Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Lockups & blue screen

    I'm sort of new to this, but have always been involved with computers since I bought a Tandy 1000 a few years ago...ha! Recently I bought a Maximus IV gene-Z mother board to use with Lightroom 3. I had always wanted to a computer together, and so I purchased the components and after 2 days I finally got everything up and running. Recently however I have been getting alot of lockups and then a blue screen telling me that certain memory locations will be dumped to disk. It usually happens after I boot up or wake the machine up from a sleep. I've noticed that when I shut the machine down, if I don't turn off the button on the power supply, usually a few minutes after I boot and everything loads the machine locks up and I get the familiar blue screen. If I turn off the power on the power supply it usually doesn't happen..... I wondering if any one can give me some ideas as to how to solve this problem?

    I am running Windows 7 64 professional, BIOS 0902 recently updated from 0402. 12 gigs of ram Corsair at 1333. 2 banks of 4 gigs, and 2 banks of 2 gigs, both rated at 1600. The power requiredments are different 1.5 for the 4 gig, and 1.65 for the 2 gig. I have two Seagate 1 TB baracuda drives, 7500 rpm, in a 0 raid array, the operating system is running from these drives, and a 2 TB seagate baracuda 5900 rpm used for the digital photo database......No overclocking......If any one has any suggestions I'd be glad for the advice..... Thanks....!
    Last edited by WestBrow55; 12-11-2011 at 07:25 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    26
    Posts
    163

    What is the BSOD error number that comes up?
    As a general rule it is not good to mix memory modules..

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array digmeahole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    121

    Download this program http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/appcrashview.zip run it and post results. It will highlight the poss driver or program that is causing the issue. Try and post a photo of the results...when results are showing hit print screen button the open paint program and click past button save the file as a jpeg and post it here.

    Also read this as you need your pc to be set up like this to read the files. If it is not then wait untill the next bsod to occur before running the program


    http://www.pchell.com/support/minidumps.shtml


    Quote Originally Posted by WestBrow55 View Post
    I'm sort of new to this, but have always been involved with computers since I bought a Tandy 1000 a few years ago...ha! Recently I bought a Maximus IV gene-Z mother board to use with Lightroom 3. I had always wanted to a computer together, and so I purchased the components and after 2 days I finally got everything up and running. Recently however I have been getting alot of lockups and then a blue screen telling me that certain memory locations will be dumped to disk. It usually happens after I boot up or wake the machine up from a sleep. I've noticed that when I shut the machine down, if I don't turn off the button on the power supply, usually a few minutes after I boot and everything loads the machine locks up and I get the familiar blue screen. If I turn off the power on the power supply it usually doesn't happen..... I wondering if any one can give me some ideas as to how to solve this problem?

    I am running Windows 7 64 professional, BIOS 0902 recently updated from 0402. 12 gigs of ram Corsair at 1333. 2 banks of 4 gigs, and 2 banks of 2 gigs, both rated at 1600. The power requiredments are different 1.5 for the 4 gig, and 1.65 for the 2 gig. I have two Seagate 1 TB baracuda drives, 7500 rpm, in a 0 raid array, the operating system is running from these drives, and a 2 TB seagate baracuda 5900 rpm used for the digital photo database......No overclocking......If any one has any suggestions I'd be glad for the advice..... Thanks....!
    Last edited by digmeahole; 12-11-2011 at 08:51 PM.
    "Those who are willing to give up freedom for security deserve neither"
    Ben Franklin

    Asus Maximus IV Extreme Z
    Intel I7-2700K OC to 4.7 @ 1.330 volts
    2X EVGA 660TI SLI
    G.Skill Ripjaws Z 2133Mhz
    2x Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD. Raid 0. 1 500gb WD VelociRaptor
    Antec Gamers edition Bronze rated PSU 750 Watts
    Corsair H80 Closed loop CPU cooler
    Dragon Test Bench Case

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Spathi PC Specs
    Spathi PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IV Gene-Z
    Processori7 2600k
    Memory (part number)16G Sniper F3-12800CL9D-8GBSR2 1.25V
    Graphics Card #1Galax GTX 980 V2
    Monitor2x AOC 2795e MVA
    Storage #16x M4 500Gig
    CPU CoolerMini NinJa Passive
    CaseAntec NSK2480B - Black Micro ATX
    Power SupplyAntec EarthWatts EA-380D
    Keyboard SteelKeys 7G
    Headset x-box headset
    OS Windows 7
    Network RouterNF3ADV
    Accessory #1 2x ENERMAX T.B SILENCE
    Accessory #2 CyberPower BRICs LCD 650 VA / 390 Watts UPS

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    392

    You need to install the latest "Intel Rapid Storage Technology (Intel RST)" or the computer puts the drives to sleep/lowpower the wrong way or something like that.

    Intel web site search seems to be having issues today though.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I'm sorry it has taken me so long to reply to your advice. I downloaded the program you suggested and have run it multiple times as the system has crashed numerous times. I can't seem to find a pattern and it has been multiple programs that have caused the system to crash. I get messages that different programs have stopped working, Internet explorer, Lightroom 3 and also some systems programs such as ccSvcHst.exe as well as my d-link usb wifi program AirNcfg.exe, as well as Rundll32.exe. I'm not exactly what you meant by post code. When the system crashes I get the blue screen which scrolls by quickly and then a black screen before the reboot.....I installed new virus software as I thought that was the problem, but PC Tools causes a crash everytime I run the drive update program.....sometimes when booting up and the PC Tools downloads the new virus definitions it crashes. I'm beginning to think I got a bad board or its a hardware problem....! I'd like to get a handle on this....appreciate your help...!

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Have you tried running on just the 4 gigs of memory or just on the 2 ?

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Well I am not trying to run the 8 gigs without the 4 gigs, the voltage for the two 4's is 1.5 and the two 2's is 1.65....

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    I'm not sure what you mean by BSOD error....when the blue screen comes up it scrolls by pretty fast...but not sure that is what you are talking about?

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array digmeahole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    121

    Cant be done two sep requirements thats was causing your issues remove a set an all should be cured.

    Quote Originally Posted by WestBrow55 View Post
    Well I am not trying to run the 8 gigs without the 4 gigs, the voltage for the two 4's is 1.5 and the two 2's is 1.65....
    "Those who are willing to give up freedom for security deserve neither"
    Ben Franklin

    Asus Maximus IV Extreme Z
    Intel I7-2700K OC to 4.7 @ 1.330 volts
    2X EVGA 660TI SLI
    G.Skill Ripjaws Z 2133Mhz
    2x Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD. Raid 0. 1 500gb WD VelociRaptor
    Antec Gamers edition Bronze rated PSU 750 Watts
    Corsair H80 Closed loop CPU cooler
    Dragon Test Bench Case

  10. #10
    TeamROG Overclocking Member Array The Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    84

    What voltage do you have the ram set at?
    Praetor
    » i7 990X 3101A239
    » Asus Rampage III Black Edition
    » Asus GTX 470 & 570 Tri-SLI or Three Sapphire 5850's CFX
    » 6GB Corsair Dominator GT TR3X6G1866C7GTF
    » Corsiar Force Series 180GB
    » CORSAIR Professional Series AX1200 1200W
    » Microcool Banchetto 101
    Defiant
    » G74SX » 16GB ram » Corsiar Force Series 180GB » 750GB Seagate » Blu-ray


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •