Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6
Results 51 to 58 of 58
  1. #51
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    106

    Quote Originally Posted by _RC_ View Post
    @Sylver123
    i got the same problem like yours bro... has been a long time i didn't open this forum cause i waiting for my 5960x to be replace from intel distributors here in my country indonesia. My cpu 5960x was dead same excactly like your problem, been trying to instal new windows 7 that time on overclocked condition 1.225v (4.5GHZ) on RVE, installation was fine copying some data from windows source, then on the next restart suddenly i say red text on the first boot screen "CPU OVERVOLTAGE" then suddenly i go directly to bios and see that my cpu voltase 1.8v!!! few second after that my system shutdown by itself.
    it takes 5 minutes for me to try on my sytem again and everything is blank on screen... trying to contact my friend and bring my cpu to their home and 100% my cpu died! in a few day i will get my new cpu but i still afraid how if RVE kill my cpu again ? i still dont know whats the problem.. hope asus tech person who read thid forum can give us any solution, X99 system is very expensive..
    @sylver123 did your cpu died (CPU Overvoltage) when u instal a new windows ?

    I was doing things within windows then I rebooted then that's when I got the CPU overvoltage message.

    My new Rampage V Extreme board is coming tomorrow.

    Hopefully my replacement Intel i7 5960X I got is a very good overclocker.

    I can't wait till tomorrow to get my system up and running again.
    Last edited by Sylver123; 07-30-2015 at 01:37 PM.
    Intel i7 5960X @ OC 4.5GHz, Asus R5E, XSPC AX360, G.Skill Ripjaws 4 16GB DDR4-3000MHz, BeQuiet 1200W PSU, Cooler Master Cosmos 2, Zotac GeForce GTX 980 AMP, Creative X-Fi Titanium, 2 X Samsung 840 EVO 250GB RAID 0, 2 X Crucial RealSSD C300 256GB RAID 0, LG BH10LS30

  2. #52
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Vlada011 PC Specs
    Vlada011 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V E10 (BIOS 1903)
    ProcessorIntel®i7-5820K (4.5GHz 1.325V)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX1080Ti Poseidon
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung P2450H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB/WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK RGB Monoblock RVE10
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 WXC
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Deck 87 Francium PRO - MX Brown DS PBT
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Steeseries QCK
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE T5900 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 v1903
    Accessory #1 iPhone SE Space Grey
    Accessory #2 EK XRES D5 Revo 100 Glass PWM + CoolstreamPE 360
    Accessory #3 Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM x3 (radiator)
    Vlada011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    1,470

    I would bought X99 E WS/IPMI or X99 E WS USB 3.1 but I'm so sad because ASUS didn't install single PCI-Ex1 slot.
    I don't know why some manufacturer install 3 x PCI-Ex1 and some boards no single PCI-Ex1 slot.
    Every motherboard need to have PCI-Ex1 or even better PCI-Ex4.
    Rampage have one little slot.

  3. #53
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Quote Originally Posted by Vlada011 View Post
    I would bought X99 E WS/IPMI or X99 E WS USB 3.1 but I'm so sad because ASUS didn't install single PCI-Ex1 slot.
    Hello

    With the boards having 7 PCIe x16 slots I'm at a loss why one would think other slots would be needed.

  4. #54
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    What Praz says,
    you can install any speed card in a x16 slot but you can't install a x16 card in a x1 slot

  5. #55
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Vlada011 PC Specs
    Vlada011 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V E10 (BIOS 1903)
    ProcessorIntel®i7-5820K (4.5GHz 1.325V)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX1080Ti Poseidon
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung P2450H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB/WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK RGB Monoblock RVE10
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 WXC
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Deck 87 Francium PRO - MX Brown DS PBT
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Steeseries QCK
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE T5900 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 v1903
    Accessory #1 iPhone SE Space Grey
    Accessory #2 EK XRES D5 Revo 100 Glass PWM + CoolstreamPE 360
    Accessory #3 Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM x3 (radiator)
    Vlada011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    1,470

    Where is main topic for R5E here on forum for questions...?
    I download softwares easy to prepare everything for installation and I want to ask for last X99 Chipset driver because usually on manufacturer site isoutdated but I don't want to install every crap from station-driver...

    I found this driver...10.0.27...
    http://downloadmirror.intel.com/2077...%2010.0.27.htm

    Guys with R5E use 10.0.20 from ASUS site or some later version...
    And same question is for Intel ME...

  6. #56
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    You can use the ones from the Intel website. Those are the ones I've been using and no problems so far.

  7. #57
    ROG Enthusiast Array skline00 PC Specs
    skline00 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage Extreme V/Asus C6H
    ProcessorIntel 5960x @ 4.4 Ghz with EK Supremacy EVO cpu block/Ryzen 2700x
    Memory (part number)Corsair DDR4-2400 -16 gigs (4x4)/Gskill FlareX DDR4-3200 16g (2x8)
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Extreme GTX1080TI+WB + EK block-5960x
    Graphics Card #2Zotac GTX 1080+EK Block-2700X
    MonitorAcer 430k-5960x/-Dell U3415W-2700x
    Storage #12 Samsung 850 EVO ssd 500g -5960x/Corsair MP500 Force 480g NVMe 2280-2700x
    Storage #2WB Black 2 TB-5960x/ Crucial 240g ssd-2700x
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO block-5960x/EK AM4 EVO Supremacy-2700x
    CaseThermaltake Core X9/Thermaltake V51
    Power SupplyPC P&C 1200 W Silencer Mk III/EVGA 850W
    Keyboard CM Quik Fire Rapid Mechanical
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Kingston HyperX Cloud II
    Headset/Speakers Kingston HyperX Cloud II
    OS Win 10- 64 Home both
    Accessory #1 3- 480 radiators -XSPC RX480 v3-5960x/2-360 MagicCool slim radiators-2700x
    Accessory #2 12 AP15 GT fans in push mode-5960x/6 XSPC 120mm 1600rpm fans in push mode-2700x
    Accessory #3 XSPC Twin D5 bay res D5s in series-5960x/EK D5vario -140 pump/rad combo-2700x

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    I always buy the Intel protection plan for Overclocking. Have done it for my 3770k, 3930k, 5960x and now 4790k. Small $$ price to pay to be assured a replacement even if OCing.
    5960x-4.4 EK EVO SPR|AsusRE5|16g DDR4-2400|Gigabyte Aorus Extr GTX1080TI+WB|2 Smsng 850 EVO 500gb ssds|2Tb WD Blk|Win10-64|PC P&C 1200W|Thrmltake X9|3 XSPC RX480 rads+ 2 D5s| Acer ET430k
    2700x-PBO-EK AM4 EVO |AsusC6H16g DDR4-3200 FlareX|Zotac GTX1080+EK WB|Corsair MP500-480gNVMe PCIe3|Win10-64|EVGA 850W|ThermaltakeV51|2 360 slim rads + EK D5 vario 140|Dell U3415W

  8. #58
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    another Overvoltage occurs

    On Rampage V with last bios loaded (June 2016) and Vc 1,32 Volt (i7-5960x, OC 4.6 MHz) an overvoltage to 1.88 Volt was shown and CPU was damaged.

Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •