Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array matrixleader PC Specs
    matrixleader PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)EUROCOM Sky X9
    MotherboardIntel Sunrise Point Z170
    ProcessorIntel Skylake i7-6700K @ 4.2 GHz
    Memory (part number)Samsung 64GB DDR4 RAM @ 2400 MHz
    Graphics Card #1GeForce GTX 980 8.0GB GDDR5 (Desktop Version)
    Sound CardSound Blaster 3D Audio
    MonitorLG LP173WF4-SPD1 17.3" 1920x1080 IPS FHD (16:9) LED Antiglare Matte Screen with G-SYNC Technology
    Storage #12 x Samsung 950 Pro 512GB M.2 NVMe PCIe x4 SSD (RAID 0)
    Storage #22x Samsung Spinpoint M9T ST2000LM003 5400 RPM 32MB Cache 2TB HDD (RAID 0)
    CPU CoolerIC Diamong Thermal Paste
    Power Supply660W AC Power Adapter
    Mouse Logitech G602
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC68U
    matrixleader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    73

    Exclamation Dual GTX 980 Ti first card connected @ 8x only

    I just got my Origin PC Millennium and I specifically ordered the X-99 Deluxe motherboard in order to have 16x speeds across all the slots but when I entered the BIOS I noticed that the first GPU is only @ 8x, the Intel 750 PCIe SSD is only @4x, and the 2nd GPU is right where it should be @ 16X

    I tried changing the setting from Auto to Gen 3 but that didn't change a thing.

    The way they are setup is:

    PCIe slot = 1st 980 Ti
    PCIe slot 2 = Intel 750 PCIe SSD
    PCIe slot 3 = 2nd 980 Ti
    PCIe slot 4 = Sound Blaster Zx Sound Card

    So I guess the installation hardware wise is right am I correct? Isn't that the way ASUS recommends installing the GPUs as in Slot 1 and Slot 3?

    What do you think is the issue here?


  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    try it with gfx cards only.

    remove the soundcard and ssd if possible

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array matrixleader PC Specs
    matrixleader PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)EUROCOM Sky X9
    MotherboardIntel Sunrise Point Z170
    ProcessorIntel Skylake i7-6700K @ 4.2 GHz
    Memory (part number)Samsung 64GB DDR4 RAM @ 2400 MHz
    Graphics Card #1GeForce GTX 980 8.0GB GDDR5 (Desktop Version)
    Sound CardSound Blaster 3D Audio
    MonitorLG LP173WF4-SPD1 17.3" 1920x1080 IPS FHD (16:9) LED Antiglare Matte Screen with G-SYNC Technology
    Storage #12 x Samsung 950 Pro 512GB M.2 NVMe PCIe x4 SSD (RAID 0)
    Storage #22x Samsung Spinpoint M9T ST2000LM003 5400 RPM 32MB Cache 2TB HDD (RAID 0)
    CPU CoolerIC Diamong Thermal Paste
    Power Supply660W AC Power Adapter
    Mouse Logitech G602
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC68U
    matrixleader's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    73

    Quote Originally Posted by WDxpanzer3 View Post
    try it with gfx cards only.

    remove the soundcard and ssd if possible
    Right, I will try that, thanks

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array rolldog PC Specs
    rolldog PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7-7700K w/ monoblock
    Memory (part number)32GB G. SKILL TridentZ DDR4 PC4-32000 4000Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte AORUS 1080 Ti Extreme (full waterblock)
    Monitor2017 Sony 55" A1E OLED
    Storage #1Intel Optane 32GB Cache Drive w/ 8TB Seagate
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Pro M.2 NVMe 1TB
    CPU CoolerBitspower Monoblock
    CaseIn Win Tou 2.0
    Power Supply1065-SIV
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 RGB
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre Laser RGB Gaming Mouse
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Sony 55" A1E
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterUbiquiti UniFi USG Pro 4
    Accessory #1 Alphacool Cape Corp Coolplex HF metall chrome reservoir
    Accessory #2 Laing DDC w/ brushed aluminum mod top
    Accessory #3 Dual Aquacomputer Airplex 360mm radiators

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    98

    Put the Intel NVMe SSD in slot 5. Then, in the BIOS under Advanced \Onboard Devices Configuration, set PCIEX4_1 Slot(black) Bandwidth to disable, or auto. Then set PCIEX15_5 Slot (black)Bandwidth to X8 Modex-AMI. After changing this, go to Tool\GPU Post and make sue neither one of your GPUs are yellow (it'll show a picture of each PCIe slot on the MB, show you if something is installed in one, and tell you the speed it's set for).

    Also, I'm assuming you have the SLI switch on the MB set for 2 SLI (switch in the middle).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •