View Poll Results: what is the problem part

Voters
2. You may not vote on this poll
  • Motherboard

    1 50.00%
  • CPU

    0 0%
  • RAM

    1 50.00%
  • PSU

    0 0%
  • other

    0 0%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Exclamation Code "AF" is this the end ?

    Power up the system and get no boot: q codes "13" then "AF", cpu led near 24pin coonector is lighting red.
    Trying everything: removing the battery, switching bios (bios1_1502 & bios2_1103), "CLr Cmos", "Safe boot", "Mem Ok", "Retry Button", reflashing bios, change Vga's, removing ram (exept 1slot), disconectiing all usb, ssd/hdd, hdmi and displayport, also checking the pins on the socket and reinstaling the cpu - nothing, just "AF" ...

    Who is dead: 5820k or r5e ?
    For some reason I think this its cpu.

    5820k
    r5e/u3.1
    64gb(8x8Gb) corsair lpx ram
    asus strix gtx980
    500gb 850evo
    2x 3Tb WD Green
    Corsair HX1000i

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    509
    Posts
    13,689

    I would try a different PSU if you can before calling it "the end"...also try a new SATA cable on a couple of different drives

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Need to try PSU on the other system.
    But its new and working ok on r5e, the age of all config is about 2 weeks old.
    All sata and usb are disconected...

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    509
    Posts
    13,689

    So was working fine right? you say you suspect CPU...can I ask why? It was overclocked...etc?

    You have fan plugged to CPU fan header?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    There was last changing in bios settings when "AF" happaned:
    Ai Overclock Tuner - Manual
    CPU Strap - Auto
    PPL Selection - SB PPL
    Filtr PPL - Low BCLK Mode
    BCLK Frequency - 100.0
    Initial BCLK Frequency - Auto
    ASUS Multicore Enhancement - Enabled
    CPU Core Ratio - Sнтс All Cores
    1 - 6 Core Ratio Limit - 43
    Min CPU Cach Ratio - Auto
    Max CPU Cach Ratio - 40
    Internal PPL Overvoltage - Enabled
    BCLK Frequency : DRAM Frequency - Auto
    DRAM Frequency - 2400 Mhz
    Enhanced IntelSpeedStep Technology - Enabled
    Turbomode - Enabled
    Load Line Colibration - 8
    CPU Power Duty - Extrem
    CPU Curent Capability - 140%
    CPU Integrated VR Fault Management - Disabled
    CPU Integrated VR Effciency Management - High Performance
    Xtremу Mode - Enabled
    CPU Level Ap - Auto
    EPU Power Saving Mode - Disabled
    Fully Manual Mode - Enabled
    CPU Core Voltage - 1.25
    CPU Cache Voltage - 1.8
    CPU System Agent Voltage - Auto
    CPU Input Voltage - 1.900
    Dram Voltage - 1.21
    CPU Spread Spectrum - Disabled
    BCLK Recovery Enabled

    I think thats CPU because only cpu_led stuck lighting red near 24pin connector...
    And Yes, all fans are conect and working, cpu fan too - its Fractal Design Kelvin S36.
    Last Idle temperature was 36 celsius and 55-62 on load.
    Last edited by caramba1; 07-07-2015 at 01:02 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,247

    Quote Originally Posted by caramba1 View Post
    CPU Cache Voltage - 1.8
    I think you got a little too excited with that voltage there.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Sorry, it was 1.18 of course )

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Send motherboard to the seller for diagnostics.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    What happened? I just got this AF too but mine does 14 then AF and cpu led

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    just had this issue for a week it was the cpu

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •