Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array ZeroCast PC Specs
    ZeroCast PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z170 PRO GAMING
    Processori7 6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-2800C15D-16GVRB
    Graphics Card #1SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX 480
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H100i V2
    CaseCorsair Carbide 500R
    Power SupplyEVGA 750 GQ

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    [Z170 Pro Gaming] XMP Profile Failure

    Hi,

    I've been trying to enable my advertised RAM speeds with the Z170 Pro Gaming MB.

    Upon reading some forum posts, I ran XMP profile #1 as anyone would do normally, but after restarting ,my PC did not boot correctly and I was greeted with a overclocking failure message with RAM speeds defaulting back to 2133Mhz.

    The thing is, I updated my BIOS to the latest firmware (2003) and I have yet to manually adjust the settings of my RAM. It's also worth nothing that I was prompted to adjust CPU speeds with XMP, I clicked 'no' and the process went through with only the RAM speeds being adjusted, which evidently didn't work.

    Should I try and adjust the settings manually and if so, how should I go on with that process?

    Thank you guys.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,351

    Hi ZeroCast

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    Sometimes setting your ram manually gives better results and you may need to make a few voltage adjustments.

    In the bios on the extreme tweaker tab set:

    AI Overclock Tuner - Manual

    Dram Frequency - 2800MHz
    Dram voltage - 1.25v
    CPU VCCIO voltage - 1.15v
    CPU System Agent voltage - 1.15v

    Go to Dram Timing Control and at the very top enter the first 4 timings of your kit with command rate 2. There may be only 3 timings to enter since the middle 2 timings are the same.

    15
    16
    16
    35
    command rate 2

    If only 3 boxes enter:

    15
    16
    35
    command rate 2

    F10 and enter to save and exit.

    How does she go?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array ZeroCast PC Specs
    ZeroCast PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z170 PRO GAMING
    Processori7 6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-2800C15D-16GVRB
    Graphics Card #1SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX 480
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H100i V2
    CaseCorsair Carbide 500R
    Power SupplyEVGA 750 GQ

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Hi Nate152,

    Apologies for the late response.

    I tried the adjustments that you mentioned, but I'm sad to say that they didn't work. I had to hard shutdown my PC after saving and I got the dreaded "Overclocking failed!" message again upon turning it on.

    Is there a possibility that one of the RAM sticks might be faulty or is that too early of an assumption to make? Just a lingering thought.

    Thank you.

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,351

    I wouldn't think you have a faulty ram stick.

    Try setting the Dram voltage to 1.30v - 1.35v

    Any luck?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array ZeroCast PC Specs
    ZeroCast PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z170 PRO GAMING
    Processori7 6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-2800C15D-16GVRB
    Graphics Card #1SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX 480
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H100i V2
    CaseCorsair Carbide 500R
    Power SupplyEVGA 750 GQ

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    No luck .

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,351

    At the top of Dram Timing control try maximus tweak modes 1 and 2.

    Mode 1 helps with compatibility
    Mode 2 helps with overclocking

    In DiGi + if you have the Dram power phase option set that to extreme and Dram current capability to 130%.

    If this doesn't help try XMP profile 2.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array ZeroCast PC Specs
    ZeroCast PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z170 PRO GAMING
    Processori7 6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-2800C15D-16GVRB
    Graphics Card #1SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX 480
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H100i V2
    CaseCorsair Carbide 500R
    Power SupplyEVGA 750 GQ

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I just checked, it looks like I don't have the Maximus Tweak setting nor the power phase option in DiGi+. I also only have one profile to chose from on the list.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array ZeroCast PC Specs
    ZeroCast PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z170 PRO GAMING
    Processori7 6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-2800C15D-16GVRB
    Graphics Card #1SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX 480
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 850 EVO 500GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H100i V2
    CaseCorsair Carbide 500R
    Power SupplyEVGA 750 GQ

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Any other suggestions that might help?

  9. #9

  10. #10
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,351

    The recommended slots are A2 - B2 as Chino suggests but you can try them in A1-B1 and see how that goes.

    If it's no better in slots A1-B1 try setting the timings to

    16
    16
    16
    35
    command rate 2.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •