Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array [TRG] Kicker PC Specs
    [TRG] Kicker PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator 2800
    Graphics Card #1ROG 980 Ti Poseidon
    Graphics Card #2ROG 980 Ti Poseidon
    Monitor27" ROG Swift
    Storage #1Samsung SM951 m.2 256 gig
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512gig
    CPU CoolerEK RE5 Monoblock
    CaseMM U2-UFO
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i + Corsair AX760i
    OS Win 10
    [TRG] Kicker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    79

    Support: Bios 1502 no longer sees my m.2

    Motherboard: Rampage V extreme

    UEFI Version: Unsure. What ever came with the motherboard

    CPU:5930k

    Memory kit part number (s) and amount in GB: CMD16GX4M4A2800C16 16GB

    GPU: evga gtx680 4gig x2

    SSD/HDDs/Optical drives: samsung sm951 256gig

    PSU: Corsair AX1200i and AX760i

    USB Devices (model/version number):

    corsair gaming mouse
    basic usb keyboard

    CPU Cooler: Watercooling using double 3x120 rads, with EKwb for cpu and gpus

    PC CASE: mountianmods u2-ufo

    Operating system: can not install will be win7


    Drivers Installed (include version info):

    no drivers installed yet.


    Any third Party temp/voltage software installed: None

    System Overclocked (provide details)?: No not yet



    Issue

    mother board started with bios 0901. With this bios i can see my m.2 samsung sm951. Updated the bios using the ez flash utility and i could no longer see my m.2 ssd drive. Rolled back to 0901 and i had no issues. the drive is visible after the roll back.
    Last edited by [TRG] Kicker; 07-02-2015 at 03:03 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    I'm currently on the 1502 BIOS. Can't speak for the SM951. But the motherboard has no problem picking up my Plextor M6e.

    Try reflashing your BIOS without the SM951 installed. After update, proceed to clear the CMOS. Then install the SM951 again. See if that helps.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    If you mean Spam F8 to see the devices, I couldn't see the SM 951 prior to installing W8.1 Pro. I flashed to 1502 via USB (FlashBack?) before even mounting the CPU/RAM.

    It is a fresh build - RVE w/1502, SM 951 M.2, W8.1 Pro. My first M.2 drive, first UEFI OS install, heck, first ASUS board. I could never see anything to indicate the SM 951 even existed in the system and couldn't get my DVD drive to show up as UEFI (and honestly never really figured if it was supposed to be, but Chino's guide seemed to indicate it was a possibility). I wondered if the M.2 drive was bricked or not seated, but figured I'd pop an OS at it and see what happened.

    So I made a bootable USB stick and it had no problem picking that up as a UEFI option, but it wasn't until Windows was installing that I saw a destination - Drive 0 I think it was. After getting the OS installed, the SM 951 is now C: just like you'd expect, and it shows up in the F8 list. I had little confidence until I saw Windows was installing someplace and there was only one drive mounted.

    Not sure if this is the issue the OP was having, but I went ahead and installed an OS without ever seeing any drives in my system. And it seems to be working fine.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array [TRG] Kicker PC Specs
    [TRG] Kicker PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator 2800
    Graphics Card #1ROG 980 Ti Poseidon
    Graphics Card #2ROG 980 Ti Poseidon
    Monitor27" ROG Swift
    Storage #1Samsung SM951 m.2 256 gig
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512gig
    CPU CoolerEK RE5 Monoblock
    CaseMM U2-UFO
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i + Corsair AX760i
    OS Win 10
    [TRG] Kicker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    79

    I played with this for about 5 hours last night. REmoved the stick did all sorts of things. The OS wouldnt install and even reported that i needed to configure this in the bios. Tried many little adjustments including a bone stock bios. Rolled the bios back to the native 0901 and bam there it was. Just couldnt get the bios to see the m2 drive.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    Quote Originally Posted by [TRG] Kicker View Post
    The OS wouldnt install and even reported that i needed to configure this in the bios.
    What was the exact error message that you got?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array [TRG] Kicker PC Specs
    [TRG] Kicker PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator 2800
    Graphics Card #1ROG 980 Ti Poseidon
    Graphics Card #2ROG 980 Ti Poseidon
    Monitor27" ROG Swift
    Storage #1Samsung SM951 m.2 256 gig
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512gig
    CPU CoolerEK RE5 Monoblock
    CaseMM U2-UFO
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i + Corsair AX760i
    OS Win 10
    [TRG] Kicker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    79

    Wish i could remember the exact error. It was late and i was going on 20 hours at that time.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array skypine27 PC Specs
    skypine27 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5960x
    Graphics Card #1Titan X
    Graphics Card #2Titan X
    skypine27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    174

    OP:

    Im also using the Samsung SM951 as my boot (and Star Citizen HAH!!) drive.

    My board also came with 0901, but back then I was using the XP941 which I later replaced with the SM951. Anyway, have you tried 1401? Thats what Im running and it sees the SM951 just fine. I have not yet tried 1502 however.
    *CPU: Intel 7980XE @ 4.4ghz (by Core usage) w/ EK monoblock
    *Mobo: Asus Rampage VIE
    *RAM: 64GB DDR4 3000 G.Skill TridentZ
    *Graphics: Titan Xp w/EK block+backplate
    *Monitor: Dell Alienware AW3418DW @ 120hz
    *Storage OS: Samsung SM961 Pro (1TB) Windows 10
    *Storage Games Internal: 4TB 850 EVO RAID0
    *Storage Extermal: 32TB Raid0 (External USB 3.1 Box)
    *Case/PSU: Thermaltake V71 TG/RGB + 3 Rads (120mm, 360mm, 420mm) + Corsair AX1200i PSU

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    The m2 is shared with one of the pcie slots, what cards have you and in what slots?

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array [TRG] Kicker PC Specs
    [TRG] Kicker PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator 2800
    Graphics Card #1ROG 980 Ti Poseidon
    Graphics Card #2ROG 980 Ti Poseidon
    Monitor27" ROG Swift
    Storage #1Samsung SM951 m.2 256 gig
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512gig
    CPU CoolerEK RE5 Monoblock
    CaseMM U2-UFO
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i + Corsair AX760i
    OS Win 10
    [TRG] Kicker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    79

    coolman. the black slot which is the x8 slot has nothing in it. my GFX cards are in the red slot 1 and 3. I know that the x8 slot (black) is shared with the m.2. I have the 5930k so i also have the 40 lanes of cpu support.

    I might give the 1401 bios a try. Right now everything is stable at 4.3OC cpu and ram is at 2800 on bios 901. Im only at 1.28 volts on the cpu so when i get my monoblock for my cpu and VRM ill clock up further and see how it goes. temps under coretemp when running stress test for 30 mins work out to about 52c. Just need to cool that vrm better. Maybe i won the cpu lottery? Just wont run the latest bios.

  10. #10
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,037

    Quote Originally Posted by [TRG] Kicker View Post
    coolman. the black slot which is the x8 slot has nothing in it. my GFX cards are in the red slot 1 and 3. I know that the x8 slot (black) is shared with the m.2. I have the 5930k so i also have the 40 lanes of cpu support.
    Hello

    The last red x16 PCIe slot shares bandwidth with the m.2 slot. This also needs to be properly configured in the UEFI.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •