Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    I wish I can reach 1.21v with my matrix platinum. All I am getting is constant 1.173v. On that voltage my card cannot go higher than 1211 core clock (after boost from 1132)

    Is this my card problem or what? I'm really confused right now. My temp for the card does not even exceed 75 degrees. Should be able to go higher with that temp range.

    I don't have any friends using the matrix platinum so I cannot find out whether they can get to 1..21v on stock BIOS or not. Results online are always not showing the actual voltage reached in the monitor. All they show is just the slider even I can do that.

    I'd be glad if you know anyone or friends who can reach 1.21v on stock BIOS without accessing the LN2 mode who I can get advice from.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Melkor PC Specs
    Melkor PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790K 4.7Ghz/1.28V
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    MonitorAsus VG278HE
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO
    CaseNZXT Phantom 630
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 8.1 64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC66U
    Accessory #1 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix - Nickel
    Accessory #2 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix Backplate - Black
    Melkor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    Hi, I posted this issue in the past - https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...ge-not-working

    Unfortunately it's not solved but when messing with other - PEX_VDD, VRM clock settings in GPU Tweak (advanced mode) I could do benchmarks at 1231 MHz (Boost 1362)/ memory 2000MHz but forget about gaming - it's not stable above 1250MHz boost in most demanding games.

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Hey Melkor! Finally someone who is using a matrix platinum and thanks for replying! Sorry for the late reply, kinda give up checking for updates on this thread since not many people are replying.

    How come yours is able to get to 1.187? Mine is only 1.173 all the time under load (sometimes 1.185 for a few seconds and that's it) Is this something I could be concerned about? I flashed to skyn3t's BIOS following this link: http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...php?t=18545210

    I could get it on 1.212v constant on skyn3t's BIOS but I've decided to stop using because my card was hitting 90 degrees and still increasing. I flashed back the BIOS to the original BIOS (saved the ori BIOS via GPU-Z before flashing to skyn3t's)

    My concern is am I getting 1.173v now because something went wrong during the flashing back to the original BIOS? Too bad I didn't remember what was the voltage it was on during gaming before I flashed to skyn3t's.

    Appreciate your reply man.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Melkor PC Specs
    Melkor PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790K 4.7Ghz/1.28V
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    MonitorAsus VG278HE
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO
    CaseNZXT Phantom 630
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 8.1 64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC66U
    Accessory #1 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix - Nickel
    Accessory #2 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix Backplate - Black
    Melkor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    I think it depends on ASIC quality of graphic card, so simply Yours need lower voltage to run other clock or to be honest I think voltage reading is not accurate. From my testing I can overclock my GPU for example +80 on gpu clock in GPU Tweak without touching voltage slider (I recommend GPU Tweak 2.7.9.0 it's most stable) and my final boost is 1215, if some higher overclock crash my desktop it means I have to adjust PEX_VDD or VRM Clock. I'm almost 100% sure voltage on stock bios is controlled via hardware and it's at 1.2V already. Depending on what clock You're going to set it does adjust voltage itself. Don't bother with voltage on my cards - one is at 1.187 while second one is at 1.173 according to readings. Remember these are still great cards - boost clock when overclocking is always quaranted at highest speed because it's hard to make them reach power limit which is biggest pain in the ass with stock cards. Just watch in GPU Tweak in monitoring section for POWER TEMPERATURE - You have to enable it in GPU Monitor. It's second important temperature reading after GPU temperature, while GPU Temp is for example at 88C Power Temperature can be at 125C which is really too high. Adjust Your fan speed manually because on stock bios fan speed is way too slow in higher temperatures area.

    Oh and one more thing - if You ever need bios for Your Matrix card then it is in GPU Tweak installation folder - names are NV_Standard.rom for Matrix with lower clocks, NV_Standard_P.rom for Matrix Platinium. There are also bioses for LN2 mode but I don't recommend to mess with them without soldering pins on the card - there are also bioses for 980 Matrix version in this folder but better do not touch them.
    Last edited by Melkor; 07-15-2015 at 04:39 PM.

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Hi Melkor! Thanks for the reply. Just checked with GPU-Z, I have an ASIC quality of 74.9. Does that solve why my voltage is lower compared to yours? Because all this while I thought to myself higher voltage used = you can overclock even further haha silly me.

    So as a conclusion, the way I describe my cards, my card is running totally fine? I just found my sweetspot for overclocking, which is 1132clock which will boost to 1211 while the memory on the other hand won't increase much, best I could go without artifacting is +50 at 1.650v.

    Will monitor the Power Temperature from today onwards thanks to you Melkor. So I just need a final confirmation if my card is running perfectly fine though I expected this card to be running more than 1211 clocks while gaming haha.

    Forgot to mention, my 3.3v, PEX_VDD, Power Target, Loadline, and Power Frequency are all maxed in GPU Tweak. I just set everything on max but seems to be working well so far. No artifacts in demanding games such as Witcher 3 on my current OC settings. During Unigine Heaven benchmark I don't see artifacts too after a 20 minutes loop. (Sometimes I might be seeing things such as artifacts in Heaven benchmark but I guess that's just me for staring at the screen for so long lol. But when I'm really focusing to determine artifacts so far there's none.)
    Last edited by abelicious; 07-17-2015 at 11:33 AM.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Melkor PC Specs
    Melkor PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VI Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790K 4.7Ghz/1.28V
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentX 2x8GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    Graphics Card #2Asus ROG Matrix 780Ti
    MonitorAsus VG278HE
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO
    CaseNZXT Phantom 630
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i
    Keyboard Razer Deathstalker Ultimate
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 8.1 64
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC66U
    Accessory #1 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix - Nickel
    Accessory #2 2x EK-FC780 GTX Ti Matrix Backplate - Black
    Melkor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    Yep I think it's all good and normal, mine ASIC is 65.9% on both cards so it does explain higher voltage to match same clocks, I bought them from different stores but they're from same batch as serial numbers are almost one after another. I'm running same clocks as Yours in gaming - higher works in some games but would crash in Battlefield for example and to be honest it's just more unnecessary heat during long gaming sessions even with watercooling.

    How do You measure Your GPU clock speed? Is it via GPU-Z? Because for me Nvidia Inspector is more accurate at showing max boost clock (don't touch voltage slider or it won't show correct number) - for example if I set in GPU Tweak GPU clock offset +80 in GPU-Z I can see my GPU clock is 1087Mhz and boost at 1152Mhz but after launching Nvidia Inspector (You have to wait about 30-50secs to get clocks updated when overclocked) there is a window called "Est. Max" which shows boost clock at 1217Mhz and that's the one which is correct.
    So if I would set GPU clock to 1132Mhz as You said - that's offset +126 as it shows for me in in GPU Tweak. GPU-Z would show max boost clock at 1198Mhz but in reality I get 1263 as it is shown in nvidiaInspector.

    What's Your boost clock at default speed in monitoring window when running games? Mine is 1137Mhz.

    Regarding artifacts I can also see some while running Fire Strike Extreme with high overclock but weird thing it doesn't crash at all.
    Last edited by Melkor; 07-17-2015 at 06:08 PM.

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Hi Melkor sorry for the late reply. Thanks for the clarification I can understand better now. In GPU-Z it shows that my clocks are 1067 and 1132 boost. Do I need to download the Nvidia inspector?

    Regarding my boost clock at default speed while gaming is 1132Mhz (which is +60 offset from my stock clock) but I hardly drop to 1132Mhz because most of the time I'm on 1210 due to the boost. If I add another +10 offset to the clock it will start to artifact in Heaven (no crashes at all just slight artifacts)

    Let me know if that answered your question regarding "What's Your boost clock at default speed in monitoring window when running games? Mine is 1137Mhz."

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •