Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Random Restarts

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Cool [Solved] Random Restarts

    Motherboard model:
    Rampage IV Black Edition

    UEFI Version:
    0801

    CPU:
    Intel i7 4930k

    Memory kit part number (s) and amount in GB:
    CMD64GX3M8A2133C9 48GB

    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 970 SSC

    SSD/HDDs/Optical drives:
    • KINGSTON SV300S37A120G
    • ST240HM000-1G5152
    • Hitachi HDS721010CLA332
    • WDC WD2500BEVS-60UST0



    PSU:
    Corsair HX750

    Operating system:
    Windows 10

    System Overclocked (provide details)?
    • CPU multiplier: 45
    • VCore: 1.35v
    • XMP Profile #1: 2133MHz, 9-11-11-31, 1.65v
    • CPU Current Capability: 170%
    • CPU temp w/AIDA64: 68 celcius @ 2 hours



    Issue

    I bought a Rampage IV Black Edition mobo a little over a year ago off Amazon. My computer's been randomly restarting for the last few weeks; more often when I have a flash video playing, game open, or I'm trying to run some type of benchmark. No errors anywhere, no BSOD, just a sudden restart mostly at random times.
    It would restart always during the following:
    • Direct3D 9 ALU Assessment in Windows 7's experience index test.
    • 3D Graphics DirectX11 test in PassMark's PerformanceTest.
    • Memory Threaded test in PassMark's PerformanceTest.



    Things I've tried that haven't worked:
    • Default BIOS settings
    • No overclocking
    • Above overclock settings
    • Updated BIOS
    • New graphics card (Tested on GTX 660, GTX 750, and GTX 970)
    • Reseated CPU
    • Reinstalled flash
    • Reinstalled graphics drivers
    • Reinstalled Windows (from 7 to 10)



    Not sure what else I can do to locate the source of this problem.
    When reading up on the crash during the Windows Exeperience test, a lot of people had success with replacing the PSU.
    When reading up on random restarts with the Rampage IV Black Edition, a lot of people had success with RMA'ing their board.
    Doubt Amazon would let me RMA the board after a year. Thoughts on any way to definitely determine what's causing the restarts?

    Edit: Also, not sure if it helps, but my mobo takes ~30 seconds to post. Seems really slow.
    Last edited by BlackBeltPanda; 07-23-2015 at 12:23 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,690

    Hi BBPanda

    Boot time is fine...disable stuff you are not using in BIOS like Bluetooth AS media chip etc. To soeed things up a bit...but X79 is complicated so needs some time to boot.

    Have you tried setting CPU current capability to 160 or 170%... Common safe fix for sudden outages. I would try another PSU too if you have access to one...

    Amazon will accept an rma as long as it is in guarantee and they have an email from ASUS authorizing it

    Lastly of course there is the point that windows10 is beta of course....
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 07-12-2015 at 09:53 AM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Hi BBPanda

    Boot time is fine...disable stuff you are not using in BIOS like Bluetooth AS media chip etc. To soeed things up a bit...but X79 is complicated so needs some time to boot.

    Have you tried setting CPU current capability to 160 or 170%... Common safe fix for sudden outages. I would try another PSU too if you have access to one...

    Amazon will accept an rma as long as it is in guarantee and they have an email from ASUS authorizing it

    Lastly of course there is the point that windows10 is beta of course....
    Disabled everything I can in boot and enabled fast boot, still takes ~30 seconds. If that's normal then I won't worry about it.
    I tried CPU Current Capability at 160%, 170%, and 180%.
    The restarts started in Windows 7. They've continued in Windows 10.
    I'll see if I can get another PSU to test with and report back once I've done that.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,690

    Yeah boot time is normal...

    One thing....I experienced sudden outs after updating my BIOS via EZ flash once...I had to reflash BIOS flashback method and all was well all of a sudden..

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...l=1#post398383

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Yeah boot time is normal...

    One thing....I experienced sudden outs after updating my BIOS via EZ flash once...I had to reflash BIOS flashback method and all was well all of a sudden..

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...l=1#post398383
    The restarts started occurring before I updated my BIOS and I used the flashback utility to update to 0801. Will be ordering an EVGA SuperNova 1000G2 PSU; I'll post back once I've tested with that installed. =)

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,690

    OK, fingers crossed...

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Good news!
    After installing an EVGA Supernova 1000 G2 (1000w PSU), the problem is fixed!
    I have no issues running any game, benchmark, or stress testing software; even while overclocked.
    My post time went from ~30 seconds to ~2 seconds. Total boot time is now only ~5 seconds. =D

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,690

    Cool beans! glad that's sorted

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    How to get the post time to 2 sec? The post time with my board is 18sec?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •