cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

[Help] Overclock i7 5820k - bad results and warm temperature

Aquila
Level 7
Hey

I bought recently a brand new i7 5820k to go with this fantastic motherboard.
Today I decided to work a little bit on my overclock, but I have really bad results and I'm not sure about where is the problem.
First, I'm doing everything from the bios, not sure if it's mandatory but I'm always thinking it's better. My first try was 4.5 Ghz with 1.3 v and the PC instantly crash when I launch a stress test (I'm using OCCT). I tried 4.4 Ghz which is unstable and my CPU get really warm. Right now I'm running 4.2 Ghz with 1.2 v which work fine.
So, I also got a problem with temperature. I have a Cooler Master Cosmos II and my cooling system is a Corsair H110, it should cool down my CPU pretty well but I don't have so great results either. With my current setting, my CPU go up to 83°C according to OCCT and 75°C according to AI suite 3.

My fan configuration is 1 front fan and 2 side fan getting the air in, and 1 back fan + 2 top fan (with water cooling radiator) getting the air out

Thanks a lot for helping me !
Maxime
7 REPLIES 7

kkn
Level 14
list full build specs.

Aquila
Level 7
CPU : i7 5820k with Corsair H110
MB : Rampage V extreme (build 1401)
RAM : 2*4 GB corsair
GC : R9 280x o/c
Storage : SSD + HDD
Case : Cooler Master Cosmos II
Fans : All BeQuiet pwm except back and front

GoNz0-
Level 10
read the OC guide, try repasting the heatsink, and above all your mileage may vary as this is a CPU sold at a set speed that you are taking above said set speed so 100mhz above stock may be unstable on a poor cpu..

imo going straight in at 4.5 is foolish. try 4, then 4.2.

Chino
Level 15
Overclocking potential varies from CPU to CPU. Putting 100% load on your CPU will certainly increase your temperature to its peak. Not sure how capable your H110 is to be able to cope with the heat.

Aquila
Level 7
Thanks for your answers !