Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    DO NOT install w10 on the G20

    DO NOT install windows 10 on the g20, from experience I can state it turns your expensive desktop into the equivalent of a potato. Tried to resolve the issue through cus. service twice, got hung up on, twice. At least my non-functioning desktop is still more valuable than the customer support.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by tretnod View Post
    DO NOT install windows 10 on the g20, from experience I can state it turns your expensive desktop into the equivalent of a potato. Tried to resolve the issue through cus. service twice, got hung up on, twice. At least my non-functioning desktop is still more valuable than the customer support.
    Yep I have a Windows 10 Potato


    OH and the recovery partition is GONE!! I can't even safemode and pull the video card


    Jesus Microsoft, HOW CAN YOU BE THIS BAD!!!!

  3. #3
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    301
    Posts
    7,482

    I figured some OEM systems would get bricked with MS indiscriminately pushing the upgrade but I didn't think it'd be the G20. Sorry to hear it guys.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    OK GOOD NEWS !!!

    I now know how to upgrade your windows 10 without turning it into a potato

    1) turn of screen spanning.
    2) unplug EVERYTHING
    3) Go into the bios and set your PRIMARY display to the CPU video port
    4) Plug 1 monitor into the HDMI that is integrated with your motherboard
    5)Take update / boot your potato
    6)Get all the way thru the install
    7) reboot a few times thru the updates
    8) Install the Ge-force Experience
    9) Wait for the driver updates
    10) Plugin and reconfigure the monitors
    11) Curse Microsoft for being so stupid.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    116

    There's no issue upgrading the G20 to Win 10 if you just do some appropriate prep.

    Upgraded without any issues, since we already knew the Nvidia drivers were an issue I updated with todays released Win 10 compatible Nvidia driver, then let Win 10 upgrade, zero issues and my machine still flies at full resolution

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Ravenholme PC Specs
    Ravenholme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G20AJ-US009S
    MotherboardAsus H97
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 4790
    Memory (part number)16GB - Kingston DDR3 1600MHz CL11 1.35v SODIMM - KVR16LS11/8
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 - Founders Edition (ASUS)
    MonitorBenQ BL3201PH (4K/UHD IPS LED)
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Evo 500GB SSD
    Storage #2Seagate SSHD 1TB
    CaseAsus G20AJ
    Power SupplyAsus 180W PSU AC Adapter + Dell Y90RR 330W PSU AC Adapter
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    Headset Turtlebeach
    Headset/Speakers (The BenQ)
    OS Windows 10
    Accessory #1 ASUS (SBC-06D2X-U) Slim External 6x Blu-ray Combo Drive
    Accessory #2 Asus GPU Tweak II - OC: 2050 Mhz, 90°C max, 120% Power, vsync off
    Accessory #3 http://rog.asus.com/realbench/show_comment.php?id=8796
    Ravenholme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    169

    Yes i patched my system with the newest Nvidia drivers FIRST. then i started the win 10 update. (still going, no probs, and I don't expect any)

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    No issues here either. Running the newest bios and all the latest drivers.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    While thats cute to say, and I am sure that in your cases you did indeed get lucky, some of us updated an hour or so before nvidia put out new drivers. Yes that is correct, nvidia released drivers for 10 hours after many of us had already pulled the trigger.

    Even for those of you that installed the 353.30 being super smart, you would have run face first into the potato maker if you had SLI or a quad screen (as was my issue).

    TLDR - YOUR experience is not the same as everyone's experience, Never confuse wisdom with luck.
    Last edited by Phigmeta; 07-30-2015 at 05:12 AM.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Yes sorry to say..was stupid and didn't wait to see if there would be issues. Worked with Microsoft techs for several days and they failed to help. Took pc to Geek Squad at Best Buy where I purchased it and had several friends there look at it and they could not restore it even with back up CD. Had to purchase Win 8.1 and do complete new install.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array GoHack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    88

    Quote Originally Posted by Judtified View Post
    Yes sorry to say..was stupid and didn't wait to see if there would be issues. Worked with Microsoft techs for several days and they failed to help. Took pc to Geek Squad at Best Buy where I purchased it and had several friends there look at it and they could not restore it even with back up CD. Had to purchase Win 8.1 and do complete new install.
    You didn't need to purchase a new copy of Win 8.1, since you already have a legal Key. The Geek Squad could of grab a Windows 8.1 disk, which I'm sure they had sitting around, and loaded it using the Key already built into your G20AJ.

    I would bring that that disk back to BB, and point it out about your already built in Key in your system. If they refuse to return your money, bring the issue up w/Microsoft. I had an issue years ago w/one of Microsoft's OS's, where I got in touch w/them, and wanted my money back on it, and got reimburst.
    Last edited by GoHack; 08-07-2015 at 03:37 AM.
    - Asus ROG G20AJ, Intel i5-4460 CPU, Crucial Ballistix 16GB DDR3L, 2x Corsair 128GB SSD's (RAID 0), Nvidia Geforce GTX 670, 180W and 230W Power Supply Bricks, Acer GN246HL 24" Monitor, Windows 10 (x64)

    - Alienware Aurora R4, Intel i7-4820K, 20GB DDR3, 2 TB HD, Nvidia GeForce GTX 760, Windows 10 (x64)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •