 2 neon lights and i tried pluggin it into random slots where it can be fitted although the neon lights don't turn on. so my question is where on the Maximus IV Extreme Z motherboard do i plug in the neon lights to??

    Pics would be awesome =P

    Thanks yall

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    164

    It all depends exactly what you have. What are they specifically made for? For example I have 12" red neon lights with no connector on them, I know that I can use them though because they are for a car i.e. 12v. I can't give you advice on how to use yours as I don't know what they are made for, their voltage requirements, or what type of plug attached if there is one at all. Mine don't have a plug, but being they are 12v I can attach them to a fan connector and use a fan power socket. but like I said, not knowing anything about yours I can't say what you should do.
    Crosshair V Formula 990FX 0506 Bios - Phenom II X6 1100T - Gskill Sniper 1600MHz (4x4GB) - Saphire Radeon 6770 - OCZ Agility 3 60GB - WD Black 1TB - Cooler Master V6GT - Antec Dark Fleet 85 - Antec CP-850 - Windows 7 Ultimate 64

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array WHO_FARTED? PC Specs
    WHO_FARTED? PC Specs
    Motherboardmax 8 4mula
    Processor6700k
    Memory (part number)g.skill rgb trident z 2x8gb
    Graphics Card #1zotac artic storm gtx1080
    Sound Cardonboard
    Monitor34" rog ultra wide
    Storage #11.2tb intel 750 aic
    CPU Coolercustom loop
    Power Supplycorsair hx750i
    WHO_FARTED?'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    165

    a pic of lights and connector would help a bunch....if u can.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0032.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	154.1 KB 
ID:	4876Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0035.jpg 
Views:	31 
Size:	156.5 KB 
ID:	4877Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0036.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	154.8 KB 
ID:	4878

    ok ive taken pics, its 3 pins
    hope that helps =]

    Tony

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0034.jpg 
Views:	28 
Size:	148.2 KB 
ID:	4879

    heres a more focused pics

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    you are missing the Invertor for them they need about 300v try searching for Cold-cathode invertor

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Kool ill try find the cables and the invertor at my local store. whats the invertor for though?

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32


  9. #9
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    318
    Posts
    7,722

    Duh! Good catch Ray! *smacks forehead*

    Spiral, your power supply outputs 12V which is not correct for those. Neon/cold cathode are high voltage. At one time I'm sure there was an inverter they connected to which steps up the voltage. Completely ignore my above post and I'm actually going to delete it so that nobody else follows that advice.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    hmmm i'm guessing a computer store will know what a cold cathode invertor 300v then? how much they cost?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •