Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    problem with some old games

    i am experiencing some graphics issues with some old games when using Asus PG278Q gsync screen under windows 7 , i attached some screenshots where the problem should be visible. The issue isn't present under windows 8.1 or if i attach a normal screen to the PC, disabling g-sync doesn't fix it. The screenshots are from Age of Wonders Shadow Magic and Fantasy General, but there are more games effected
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Fantasy General.jpg  

    AoW Shadow Magic.jpg  


  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Volt PC Specs
    Volt PC Specs
    MotherboardGIGABYTE G1.Sniper Z97 ATX
    Processori7-4790K 4.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)ADATA 32GB (8GBx4) DDR3/1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1nVidia Gefroce GTX 1080 w/8 GB
    Sound CardMotherboard G1 - Creative Sound Core3D
    MonitorASUS Rog PG348Q Swift
    Storage #1250 GB Samsung 850 Pro
    Storage #22TB Western Digital Caviar Black SATA-III
    CPU CoolerAsetek 550LC 120mm Liquid Cooling
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Keyboard Corsair K70 STRAFE
    Mouse Logitech Pro
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    Volt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    184

    It might be the nVidia driver. Try the latest official driver.
    http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    uhm, no, i am already using the latest

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Volt PC Specs
    Volt PC Specs
    MotherboardGIGABYTE G1.Sniper Z97 ATX
    Processori7-4790K 4.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)ADATA 32GB (8GBx4) DDR3/1600MHz
    Graphics Card #1nVidia Gefroce GTX 1080 w/8 GB
    Sound CardMotherboard G1 - Creative Sound Core3D
    MonitorASUS Rog PG348Q Swift
    Storage #1250 GB Samsung 850 Pro
    Storage #22TB Western Digital Caviar Black SATA-III
    CPU CoolerAsetek 550LC 120mm Liquid Cooling
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Keyboard Corsair K70 STRAFE
    Mouse Logitech Pro
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC88U
    Volt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    184

    Are these screens captures using the PrtScn button, or another capture program? If so, then it's not your monitor that's doing it. Though you can double check it by swapping in another monitor to double check. Assuming that these are screen captures, then it's the signal coming out of your video card. Which could be some combination of one or more of the following; win7, the game, the driver, the video card. You might be able to address this issue using an older nVidia driver.

    OR - I just thought of something!- check your Display Properties, in the Settings tab, the Color quality drop down of Win 7. If it's set to something lower than "Highest (32 bit)" or "Medium (16 bit)", then it might look weird like this. Because it's using a restricted color pallette. I think there is an option for 256 colors. I sort of recall having something like this back when I used Win 95/98. But it's easy to change.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    the screenshots are taken with printscrn , the only way to solve this issue under windows 7 is installing older drivers 320.49, but these doesn't support g-sync at all

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Do the affected games all predate DirectX 10? You could try installing one of the DX9 drivers (9.0d was the "best" available, I think, but 9.0c is still floating around), then reinstalling your NV software.

    You might have to look for fixes for each game title - old games often have unofficial updates, patches, hacks, mods, etc which ensure they can run on modern operating systems. If it's not a gamed owned by Blizzard or Steam or Hasbro then there's no convenient one-stop central database, alas - although certain genres and abandonwares and fansites will tend to collect relevant material. Chances are someone else is playing whatever game you're playing on the same hardware with the same problems, as often as not somebody shares a solution.

    In a VM or sandbox or isolated user account (or DOSBox emulator), if you can, to reduce the chance of breaking any other graphics/games. Installing mix-and-match DirectX components under the radar could cause unpredictable gaming issues, lol.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •