cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Crossfire for over 2 years. Suddenly one Direct CUII 7970 TOP is not recognized...

SplitSecond
Level 7
Hey everyone,

So I have been running crossfire for over 2 years and now suddenly one card is not recognized anymore.
I have tried switching PCIe lanes, running only the "faulty" card, updating drivers, looking in MSI afterburner, catalyst control center,
but nowhere does it show my second card anymore.

I never had any trouble with the card, it also never has been OC. Is it dead...?

Please help!
6 REPLIES 6

ChiefZeke
Level 10
I'm assuming the first thing you did was to simply swap the two cards around - #1 card in #2's slot and vice versa? If that worked OK and the problem continued to exist then the cards would not appear to be bad - possibility would then be the motherboard PCI slot itself.
Lian-Li PC-A77F Full Tower case
PC Power & Cooling Turbo-Cool 1200 ATX12V & EPS12V PSU
ASUS Rampage IV Extreme LGA 2011 X79
Intel Core i7-3960X 3.31 LGA 2011 CPU
Intel RTS2011LC Liquid Cooling Solution
Kingston KHX24C11T3K4/32X (quad 32Gb memory kit) 2 each
ASUS Radeon HD7970 DirectCUII 3Gb GDDR5 PCIe 3.0 x16 Video Card (two in CrossfireX Mode)
Western Digital Cavier Black 2Tb SATA III 6.0GB/S
OCZ Technologies Vertex 4 SATAIII 6Gb/s 512Gb SSD

SplitSecond
Level 7
I have tried swapping slots, that didn't work. In addition, I tried running the PC with only one graphics card at a time, with one it ran without any difficulties, with the other it didn't show anything at all. That's why I guess the card might be defect 😞

Asus RMA in The Netherlands also doesn't recognize my serial number, which is not only strange but also very inconvenient since I really want to have a replacement for this card (because of crossfire). As a student buying two new cards is rather unrealistic, I even saved up for these since they were cherry picked 😕 Besides specs this one also fits my custom case exactly as I want.