Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Help with GTX 780 TI Matrix Platinum

    Hey guys, I recently flashed my BIOS back to the original version (80.80.34..00.33 P2083-0030) after using skyn3t's BIOS.

    If any of you are using the same card as I am, I'd like to know the max stock GPU voltage under 100% load for the card.

    Am currently using GPU Tweak 2.7.9.0 and my max GPU voltage under load is 1173 (sometimes hitting 1185 but won't be for long). I'm wondering if that's the original max voltage for the card because I want to know if i screwed somewhere while flashing back the skyn3t's bios to the original.

    Thanks in advance, am new to overclocking. Answers are appreciated!

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,345

    Hello abelicious

    That seems about the right voltage, my old 680's voltage stop at 1.175v no matter what the voltage I set in precision x 16. The Matrix is the top of the line gpu for ROG gpu's and being it is a Matrix you can probably raise the voltage higher as long as temps allow. I'm pretty sure it's capped at around 1.210. If you have GPU Tweak installed you can raise the voltage there to see. Keep an eye on your temps, 85c is the highest I like to see for a gpu. Your matrix 780ti has a LN2 mode but that is for liquid nitrogen cooling and probably shouldn't fool with that on air cooling.

    If you are able to raise the voltage this will allow you to get higher clock speeds which = more performance.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Thank you so much for the reply Nate!

    Yeah the gpu tweak slider stops at 1.210V. But Nate, the thing is that my 780 Ti matrix platinum cannot go more than 1.173V no matter how much I raised the voltage in gpu tweak. I've read somewhere that 780 ti matrix platinums are voltage locked. Example I've pushed the slider in GPU tweak to the max (1.210V) but it only showed 1.173V under load in gpu tweak.

    It's really hard for me to overclock and release the full potential of this card, and the fact that I paid so much for this card just to be voltage locked pains me. If you have any solution or workaround to fix the voltage locked issue I'm all ears Nate.

    Am currently stable on 1132(1210 boost) /7050 in gpu tweak. (kinda sad I know)
    Last edited by abelicious; 07-05-2015 at 09:50 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,384

    LLC will drop your load voltage right? especially if you are stressing the card so you will never see a reading of 1.210 under load unless you disabled LLC...

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Hey Arne thanks for the reply. Mind to explain what LLC is? Sorry I'm not very familiar with the terms. All I know is that I'm running on air on stock bios. No matter how much I adjust the slider I can never increase the voltage. It's capped at 1173/1185 (rarely)

  6. #6
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,384

    Sorry so used to some acronyms forget to explain sometimes. LLC = Load Line Calibration...basically a mechanism to protect the core. It drops voltage when the card is under full load so that any spikes during transitions from lower to highest activity is not going to overshoot the set voltage.

    If you set 1.210v, LLC will always make sure that the load voltage is lower than this, allowing for temporary spikes to come up to the 1.210 level....so if you measure voltage you will see less than you set on average.

    If you disable LLC you would get 1.210 through the GPU core with the disadvantage that spikes could rise above this level.

    It's like the overflow on your bath...it's below the max level of the bath so when you fill the bath and then get in it, you getting in doesn't overflow onto the floor...the bath has made sure that no matter what, water won't go over the side...

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Hi Arne, thanks for explaining. Been looking for the LLC option in my gpu tweak 2 and I cant seem to find it. I don't remember the normal gpu tweak has that option too. Also I've not seen the nax voltage used in the monitor tab to hit 1.210v, only 1185 with 1173 most of the time under load, which is weird.

    I thought my card was underperforming because 1132 core clock (1210 during gaming) boost and 7050 on the memory is pretty disappointing with the voltage maxed in gpu tweak. Is that OC range on air normal for my card?

    Would you also be so kind to tell me where and how can i disable the LLC for my matrix platinum? Am currently using the lastest asus gpu tweak 2.

  8. #8
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,384

    I can't help with GPUTweak I'm afraid...I have never liked it and only ever used it a couple of times...

    If the option to disable LLC was there it would show up but I guess it's not? or you have to switch to LN2 bios if those cards have that?

    I have always preferred Precision X or Afterburner....you could investigate one of those....clean uninstall GPU Tweak first...unless there is some specific reason you need GPU tweak for that card?

    Decent guide here for comparison...http://www.hardocp.com/article/2014/...3#.VZq6xfmqpBc

    Makes your results seem about what they should be


  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Hi Arne, you mean I cannot adjust the voltage for my matrix platinum unless I switch to LN2 mode? I don't plan to go on that mode as I am running it on air.

    Weird, a card that costs so much but is voltage locked. I have tried Precision X and Afterburner, both of them don't have the option to disable LLC if I remembered correctly.

    The link you showed me does not post the screenshot of the voltage of the card in GPU Monitor which is hard to compare lol.

  10. #10
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,384

    Yes, I'm pretty sure those cards are locked (as Nvidia wants) to a maximum 1.21v

    LN2 BIOS needs some hardware tweaks as far as I remember...like removing resistors so not for the average OCer.

    Seems stock BIOS locks LLC ...

    Very few cards allow you real access to voltage these days....always have to void your warranty with BIOS or hardware tweaks....only occasional odd versions like kingpin editions let you play...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •