Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 58
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    106

    I think my Rampage V Extreme board has killed my Intel i7 5960X CPU

    Hello guys,

    I have got a feeling my Rampage V Extreme board has killed my Intel i7 5960X CPU.

    My system has been working great since I built it but today I went to reboot my
    Windows and then I got a CPU overvoltage error screen from the Rampage V
    Extreme and the system shutdown.

    Now the system won't power completely back up again.

    The Q LED on the motherboard is lighting up in RED on CPU-LED and the Q Code
    in displaying 00 for not used and also the fourth led beside the PCIe x16 Lane
    Switch is flashing every second in a orange color

    I have tried clearing the CMOS but this doesn't make any difference.

    Does this mean the CPU is dead?

    Thanks for responding.
    Intel i7 5960X @ OC 4.5GHz, Asus R5E, XSPC AX360, G.Skill Ripjaws 4 16GB DDR4-3000MHz, BeQuiet 1200W PSU, Cooler Master Cosmos 2, Zotac GeForce GTX 980 AMP, Creative X-Fi Titanium, 2 X Samsung 840 EVO 250GB RAID 0, 2 X Crucial RealSSD C300 256GB RAID 0, LG BH10LS30

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Platinum Belt Array Rockford PC Specs
    Rockford PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG STRIX B450-I GAMING
    ProcessorRYZEN 2700X
    Memory (part number)CRUCIAL BALLISTIX TACTICAL 2X4GB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GEFORCE GTX 970 DC2OC BLACK
    MonitorDELL U SERIES
    Storage #1KINGSTON A400 120GB SATA III
    Storage #2KINGSTON A400 480GB SATA III
    CPU CoolerRYZEN WRAITH PRISM
    CaseBENCH
    Power SupplyEVGA SUPERNOVA G2 650W
    Keyboard DUCKY TKL MEKA
    Mouse CORSAIR HARPOON
    Headset ASTRO A50 WIRELESS
    Accessory #1 WIFE
    Rockford's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    263
    Posts
    6,289

    i hope nothing fatal happened...

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    106

    I am absolutely sure I have read up here of another user with a Rampage V Extreme getting the CPU overvoltage error for no reason even when they have kept the CPU Voltage well below the limit

    The board had overvolted the CPU on its own. I can`t remember if it caused issue for that member or not.

    I really hope the CPU is not dead because I haven't really got the money to replace it.
    Last edited by Sylver123; 07-14-2015 at 04:39 AM.
    Intel i7 5960X @ OC 4.5GHz, Asus R5E, XSPC AX360, G.Skill Ripjaws 4 16GB DDR4-3000MHz, BeQuiet 1200W PSU, Cooler Master Cosmos 2, Zotac GeForce GTX 980 AMP, Creative X-Fi Titanium, 2 X Samsung 840 EVO 250GB RAID 0, 2 X Crucial RealSSD C300 256GB RAID 0, LG BH10LS30

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    106

    Is there anyway I can get the CPU replaced? I bought the CPU from OcUK on 4 Jan 2015 which means I can`t send it to them for RMA.
    Intel i7 5960X @ OC 4.5GHz, Asus R5E, XSPC AX360, G.Skill Ripjaws 4 16GB DDR4-3000MHz, BeQuiet 1200W PSU, Cooler Master Cosmos 2, Zotac GeForce GTX 980 AMP, Creative X-Fi Titanium, 2 X Samsung 840 EVO 250GB RAID 0, 2 X Crucial RealSSD C300 256GB RAID 0, LG BH10LS30

  5. #5

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    106

    Yes I have tried switching to the second BIOS but get the same thing.
    Intel i7 5960X @ OC 4.5GHz, Asus R5E, XSPC AX360, G.Skill Ripjaws 4 16GB DDR4-3000MHz, BeQuiet 1200W PSU, Cooler Master Cosmos 2, Zotac GeForce GTX 980 AMP, Creative X-Fi Titanium, 2 X Samsung 840 EVO 250GB RAID 0, 2 X Crucial RealSSD C300 256GB RAID 0, LG BH10LS30

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    106

    I think my only option is to try to RMA the CPU to Intel. Does anybody know how to go about doing this, the preparations, etc and how much it will cost and how long does it normally take for me to receive the replacement?
    I currently live in the UK.
    Intel i7 5960X @ OC 4.5GHz, Asus R5E, XSPC AX360, G.Skill Ripjaws 4 16GB DDR4-3000MHz, BeQuiet 1200W PSU, Cooler Master Cosmos 2, Zotac GeForce GTX 980 AMP, Creative X-Fi Titanium, 2 X Samsung 840 EVO 250GB RAID 0, 2 X Crucial RealSSD C300 256GB RAID 0, LG BH10LS30

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array GoNz0- PC Specs
    GoNz0- PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell XPS 9530
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processor5930
    Memory (part number)[Ripjaws 4] F4-2666C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX980
    CPU CoolerEk Evo Supremacy
    CaseCorsair 800D
    Power SupplyEnermax 1250w revolution 85
    Keyboard Logitech 710+
    Mouse Razer Mamba 2012
    Headset Sennheiser PC350
    OS Windows 8.1 Pro
    Network RouterAsus AC68u

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    24
    Posts
    568

    do it via OCUK, they do not need to know what happened as they cannot say what caused it's demise without you saying so.

    RMA as stock speed only, never overclocked. Otherwise you need to buy the inter processor warranty via intel and wait a month beofre shipping it back.

    https://click.intel.com/tuningplan/

  9. #9
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    498
    Posts
    13,501

    This has happened recently to me too... https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...identified-LED

    CPUs do die sometimes but having read the same story and same symptoms I am now wondering seriously about the voltage/current regulation on this board...as you would...with no info forthcoming...

    My CPU died at stock settings on startup...same symptoms as yours except for overvoltage message...never got that far...00 for me

    Did you get an LED next to 4pin ATX light up?

    RMA the CPU direct to Intel....it is a quick and painless service....go to their support site...

    You do not need the performance plan...the CPU has a normal warranty.

    PM me if you need any advice :-)
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 07-14-2015 at 09:31 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Correct me if i am wrong here but shouldn't Asus be forking out money to replace these CPU's that are dying?

    If this is indeed the boards killing the CPU then Asus should be the ones replacing the CPU.
    i7 3930k @ 4.5GHZ - 1.38v H2O
    G.Skill 2400Mhz CL10 16GB
    2x Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - Raid 0
    Asus Rampage IV Extreme
    3x R9 290X 4GB CFX H2O
    Corsair 900D Chassis
    Silverstone Strider 1500 Watt
    Asus Rog Swift PG278Q

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •