Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I want to upgrade my laptop to a touchscreen and GTX970m

    Is it possible to upgrade the monitor to a touchscreen and the video card to a 900-series GPU (specifically a GTX970m)?

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array rcarlos243 PC Specs
    rcarlos243 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardGigabyte X99 SOC-FORCE
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5820k @4.5Ghz 1.28vcore
    Memory (part number)16GB DDR4 2666 CL13 Quad Channel
    Graphics Card #1R9 290 4GB @1150 core w/ Corsair H105 + 2x Gentle Typhoon AP15
    Sound CardFiiO E17 USB AMP/DAC
    MonitorBenQ XL2420z 1080p 144Hz
    Storage #1256GB Samsung SM951 NVMe M.2
    Storage #2960GB Crucial M500
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy Evo, 360mm HWLabs Black Ice GTX, 360mm Swiftech MCRX20-QP, Swiftech MCP655, 6x AP15's
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-600XP2 80 Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G710+ Cherry MX Brown
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Philips Fidelio X2
    Mouse Pad Razr HardMatt
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterNetgear Nighthawk X6 R8000

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    41

    I am not sure about the screen if there is any digitizer connector on non touchscreen models but you cannot upgrade the video card inside the laptop as it is solder on the motherboard.

    You can however use a Desktop Graphics Card (like GTX 970) through Thunderbolt using external enclosure such as Akitio Thunder 2 + PSU

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Maxter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    598

    rcarlos243 is right. Unless you have soldering skills and know how to install the GPU, and the GPU is the same size as the previous one, you really can't. You can, typically, only upgrade hard/solid drive, and ram. Maybe fix some parts like keyboard or replace with same screen, if you're that good (the connections, as above mentioned, is the issue)

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array code9523 PC Specs
    code9523 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS G750JH 3D Custom!
    MotherboardG750JW Motherboard REV 2.0 PCB Made in China)))
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 4700HQ
    Memory (part number)4x8GB DDR3 1600MHz HMT41GS6AFR8A-PB
    Graphics Card #1NVidia GTX780M with G750JZ Copper Heatsink
    Sound CardRealtek Hig Definition Audio
    MonitorSamsung LTN173HT02 [17.3" 120Hz 3D LCD]
    Storage #1120GB (OS) 240GB (Games) Kingston HyperX Fury SSD's
    Storage #2750GB WD Black (7200 RPM)
    CPU CoolerStock G750JH cooler
    CaseStock G750JH
    Power Supply230W (ADP-230EB)
    Keyboard Mod G750JZ
    Mouse ASUS ROG Gladius
    Mouse Pad CYBORG G.L.I.D.E.7
    Headset/Speakers SVEN =)
    OS Windows 10 Home x64
    Network RouterZTE
    code9523's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    215

    I upgrated gpu in my g750jx to jh with purchasing not working g750jh I also done a cooling upgrade as I use copper heatsink from g 750jz in my lappy everything works fine for almost 3 month!
    Asus G74SX> Asus G55VW 3D> Asus G75VW 3D> Asus G750JW> Asus G750JX> Asus G750JH

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    88

    Quote Originally Posted by rcarlos243 View Post
    I am not sure about the screen if there is any digitizer connector on non touchscreen models but you cannot upgrade the video card inside the laptop as it is solder on the motherboard.

    You can however use a Desktop Graphics Card (like GTX 970) through Thunderbolt using external enclosure such as Akitio Thunder 2 + PSU
    Have you tried the thunderbolt method before? This could be the best way to future proof my laptop

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Wulff PC Specs
    Wulff PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z170-A
    ProcessorIntel Core i5-6600K
    Memory (part number)4x4GB G.Skill TridentZ 3000MHZ DDR4
    Graphics Card #1Asus Matrix GTX 980Ti
    Sound CardCreative X-Fi HD
    MonitorSamsung U28D590 UHD
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500GB (OS)
    Storage #22x256GB SanDisk SD6SP1M256G1102
    CPU CoolerNoctua D15s
    CaseSilent Base 800
    Power SupplyCorsair Rm850x
    Mouse Steelseries Kana
    Headset/Speakers KRK Rokit5
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterD-Link Dir-868L
    Accessory #2 WD Elements 5TB
    Accessory #3 Seagate Expansion Desk 4TB

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    190

    the thunderbolt box recommended in this post (akitio one) uses 2 thunderbolt ports , would it get enough power from one port then since we only have one port on our g750jz, or is that why you have to use an external psu?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Maxter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    598

    That's why you need the PSU. The laptop doesn't provide enough power.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •