Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Maximus VII Hero crashes, please help

    Hi Guys

    Setup:
    Maximus VII Hero
    g.skill tridentX series 2x8GB ddr 3 ram
    intel core i7-4790K
    GTX 660
    Mushkin 480GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive - OS is on this drive
    500GB hard drive

    I recently bought the Maximus VII hero motherboard with new ram and a processor but I've been having weird problems.
    When playing games such as counter strike GO I tend to get shuddering and then a complete crash where the screen freezes and the sound loops for a couple of seconds.
    The crash would tend to happen within 15 minutes or so of playing the game, but now its happening even sooner.
    Now randomly the screen will go black where only the monitor's default screen saver will appear and then return to normal.
    I've tried everything I can think of to fix the problem such as updating every driver I can find and switching games to different hard drives.
    I have no idea where else to even start but I imagine its a motherboard problem as after installation is when the problems began to occur.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks guys

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,679

    Hi CdrMittens and Welcome to ROG

    First question, Are your DIMMs a single kit of 16GB or 2x kits of 8GB ?
    Run Memtest 86+ from a USB stick to test your DIMMs.
    Have you OCed the system at all? If so what changes have you made?
    Have you run a stress test to ensure system stability?
    What is your OS?

    Report back and we can take it from there.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array LordofPressure PC Specs
    LordofPressure PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)normal PC
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core I7-4790K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX3M2A2133C9 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1GTX 770 Vendor=Gigabyte, name=Windforce3x
    MonitorDell U2410
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256GB
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerEnermax Liqmax II 240
    CaseSharkoon Big Tower
    Power SupplyEnermax Platimax 1000w
    Keyboard Logitech
    Mouse LogiLink optical usb
    OS Windows 7 64bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    hi CdrMittens,
    I have the same Board VII Hero and the same CPU i7-4790K, but other DIMM's , SSD and grafic-card. I had an shut-down-crash during an test ,but not so extreme.
    you can see in my PC Specs.

    At first : reply the questions , they are written by MeanMachine.
    Then tell us your BIOS Version. Which Bios Version is actually on your System.

    Maybe we can help us reciprocal , to fix it for everyone

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Hey thanks for the quick replies.
    I have two separate ram sticks in A2 and B2 like the manual suggests.
    I have not OCed the system at all, everything is just set to auto.
    I haven't run a stress test or Memtest 86+. I assume you would just boot Memtest 86+ from the bios? I don't know how to do a stress test.
    I will google it after this.
    I am using Windows 7
    My BIOS version is 2401 x64

    What is also weird is I played Civ V last night for hours with no problems at all.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,679

    Hi CdrMittens

    1. If your DIMMs are two different kits, even of the same specs. You may run into problems!!
    2. You will need to run a stress test to establish stability. Use Prime95 for 10-15 mins on small FFT whilst monitoring temps.or better still use Realbench or even Aida64. Constantly monitor your temperatures using Coretemp.
    3. You should test your Dimms as a single module or single kit, (do not mix kits) using Memtest86+. You need to load it on an empty USB stick and boot from the USB.
    4. Latest Bios is 2702. Recommend you update for 5th-Generation Intel Core Processors. Go to ASUS support and follow the instructions.
    If you are not sure for the best and safest method, Just ask.

    Go to : http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/MAX...Desk_Download/

    MM
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array LordofPressure PC Specs
    LordofPressure PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)normal PC
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core I7-4790K
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX3M2A2133C9 2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1GTX 770 Vendor=Gigabyte, name=Windforce3x
    MonitorDell U2410
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256GB
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerEnermax Liqmax II 240
    CaseSharkoon Big Tower
    Power SupplyEnermax Platimax 1000w
    Keyboard Logitech
    Mouse LogiLink optical usb
    OS Windows 7 64bit

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    hello CdrMittens,
    He (MeanMachine) is correct in saying about different DIMM manufactors can make problems. Asus Maximus VII Hero Mainboard is very delicate of this.
    It's better you look on Asus-download page at rubric memory-accessories and take a look on the supported memory QVL for supported memorys.
    BIOS V. 2401: as far i can remember , both Bios versions 2401 and my V. 2201 are laid up from Asus-website.
    The Memtest86+ isn't difficult , you only need to take it on a bootable device (for example CD or usb-stick).

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    hey MM, sorry I misunderstood you. The ram is the same I thought you were asking if they were one stick or two, I got them together in a kit.
    I will run the stress test tonight and update the BIOS and let you guys know how it goes.
    Thanks again for all the help.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Hi Guys
    Sorry for the long time between posts, jobs been busy.
    Anyway, I updated the bios an that didn't seem to solve any problems.
    I also tried to run Memtest86+ from a USB but I just get a "missing operation system" screen and can't get out of it.
    I tried running realbench and about a minute into it my CPU temps were hitting 100C so I stopped it due to fear of damaging my processor.
    I'll probably buy a new CPU heatsink as I am using the stock one currently due to my last one breaking.

    Do you guys know why Memtest 86+ would give me that error?
    Any other suggestions I should start looking at?
    Thanks again

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Ntwlf PC Specs
    Ntwlf PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Build Below In Progress
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VII Formula
    ProcessorIntel i7 4790K @4.8GHz (siliconlottery.com)
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill TridentX F3-2400C10Q-32GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix GTX 980 Ti OC
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix GTX 980 Ti OC (w/ROG Enthusiast 2-way SLI Bridge)
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1(2x) SanDisk Extreme Pro 960GB, (1x) SanDisk Extreme Pro 240GB
    Storage #2(2x) Seagate Barracuda 7200rpm 1TB ST1000DM003 (Raid 0)
    CPU CoolerCRYORIG R1 Ultimate w/Red Heatsink Covers
    CaseCM Storm Trooper w/Custom Side Panel (Window w/(2x) 120mm fans)
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i w/Red Braided Cables
    Keyboard SteelSeries Apex M800 Mechanical Gaming
    Mouse SteelSeries Diablo III
    Headset Audio Technica ATHAD500X w/AntLion ModMic 4.0
    Headset/Speakers Logitech X-540 Speakers
    OS Win 7 Ultimate X64 (w/ Virtual XP for older games)
    Network RouterASUS ROG Front Base Dual-Bay Gaming Panel
    Accessory #1 ASUS Blu-Ray Writer BW-16D1HT
    Accessory #2 Seagate 4TB HDD 5900rpm ST4000DM000 (internal - backup & imaging)
    Accessory #3 (9x) case fans Thermaltake Riing + (2x) Lepa Chopper (front bay light effects)
    Ntwlf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    82
    Posts
    494

    Hi CdrMittens,

    Sorry to read about your problems.

    What was the CPU cooler that had broken? For a CPU air cooler, I recommend at minimum the CM Hyper 212 EVO for all "stock" settings over the Intel boxed stock cooler. The stock Intel cooler may be part or all of your problems, particularly if your case doesn't have adequate air flow.

    What PSU are you using in your PC? If it's insufficient at providing adequate power, it may be a problem as well.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Hi Ntwlf
    it was an old watercooled one that just died, I don't remember what brand exactly. I'm using the stock box set one that came with the 4790K.
    I'm looking at getting the Corsair Hydro series H50, I'll probably get that next week.
    For my PSU I am using the XFX black edition 850W power supply.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •