Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Angry g74sx new mb issues

    i reciently got my motherboard replaced and now when i turn my computer on i get a white screen shortly after and stays there.
    i really need to get my computer working. all the cables look like they are all in good working condition. plz help asap

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array C4RN1 PC Specs
    C4RN1 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G51VX, G71G, G73, G74SX, G53SX, G53JW, G46VW, X501A, X401A
    MotherboardASUS M5A88-V EVO
    ProcessorAMD FX-4350 Vishera Quad 4.2GHz
    Memory (part number)16GB 4x4gb Mushkin Black Line
    Graphics Card #1HD Radeon 5970
    Graphics Card #2HD Radeon 5970
    Graphics Card #3HD Radeon 5970
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA450 x2 (Provided by HP)
    Storage #1Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD
    Storage #2Western Digital 1.5 TB HDD
    CaseAntec 900
    Power SupplyKingwin Lazer 1000W
    Keyboard HP OEM
    Mouse Logitech Anywhere MX
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 7, Windows 8.1
    Network RouterLinksys E-1000 (DDWRT)
    C4RN1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    264

    video card connection / video cable / video cable connector - it's probably one of those 3

    Try to use a monitor to see if it's actually booting into windows.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    alright i will start with connecting to a tv and see if that works. what does the video card/cable look like and located

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array C4RN1 PC Specs
    C4RN1 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G51VX, G71G, G73, G74SX, G53SX, G53JW, G46VW, X501A, X401A
    MotherboardASUS M5A88-V EVO
    ProcessorAMD FX-4350 Vishera Quad 4.2GHz
    Memory (part number)16GB 4x4gb Mushkin Black Line
    Graphics Card #1HD Radeon 5970
    Graphics Card #2HD Radeon 5970
    Graphics Card #3HD Radeon 5970
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA450 x2 (Provided by HP)
    Storage #1Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD
    Storage #2Western Digital 1.5 TB HDD
    CaseAntec 900
    Power SupplyKingwin Lazer 1000W
    Keyboard HP OEM
    Mouse Logitech Anywhere MX
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 7, Windows 8.1
    Network RouterLinksys E-1000 (DDWRT)
    C4RN1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    264

    The video cable will be on the left side of the motherboard under the keyboard. It will go to the screen and route by the hinge. Usually if you have a white screen it's because the cable has been damaged by the hinge. You could try wiggling the cable while it's on, but take out the battery and only power the laptop with the power cable. You can cause a short and sparks on that cable if it's bad enough and it's best to be able to disconnect the power quickly if needed.

    I modified a pic from google for you, this is the video connector on the motherboard.



    If you're going to disconnect the video cable take out the battery/unplug the power and hold the power button for 20 seconds before removing the cable from it's connector on the motherboard. This is just good practice.

    Good luck, let me know how it turns out.
    Last edited by C4RN1; 03-24-2015 at 03:49 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    alright I got it apart again but with all ribbons still connected. I turned it on and wiggling the cables doesn't do anything. also that cable in the pic goes from there to my usb port which is not far from that. but the cable that comes from the monitor connects to that long peace directly above that left metal plate.
    that cable did happen to get damaged by the hinge at some point so I took it apart and opened it up to try and fix it but im still getting the same white screen. I noticed while I pressed buttons when it is on, the loading light flashes and ctrl+alt+del works and resets computer. I will try fix the cord once more, then I will try order the entire cable if it still doesn't work.

    once I get it working again do I need to do something in bios to get the computer to operate on this new motherboard? also I noticed a grey fabric-like coating on the backside of the cable when I opened it up, does that grey liner effect the connection in any way?
    also there is a light that lights up beside the caps lock light that has no label for it and that lights up, what does that light mean? only that light turns off when I disconnect that cable u suggested in pic
    Last edited by soderquist1; 03-23-2015 at 10:12 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array C4RN1 PC Specs
    C4RN1 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G51VX, G71G, G73, G74SX, G53SX, G53JW, G46VW, X501A, X401A
    MotherboardASUS M5A88-V EVO
    ProcessorAMD FX-4350 Vishera Quad 4.2GHz
    Memory (part number)16GB 4x4gb Mushkin Black Line
    Graphics Card #1HD Radeon 5970
    Graphics Card #2HD Radeon 5970
    Graphics Card #3HD Radeon 5970
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA450 x2 (Provided by HP)
    Storage #1Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD
    Storage #2Western Digital 1.5 TB HDD
    CaseAntec 900
    Power SupplyKingwin Lazer 1000W
    Keyboard HP OEM
    Mouse Logitech Anywhere MX
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 7, Windows 8.1
    Network RouterLinksys E-1000 (DDWRT)
    C4RN1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    264

    Sorry about the pic, I fixed it now I could get a better look at the motherboard.

    That video cable has to be your problem. I wouldn't even bother trying to repair it, just replace it. Make sure when you take it apart you either take a picture or note how the cable is routed around the hinge. If you install a new cable wrong you'll have the same issue after a few uses.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    alright i got a new cable on order for 20$ c so fairly cheap compared to paying someone to fix it for me
    once i get it replaced do i need to do anything in bios to run the computer with this new motherboard? also do i loose any info that was on my computer?

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array C4RN1 PC Specs
    C4RN1 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G51VX, G71G, G73, G74SX, G53SX, G53JW, G46VW, X501A, X401A
    MotherboardASUS M5A88-V EVO
    ProcessorAMD FX-4350 Vishera Quad 4.2GHz
    Memory (part number)16GB 4x4gb Mushkin Black Line
    Graphics Card #1HD Radeon 5970
    Graphics Card #2HD Radeon 5970
    Graphics Card #3HD Radeon 5970
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA450 x2 (Provided by HP)
    Storage #1Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD
    Storage #2Western Digital 1.5 TB HDD
    CaseAntec 900
    Power SupplyKingwin Lazer 1000W
    Keyboard HP OEM
    Mouse Logitech Anywhere MX
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 7, Windows 8.1
    Network RouterLinksys E-1000 (DDWRT)
    C4RN1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    264

    You shouldn't have to do anything to the bios or motherboard, you shouldn't lose any info ether. If it for some reason won't boot then you might have to reload the operating system, though you can backup any data before that.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    alright i finally got the right cord in for the video and it fits perfectly but for some reason the screen continues to go straight to a white screen. i am able to connect it to my tv but everything is to blurry to work with. i can log in and such so i tried going online and internet browsers all keep saying internet connection not set to private. i may need to w8 until the screen is fixed to deal with that.

    only consern i have about this new cord is the long barcode has a few different numbers after the first bit that is 1414-05PR000. do all the numbers on the barcode need to match or is just this one part good? the ends all fit nice and snug and i never damaged the cord during installation so what else could cause a white screen? all adds for the cord all put 1414-05PR000 in there d

    turns out my battery got shorted out when the incodent happened so i will be ordering one of those.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array C4RN1 PC Specs
    C4RN1 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G51VX, G71G, G73, G74SX, G53SX, G53JW, G46VW, X501A, X401A
    MotherboardASUS M5A88-V EVO
    ProcessorAMD FX-4350 Vishera Quad 4.2GHz
    Memory (part number)16GB 4x4gb Mushkin Black Line
    Graphics Card #1HD Radeon 5970
    Graphics Card #2HD Radeon 5970
    Graphics Card #3HD Radeon 5970
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster SA450 x2 (Provided by HP)
    Storage #1Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD
    Storage #2Western Digital 1.5 TB HDD
    CaseAntec 900
    Power SupplyKingwin Lazer 1000W
    Keyboard HP OEM
    Mouse Logitech Anywhere MX
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 7, Windows 8.1
    Network RouterLinksys E-1000 (DDWRT)
    C4RN1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    264

    Can you post pictures of it connected to the tv so I can see what you mean by blurry?

    If you're connected via HDMI or vga and it's blurry then I would bet it's gpu related, which means bad motherboard.

    Also sometimes a white screen can be the lcd going bad, but the lcd cable is the cheaper part so it's the first part to replace.

    Post a couple pics of the blurry screen and any other pictures that help describe the problem.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •