Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    You only have the SM951 connected during your installation, correct? How many partitions show up in the install Windows? Have you tried deleting all the partitions and making a new one?

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    only 1 partition shows up in the installation

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Have you've tried deleting this partition to turn it back to unallocated space? Then creating a new partition and install windows on that partition?

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    yes. same results

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Are you able to install Windows on the 850 Pro? Try doing an installation on the SSD instead of the M.2 for testing.

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Yes. I've tried that too. The installation took >6hrs, but the system hanged after the initial reboot. I let it hang overnight to see if it resolved. It didn't. Rebooting and reinstalling did not help either.

  7. #17
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Take the board out of the case place it on a non-conductive surface and use air-cooling on the CPU with one memory module inserted only. Clear CMOS so that the board is at complete defaults.

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Thanks Raja for replying!
    Done. I have a GTX 780Ti, SM951 in the m.2 slot, and the USB containing a Win 8.1 x64 image in the 2.0 slot. The same problems persist with a prolonged install startup and the same error code.

  9. #19
    ROG Member Array wvlucas PC Specs
    wvlucas PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS RAMPAGE V EXTREME, Extended ATX x99 Motherboard , LGA 2011-V3 Socket, DDR4 3300Mhz+(OC)
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-5960X Haswell-E 8-Core 3.0GHz LGA 2011-v3 Processor
    Memory (part number)CMD64GX4M8A2400C14
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX 2.0 GDDR5 Graphics Card
    Sound CardOnboard - Sonic Soundstage
    MonitorSony KDL50W800B Smart LED TV/Monitor
    Storage #12 X Intel 400GB 750 Series Solid State Drive 2.5-Inch SSDPE2MW400G4R6
    Storage #26 X Seagate 6TB Desktop HDD (STBD6000100)
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H100i GTX Liquid CPU Cooler
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 900D Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i 1500 Watts ATX
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless Illuminated Backlit Keys Keyboard K800
    Mouse Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sades SA-738
    Mouse Pad Kingston Skyn HX-MPSK-C
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit (10568)
    Network RouterNighthawk X6 AC3200 Tri-Band WiFi Router Model R8000
    Accessory #1 Logitech 7.1 SoundSystem z906
    Accessory #2 Logitech HD 910 Camera
    Accessory #3 HP 400 Pro

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    This may or may not apply, but years ago, this simular issue occurred to me. After days and days of hammering this issue, I was about ready to toss the dumb thing out the window, but something made me check the daisy chain. I replaced the cable and sure enough, it was a faulty cable. Maybe, just a thought. Hope you get it soon.

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Thanks for the response wvlucas, but I think I found the cause: bad m.2 drive. Don't know what happened, but I decided to check all the drives again and I plugged the m.2 in a PCIe adapter that came with my x99 deluxe and into the system it went. Lo and behold, that PC struggled to turn on, but when it did, the volume was recognized but was not able to initialize, just like on the RVE. Luckily the SM951 comes with a 3yr warranty and just sent the retailer an email.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •